We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but has all the perks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small but has all the perks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We recently stayed at Irwin's for three nights and would stay again. First what worked well. The location was great and parking is free. We found the staff excellent and helpful, Our room was on the small side but updated and modern. . It had a small refrigerator, coffee pot and a large modern TV. The shower was great and the beds very comfortable. The free internet connection was excellent and worked well. They recently installed a hot tub which was nice. We also had free underground parking for our small car. Larger vehicles have to park outside as it is very low. What could be improved. The heating is a little noisy and very difficult to set at the right temperature. The bedspreads on the beds are very heavy and need updating. They do have extra blankets that worked well. Depending on your room you may have a problem with vehicle fumes coming in your room from running vehicles.
We lucked in with a amazing special at $80 a night and found it a great place to stay other than a couple of minor glitches. I have stayed at many places in Banff and very few seem to care about their customers and keep up their places as well as Irwins or are as reasonable.

Room Tip: Get one away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, thanks for your kind review. I really appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are always eager to help and our property is always looking for ways to improve and make sure your stay is a comfortable one. Thanks for highlighting our temperature controls, as we are in fact changing that this fall. It is one of the areas i have looked at improving in order to make a guests stay simpler. Our goal is to ensure this process is easy and that you do in fact have a means to truly control the room heat efficiently so we are moving towards that higher efficientcy change. Our rooms do vary in sizes but most rooms are quite spacious and for Banff we do have some of the larger spaced rooms for multiple guests and we do work to ensure price point works. Thanks for staying with us and do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    148
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
99
114
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel but if you have reasonable expectations you will be very happy here. The lobby is a bit small and the hallways are dated, but everything is clean and well maintained. As for the rooms, I have no complaints: It was clean, comfortable, and perfectly adequate. For the price, I am amazed at the excellent value! You could surely do worse in Banff (ie: steer clear of Inns of Banff)! If you are on a budget and need a great place to stay, Irwin Mountain Inn is a fantastic option. The breakfast at El Toro was good as well and an excellent price, I recommend it :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a reveiw on our hotel. Thanks also for highlighting our many little value items including free wifi, free parking and free use of the hot tub. Our partners who operate El Toro do an amazing job of breakfast and are considered the best dining in Banff! Our budget property has been in Banff since 1967 and we have been around for many years and hope we are meeting the needs of the many travelers who stay with us again and again. Thanks for your kind words on our price point. We have tried hard over the years to meet the price point of our budget minded travelers and I am sincerely glad that you chose us. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is nice but it needs a major facelift. It dated from the nineties and it shows. The baths are just hidious.. The hotel is over priced but the staff is very nice! The sofa beds are paper thin and you can feel the springs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest. I would like to take the time to address some of your comments on our facility. Thank you for your comments about our staff, they are indeed amazing. I am very proud of the level of service they bring. I am concerned about your accuracy surrounding our facility needing a "major facelift". Our facility was remodelled in 2011 from top to bottom. Our recent addition of new beds and our recent winning of the 2013 HOUSEKEEPING AWARD does not reflect accurately your statements about our hotel. I would like to take the time to invite all our guests to look at our previous positive reviews for a much better perspective on our facility and the great service we do provide in order for returning guests to experience all that is Banff. Our bathrooms are clean and our intent to renovate on our bathrooms will be in the very near future. Our pricepoint is of the budget variety and if you deem us over priced, I would suggest that you take a look at the full scope of Banff before arriving at that conclusion. We are proud of our price point and take pride in being one of the first choices in Banff for many of our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just stayed with our four older children. The location was very convenient- an easy 5 min walk to downtown- the beds were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. It's a good hotel at a good price. Underground parking a bit tough unless you have a small vehicle-5'10" height restriction, ski lockers free, small exercise room- weights, treadmill, etc and a common room with football etc that guests can use. We found the staff eager to help with more coffee, shampoo etc without question. For a great trip to Banff this is a good bang for your buck if you don't need fancy.

Room Tip: There is a family room available with three queen beds, one in a separate room-it's a great opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Wow! I would like to take the time to thank you for highlighting all of our ammenities and for pointing out all that you enjoyed about Banff and our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to review our property and reflect the positive and realistic features of our property. As stated many times by our guests, we do have FREE underground parking for cars and minivans and FREE outdoor parking for larger trucks. We are one of very few properties in Banff that do provide FREE parking and it is a premium. Indeed our hope is that many more families come and enjoy the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We just stayed at the Irwin for the first time in years. We had stayed there in the past and enjoyed it but the hot tub is ridiculous and with young kids, we have always wanted a pool. Now that the kids are older, we decided to give the Irwin another try.

The location is fantastic! You can easily walk into town and there is a lot that is close by. Our room was great. It is a bit on the "tired" side but was clean and very spacious. We had a room on the top floor so it had a vaulted ceiling. The underground parking is very limited and we got the last spot when we arrived at 9:00 on Friday night. If the hotel was full, I'm sure you would have a hard time getting a spot and you would have to park outside.

The hot tub is still ridiculous!! It is so tiny and it was so hot we couldn't stay in it for longer than 5 minutes...maybe they do that to cut down how long people stay because it is so tiny but it really isn't healthy!

Over all, we had a great stay and would stay there again because of its location and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest. Thanks for taking the time to review our property. While you have highlighted some great parts of our property, I would like to take the time to correct a few items that are not accurate. Our hot tub is clean. Our hot tub is monitored daily 3 times by our Maintenance staff and our hot tub is a comfy temperature that is deemed healthy by Alberta Health Standards. Our hot tub seats 8 people comfortably. Quite frankly it is a highlight by all of our guests as many use this after a long day on the ski hill or a long day out and about in beautiful Banff. I'm not sure what seems "rediculous" but I would call our tub delightful and well maintained. Our health records on our tub are impecable and can be found online easily as they are all posted on Public Health. Our rooms are clean comfortable and quite affordable and I am proud to announce our 2013 Housekeeping Award of Excellence. This is a hotel association award that our hotel has worked hard to achieve. We are indeed the perfect ski get away. Our staff and location and comfortable beds are hard to beat and our hot tub is a treat to make the days adventure sink into a memory of comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a two queen bed room. Room was clean, bathroom was well taken care of, simple straightforward room that was a suitable staging place for many outdoor adventures in banff itself. Underground parking was a plus, as was free wireless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so very much for your most kind remarks. I am so glad you took the time to reflect on your stay with us as it does encourage us and help us to know what our guests are looking for. I am glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable and that the FREE wifi was a plus to your stay. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Probably the best value for money available in Banff.

This is a very pleasant hotel, with all the amenities one would expect (plus a few that one would not even expect, such as a gym, a common room, free indoor parking, ski lockers, etc.). It's clean and well maintained. Very friendly staff.

Astonishingly low prices for downtown Banff - room prices start at $79 a night single.

I enjoyed my stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am very glad that you highlighted some of our ammenities that many people do not realize exist here at the Inn. Our recently refurbished gym is one of the top features here at the hotel. With a treadmill, excercise bike, free weights and leg curl machine, we have tried to make the active guest feel at home. Our free ski lockers and free parking a huge plus. Thanks for your comments and I do hope you stay again with us soon. You are right! Our prices are hard to beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.