We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with young children and we quite enjoyed it. We were in a 2-Queen BD suit on the 2nd floor with mountain view and it was very clean and comfortable. The room had a small kitchenette with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. You should bring your own dish and utensils if you wish to prepare food and eat in your room. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and it was very good. The only issue was with a noise from the 3rd floor. The people upstairs were taking a shower at midnight and it kept us up for half an hour on both nights. There seemed to be an issue with the insulation and the staff couldn't do that much with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we quite enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for your most honest reveiw. I certainly am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. Our desk staff is both helpful and friendly. Thanks for touching on our partners the El Toro restaurant. They are a marvelous place and serve both breakfast and dinner. My sincere apologies for the late night shower. The building was built in 1967 so one of the quirks can sometimes be the noise in the walls of an older building. However, our goal is to renovate our bathrooms very soon. Thanks for your stay with us and I do hope you will stay with us again real soon. Cheers and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    181
    84
    12
    12
See reviews for
123
140
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with underground parking. Close to "downtown", but everything is within walking distance in Banff :). Dining is available at the attached restaurant. We only had breakfast; it was good. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I'd like to take this time to thank you for your kind review. You've highlighted so many pieces of who Irwin's Mountain Inn is and where we are located. We are so very proud of our staff and their ability to help and keep the hotel in the clean shape it is. Our rooms are comfy and our ammenities are just what the budget shopper is looking for. Our hope is that you will return soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here! We are a young couple from Australia, we thought the hotel would be a little far from town but it is so close! The room we had was spacious, very clean and all staff are friendly. The spa is great and the restaurant for breakfast is good food at a cheap price. Didn't try dinner. I would stay here again and recommend. It is such a short walk to town, it is on the same street as main shops.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for staying with us from such a far destination. So glad that you were able to both stay in Banff and enjoy the Irwins and El Toro hospitality. I am always encouraged when people are surprised by how close we are to downtown. It's the perfect mix to enjoy the sights and sounds of Banff downtown shopping and the beauty of the surrounding mountains. Truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at El Toro. I do hope your trip from such a long ways away was a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Within easy walking distance from public ROAM bus stops and downtown. My room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker and free WIFI. Also free parking and good laundry facilities. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our property and your stay in beautiful Banff. Thank you for highlighting our FREE parking and Wifi. Our staff have worked so hard to ensure a quality of stay and quality of facility. We are indeed just a quick walk to downtown Banff for all the shopping and sights and sounds that make Banff a world class destination. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 3 adults and 2 teenagers, in a family room which had a nice bathroom with shower, a kettle, tea and coffee etc and a microwave which we didnt use.
The hotel is a very short walk from bars and restaurants etc and is nice and friendly and clean.
The car park is behind so easy to take bags up etc. There is a hot tub pool available, which we didnt use but it looked nice and clean, all in all , id stay here again.

Room Tip: room 341, 3rd floor but there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so glad you stayed with us during your tour of Banff. I am glad you named us a family hotel as this is a major goal of ours. Thank you for passing on the great compliments and I will be sure to encourage our staff on a job well done. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The inn is located on the main street and an easy walk to the heart of action in Banff. The rooms are well kept rooms and the staff offer professional service and advice. The hotel also has a large garage at the basement.

I just have two complaints: they didn't provide breakfast and the wifi was patchy and not reliable at our room at the far end of the corridor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I would like to take the time to apologize for our WIFI service. We actually did an upgrade to the software which turned out to be a major inconvenience due to the glitches in the programming. As a result we switched back but the damage had been done. Our apologies for this and we take full responsibility. Sometimes in our attempt to update, we end up causing delays and problems. Thanks for your understanding. Thank you for highlighting the good as well. We are proud of our 65 room property and staff. Our desk staff are amazing and our short distance from downtown makes us a perfect place to park and walk. Our FREE parking and FREE wifi are a huge plus. Thanks for staying with us. And though we do not provide a free breakfast, we would much rather provide quality dining with breakfast at El Toro. They are reasonably priced with good whole food and are the top breakfast in Banff. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I ended up in Banff a night earlier than planned and had to stay at a sister hotel of Irwin's right next door (Red Carpet Inn). The next morning we really didn't want to pack everything up and move hotels so we asked the manager at Irwin's if he would release our reservation without penalties to save us this hassle. Without a question, he did! The customer service at Irwin's is amazing. They are kind and considerate of their guests! Although we didn't end up staying at this hotel I will definitely consider it on my next trip to Banff :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Well I am super pleased this worked out well for you folks! Yes, the Red Carpet Inn is a sister property and I have experienced it when you just don't want to pack up and go, it's easier extending. I am glad you phoned our Manager who is second to none. I do hope you enjoyed your stay and the great customere service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.