We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Found the Irwin's Mountain Inn to be just right for our needs. We DID upgrade to a rear facing room as recommended by a hotel review and this was well worth the small difference in price. (AAA discount does not apply to this upgrade, however.) The rear of the hotel faces away from the busy main street and gave us a balcony to relax on with a quiet and pretty mountain view. The hotel was just the right distance away from the busy downtown area....only about 3 blocks, and it has parking under the hotel. We would certainly stay here again.
See photos for view from rear facing balcony.

  • Liked — The room facing away from the noisy street
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    167
    71
    10
    11
See reviews for
115
126
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Just back from a stay at Irwins Mountain Inn in downtown Banff. 5 minute walk from all the shops and bars. Nice rooms, clean and well serviced.

Definately good value for money as Banff is expensive!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

When I was looking into places to stay in Banff, this was my 2nd choice based on Tripadvisor reviews and the price. (My 1st choice and where I happily stayed was the Tunnel Mountain Resort.) On the way back from the Rockies and Drumheller, this was the cheaper place to stay after calling both places, so stayed there.
Don't know why it's so highly rated except for the fact that it's very near the town centre and probably relatively inexpensive. Now, I know why it's relatively inexpensive. The room felt a bit dumpy.
The carpets looked a bit dirty and the pillows were lumpy. Very basic bathroom and supplies. We did save about $35, cuz over the phone, we were quoted a less expensive price than the Tunnel Mountain Resort and a continental breakfast is included, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Booked a family room here for 3 nights in July.Cannot fault this hotel except for maybe too long a walk down Banff Avenue to town centre for the more senior citizens.
Family Room spacious (cleaned daily) & tidy.2 large queen beds,flat screen t.v. micro & sink.Basic continental b/fast to get going .Staff very friendly & helpful.Underground & rear parking helpful as spaces are a premium here.(Max. height for U/ground 5:11" no use for some S.U.V.,s).Paid $195 (canadian) /night seemed average for season.Can,t see anyone being disappointed with this place.Banff & area definately worth a visit for the scenery alone, one of the cleanest towns (along with nieghbouring Canmore) you are likely to find.Must do,s are the Gondola up Sulphur Mount.,Raft down the Bow River (not whitewater!!!) & Trail ride on horseback (to guarantee a good nights sleep).If going to Banff use Irwins Mountain Lodge.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I was there during July. I know it is during the summer and hotels are a little more expensive and it is in the middle of Banff. Paying 170 CAD per night I was expecting a little more.

Check-in is speedy and staff is friendly. There is free continental breakfast which is always nice.

Don't let the outside of the hotel fool you. It is very old inside. Carpet needs to be changed. The map you get from the tourist information called it "Irwins Motor Inn". That is probably a closer description to what I experienced.

There is a ledge hanging over my bed- something I personally hate, but others might not mind. My room is facing out front but it is not terribly noisy.

Parking is a problem- I overheard guests could not find parking in the hotel garage (which is free). I don't think it is a big problem as there are other garages in the downtown Banff area.

Overall, I am a little disappointed. I don't know how Orbitz gave it 3 stars. It is probably more like 2 stars at best. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — OLD!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

great resort banff.where do i start.went in jan o8
from manchester its a long flight but dont let that put you off.its well worth it.a pal went the year before me @ said it was that good that he was going again.
the first day we got there the 3 of us went to sunshine village 30 min bus ride away.then 20 min ride up to the resort its self @ WAS IT COLD.-20 .(with the wind chill it was -30).so put plenty of layers on.great skiing all day@all the other days we went .
over the 10 days we went .we split the days up between sunshine @lake louise.
lake louise was a 40 min bus ride away but dont let that put you of either because the scenery is stunning @ when the sun is rising the mountains are amazing.the 40 min fly by.great skiing in louise as well.the bars at banff are really good all got great food @ service.go to wild bills the rose @crown .melissas,magpie@stump.the old spaghetti factory 3 courses for $13.excellent,but the best was masala indian cuisine
229 bear street wolf@ bear mall.it was the best indian i have ever
had.but go early because the mall closes at 10.30.you wont be sorry.the canadians are very helpfull @chearfull a creadit to there
country.all in all i would give it 9.7 out off 10.it would get 10out 10 but for the long flight.but as i said WELL WORTH IT.have been to europe skiing before( france les arcs.)(andorra arinsal) (austria kitzbuhel)(italy campitello)bulgaria borovets)but for service @snow you wont beat canada.

  • Liked — clean tidy great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed at Irwin's, which was recommended by a friend, during the August '07 long wkend. Went there to get away, get some r and r and celebrate our 1st yr wedding anniversary. This trip was spur of the moment, and all the hotels were booked but luckily, a vacancy here!

My husband and I are not party people and since the hotel is a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff, it was perfect. It was close enough to the action and far enough from the noise.

This establishment is locally owned (which we always like supporting) and the price is quite reasonable. Our hotel room was clean, no problems with anything. They offer a continental breakfast with your stay and there is a hot tub on the main floor. There is underground parking and we noticed lockers for storage should you be staying there during ski season. Staff are nice and helpful. We're going to Banff again in June and guess where we're staying?

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.