We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent friendly service at check in and out as well as any time you asked for help or guidance. The room was spacious and clean. Hotel is just a few minutes walk from downtown which is great for evening strolls and dinner. Only downside was very noisy AC. We tried sleeping without it one night but it was too hot

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am so pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and that your check in and check out was a breeze. That is our goal. Our staff are ready and eager to help you find what you are looking for in Banff. I am so sorry that you found our Air Conditioning so loud, however, on the plus side, we are one of the few hotels in Banff that do offer Air Conditioning. We have some hot days in Banff and this is when the AC does come in handy. We have tried to think of everything for the budget minded customer and I hope you will stay with us again soon. Thanks for your comments and thanks for letting us know what we need to improve on. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    153
    64
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
117
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Irwin's Mountain Inn in August for our anniversary. The hotel was nice and clean. The beds we very comfortable. It was a short was to downtown. There was underground parking, however, it was limited to cars only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I do hope you enjoyed your stay during your anniversary. I am very glad you were able to take advantage of our distance from downtown. All of our staff are ready and willing to help in a heartbeat. I do hope you will stay with us again very soon. Our free parking is a huge plus in busy Banff. It is one of our fantastic ammenities including FREE wifi, FREE hot tub, FREE computer use in the lobby. Come again real soon! Thanks for mentioning our comfy beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Just left there this morning staff were friendly and helpful on what to do in banff, everything was clean. El toro next door was good for brekkie and we shared tapas during happy hour which was nice.

Walking distance from the downtown district and Free parking.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
So glad you were able to stay with us from such a long ways away. I am so pleased you enjoyed the goodness of El Toro. There is no one who tops their breakfast. I am so glad the standards of our rooms were up to par and you enjoyed the friendly staff and service. Cheers to you and all the best on your travels. I hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with young children and we quite enjoyed it. We were in a 2-Queen BD suit on the 2nd floor with mountain view and it was very clean and comfortable. The room had a small kitchenette with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. You should bring your own dish and utensils if you wish to prepare food and eat in your room. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and it was very good. The only issue was with a noise from the 3rd floor. The people upstairs were taking a shower at midnight and it kept us up for half an hour on both nights. There seemed to be an issue with the insulation and the staff couldn't do that much with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we quite enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for your most honest reveiw. I certainly am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. Our desk staff is both helpful and friendly. Thanks for touching on our partners the El Toro restaurant. They are a marvelous place and serve both breakfast and dinner. My sincere apologies for the late night shower. The building was built in 1967 so one of the quirks can sometimes be the noise in the walls of an older building. However, our goal is to renovate our bathrooms very soon. Thanks for your stay with us and I do hope you will stay with us again real soon. Cheers and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with underground parking. Close to "downtown", but everything is within walking distance in Banff :). Dining is available at the attached restaurant. We only had breakfast; it was good. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I'd like to take this time to thank you for your kind review. You've highlighted so many pieces of who Irwin's Mountain Inn is and where we are located. We are so very proud of our staff and their ability to help and keep the hotel in the clean shape it is. Our rooms are comfy and our ammenities are just what the budget shopper is looking for. Our hope is that you will return soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here! We are a young couple from Australia, we thought the hotel would be a little far from town but it is so close! The room we had was spacious, very clean and all staff are friendly. The spa is great and the restaurant for breakfast is good food at a cheap price. Didn't try dinner. I would stay here again and recommend. It is such a short walk to town, it is on the same street as main shops.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for staying with us from such a far destination. So glad that you were able to both stay in Banff and enjoy the Irwins and El Toro hospitality. I am always encouraged when people are surprised by how close we are to downtown. It's the perfect mix to enjoy the sights and sounds of Banff downtown shopping and the beauty of the surrounding mountains. Truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at El Toro. I do hope your trip from such a long ways away was a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Within easy walking distance from public ROAM bus stops and downtown. My room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker and free WIFI. Also free parking and good laundry facilities. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our property and your stay in beautiful Banff. Thank you for highlighting our FREE parking and Wifi. Our staff have worked so hard to ensure a quality of stay and quality of facility. We are indeed just a quick walk to downtown Banff for all the shopping and sights and sounds that make Banff a world class destination. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.