We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a nice family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 3 adults and 2 teenagers, in a family room which had a nice bathroom with shower, a kettle, tea and coffee etc and a microwave which we didnt use.
The hotel is a very short walk from bars and restaurants etc and is nice and friendly and clean.
The car park is behind so easy to take bags up etc. There is a hot tub pool available, which we didnt use but it looked nice and clean, all in all , id stay here again.

Room Tip: room 341, 3rd floor but there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so glad you stayed with us during your tour of Banff. I am glad you named us a family hotel as this is a major goal of ours. Thank you for passing on the great compliments and I will be sure to encourage our staff on a job well done. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
115
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The inn is located on the main street and an easy walk to the heart of action in Banff. The rooms are well kept rooms and the staff offer professional service and advice. The hotel also has a large garage at the basement.

I just have two complaints: they didn't provide breakfast and the wifi was patchy and not reliable at our room at the far end of the corridor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I would like to take the time to apologize for our WIFI service. We actually did an upgrade to the software which turned out to be a major inconvenience due to the glitches in the programming. As a result we switched back but the damage had been done. Our apologies for this and we take full responsibility. Sometimes in our attempt to update, we end up causing delays and problems. Thanks for your understanding. Thank you for highlighting the good as well. We are proud of our 65 room property and staff. Our desk staff are amazing and our short distance from downtown makes us a perfect place to park and walk. Our FREE parking and FREE wifi are a huge plus. Thanks for staying with us. And though we do not provide a free breakfast, we would much rather provide quality dining with breakfast at El Toro. They are reasonably priced with good whole food and are the top breakfast in Banff. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I ended up in Banff a night earlier than planned and had to stay at a sister hotel of Irwin's right next door (Red Carpet Inn). The next morning we really didn't want to pack everything up and move hotels so we asked the manager at Irwin's if he would release our reservation without penalties to save us this hassle. Without a question, he did! The customer service at Irwin's is amazing. They are kind and considerate of their guests! Although we didn't end up staying at this hotel I will definitely consider it on my next trip to Banff :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Well I am super pleased this worked out well for you folks! Yes, the Red Carpet Inn is a sister property and I have experienced it when you just don't want to pack up and go, it's easier extending. I am glad you phoned our Manager who is second to none. I do hope you enjoyed your stay and the great customere service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice clean place spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Front desk staff was nice and friendly, we were in and out so didn't spend much time there. It was nice and close to walk downtown for dinner the resturant in the hotel had a limited menu. Decore a bit dated but who cares when its clean and fresh. Would for sure stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our staff are pleased to recieve reviews like this as it is encouraging to see the remarks we strive so hard to achieve. Our front desk staff are indeed friendly and helpful as a 24 hours staff. Our housekeeping strives for every room to be clean and comfortable. El Toro has been a part of our hotel for over 35 years. They serve an amazing breakfast and dinner and are a heritage to Banff. We are indeed only 2 short blocks from downtown and our location makes us a perfect stay in the heart of Banff. The Irwin's has been around since 1967 and our facility has remained family owned and operated with the hope you will return and enjoy the memories that can only be made in Banff. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coomera
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a great stay here. The room was spacious, had a very comfortable bed and the location was very handy to downtown. Jus

All staff were extremely friendly and the location was very quiet. Would stay here next time we visit Banff

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your recent review. I am very glad that our location and facility met your expectations. Thanks for your compliments to the staff and thanks so very much for your encouraging words. I do hope you return again soon to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was extremely spacious. The hotel was clean and functional, not super up to date but excellent value for money.

It is walking distance to the town centre. There was parking (for low cars) below the hotel and storage for equipment. We went out of season and the hotel was quiet, but we got a great price.

There is a nice hot tub to enjoy. The staff were very helpful and gave good advise on local attractions.

There is a hostel next door but we were in a room on the other side of the hotel and heard no noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your honest review. Our 65 room property is nestled in the heart of Banff. We do have a 8 person hot tub and our rooms are spacious and clean. Our staff are always willing to hlep point you in the right direction in order to enjoy the sights and sounds of Banff. I am very glad you were able to enjoy our property and I sure hope you return again soon as a repeat guest. We enjoy hearing such great reviews from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were travelling as a family to the Canadian Rockies and after a long search on the internet we decided to stay at this lovely hotel. Once we reached the hotel we found out that we had made a good choice. The location of the hotel is good. (on the main road) the staff is very nice and helpful. Every morning I would go and discuss our travel plan with them and got good advice. The rooms are also quite good and roomy.

Overall it was a good stay and we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your review of our property. I am most grateful for your thorough overview of our property and staff. I am very pleased that we met the requirements of what you were looking for from price to comfort to value. I would like to extend sincere gratitude and I do hope you are able to return with us in the very near future. Thanks again and I do hope you enjoyed the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.