We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was extremely spacious. The hotel was clean and functional, not super up to date but excellent value for money.

It is walking distance to the town centre. There was parking (for low cars) below the hotel and storage for equipment. We went out of season and the hotel was quiet, but we got a great price.

There is a nice hot tub to enjoy. The staff were very helpful and gave good advise on local attractions.

There is a hostel next door but we were in a room on the other side of the hotel and heard no noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your honest review. Our 65 room property is nestled in the heart of Banff. We do have a 8 person hot tub and our rooms are spacious and clean. Our staff are always willing to hlep point you in the right direction in order to enjoy the sights and sounds of Banff. I am very glad you were able to enjoy our property and I sure hope you return again soon as a repeat guest. We enjoy hearing such great reviews from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    167
    71
    10
    10
See reviews for
114
126
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were travelling as a family to the Canadian Rockies and after a long search on the internet we decided to stay at this lovely hotel. Once we reached the hotel we found out that we had made a good choice. The location of the hotel is good. (on the main road) the staff is very nice and helpful. Every morning I would go and discuss our travel plan with them and got good advice. The rooms are also quite good and roomy.

Overall it was a good stay and we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your review of our property. I am most grateful for your thorough overview of our property and staff. I am very pleased that we met the requirements of what you were looking for from price to comfort to value. I would like to extend sincere gratitude and I do hope you are able to return with us in the very near future. Thanks again and I do hope you enjoyed the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked 2 nights well in advance, and without being knowledgeable about what Canada Day Weekend in Banff was likely to be like. Noisy, that's what it was like, until 3.00am

Basically, if you do stay here, and why not , just get a room that does not front onto the Samesun backpackers hostel across the side street, (our room was 236) crowds of very happy young travellers whooping it up into the small hours.

Other than that, no problem. Good location, twin queen room, tidy and clean, parking at the back.

Good location, under 10 minutes stroll to downtown, just avoid Canada Day if you like to sleep.

Room Tip: If it's a busy time, make sure you ask for a room AWAY from the backpackers lodge next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks so very much for your review. Let me start by apologizing for your experience of noise. It sure is not our intent to have noise continuing into the wee hours of the night. Unfortunately, Canada Day was a bit more noisy than usual due to the atmosphere of having our roads open since the major flood of 2013. I wish we could have shielded you from that. Thanks so very much for your understanding during your stay with us. I am so pleased that all other elements of the stay were pleasing to you. That is what I love to hear. Our 24 hour desk does try to calm the noise of the Samesun down when there are issues, but typically the noise is easily managed. We do have a good relationship with Samesun. Thanks for staying with us and for your comments. I do hope you will give us another try. Thanks for highlighting our location close to downtown. This is a major benefit of staying at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June while touring the Rockies,,We had a lovely clean big room and we were very pleased, the hotels staff are great all very friendly and it's location in Banff is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am very pleased to hear of your stay with us. I am glad that the room was what you were looking for. Equally I am pleased that our staff maintained a level of helpfulness that worked well for your stay. I do wish you well in your future travels and thanks for staying with us on your tour of Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at the irwin's for 3 days this June. We had originally selected another hotel but change to this because of its location.....and that's the best thing about this hotel! It's right on the main street with almost everything within strolling distance ! we met some very friendly staff....right from the reception, everyone was very helpful and courteous and greet you with a smile! The hotel seemed to be recently renovated and done quite well. We stayed in the 1-bed room 2-Queen beds room.the room was a bit cramped but okay because in Banff, you'll not have a chance to be indoors much. The restaurant downstairs whips up a good breakfast and some great dinners if you care to come in early (think it closes at 11:00 PM). Overall a very pleasant experience...will have to make a longer trip to Banff again !

Room Tip: Try the upper floor rooms...they give you a better view. Coin laundry downstairs....a great feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am most pleased to hear of your experience here at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am most excited of how staff made a difference for your stay. Our staff are so conscious of your needs and they are at the desk 24 hours a day. They are well versed in presenting tour options and events that you will enjoy in Banff. The El Toro is second to none! We are so proud to be partnered with such an amazing restaurant. They work hard to present an atmosphere of quality. Their breakfast menu is the best in Banff and their Dining menu is refreshing for Banff and has done so for over 40 years. Thanks for your highlights and thanks for your positive feedback for us. Our staff will be encouraged. I am very excited about our service for your stay. Please come again soon. Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a lovely little gem of a hotel, great location, great friendly staff and nice views of the mountains. It also has a laundry room which was so convenient for us as we were travelling for eight weeks and when we could wash our own clothes it was a real money saver. Staff were happy to give advice on what tours to do and where to eat, and also I have to give special thanks to staff as we left our I pad in room when we left to stay at lake Louise and they rang our next hotel to let us know it was there, if they hadn't heavens knows when we would have realized it was gone and we wouldn't have known how to get it back, it is always good to know there are honest people, we really appreciated it. Banff is well worth a visit and it was our favourite destination in Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am always pleased to read reviews where our staff went above and beyond to ensure that your stay and your possessions were cared for. I am super excited that our little property met your expectations and that your trip was a positive experience. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the kind comments. This hotel was founded on Family run integrity. The Irwin's is proud to continue that heritage today. Thanks again. It's a good feeling to have been able to help our guests and make a positive impact. Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly service...extremely happy with the room...stayed here a year ago...was able to get as pet free room...great views...it's Banff, fresh air, great shopping and a fun filled time with our family...keep it simple!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am so delighted to have read your review. Yes indeed, we do keep things simple here at Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am glad that the service and the comfort met your expectations. I wanted to highlight our FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING, which is a premium here in Banff. I am very excited to hear that we hit it out of the park for you. Please come again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.