We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights room only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Banff
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2 nights room only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here on a room only basis. The reception staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate. It looked into youth hostel but we’d a sideways few of the mountains (room 240) It held 2 queen sized beds although wardrobe area was very small. Our towels were changed each day.The hotel is a short walk from a Safeway store. We were glad we were there at a quiet time and I can see how the underground parking could be limited at peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your most recent review. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us went well. With the Irwin's Mountain Inn being 2 short blocks from the downtown area, you were able to experience the best of both worlds, close to shopping and close to come back and rest easy. Our staff will be pleased to hear of your experience. Thank you for sharing your comments and for the constructive feedback. I hope you can join us again soon. Sincerely-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    154
    65
    10
    10
See reviews for
102
119
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights while travelling through the Rockies. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the main drag. The rooms are very ell equipped, clean and maintained. They even provided a kettle for us tea drinking Brits. The room had a jacuzzi but I did not like the noise of it. The staff are friendly and create a relaxed vibe. As for the views of mountains from the balcony- simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your most honest review. I am very pleased to hear about your experience here. You named the breathtaking views. Our balconies are quaint and perfect to soak in what is truly Banff. Mountains in the distance and fresh air. There is no pretense here from staff. Our Budget property is perfect for the traveler who is looking to enjoy the sights and sounts of Banff. With simple touches like kettles at the desk, and a 24 hour desk staff who is ready to help, the Irwin's Mountain Inn is the perfect choice. Please come again soon. It was a delight meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Read the history of Irwin's Mountain Inn, it is quite fascinating and to stay competitive in Banff is remarkable. This hotel aged gracefully, its not because it is expensive, hotel has very common amenities, clean beddings, clean toilet, hot and cold water, close to downtown just like any hotel in Banff, really nothing much to brag about this hotel but hardworking, honest, efficient staff. The day we arrived was raining hard and cold, we asked the front desk about the "hot springs" in Banff, she kindly informed us that Irwin's has one too and it has the same feel no need to drive, no entrance fee and it is only the two us instead of a crowded pool on top of a mountain. Through an honest staff info, we had a wonderful time relaxing after so many hours of driving. Secondly, the maintenance person was working so hard to keep the underground parking dry knowing guests will be using the space, until the next day staff continually monitors the condition of the underground parking lot. Staff performed their best because I think of the desire to continue to serve the visiting public and preserve the Irwin's legacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. I was very encouraged by the review for a number of reasons. The highlighted portion of history that you wrote about was very personal for me. Arlen Irwin, who was the founder of this hotel, passed away about a year ago now. His mother, Elizabeth made the focal point of this property customer service and returning customers. This good will that you wrote about was very moving. It is something we have worked so hard at here. Thanks for the encouragement and the feedback about our front line staff. They are invested in the best interest of the guest. I am so pleased to hear about your experience. Please come again soon! Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here when on atour of the Rockies. Ma great stay, staff helpful and the room provided all we needed. We only ate breakfast there once as there are many options for food in banff but the breakfast was good. Quite a walk into Banff but this didn't bother us as we were there to walk. Parking limited and I could imagine in the high seasons would be difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your most helpful review. I am very glad you enjoyed the El Toro. They serve an amazing Breakfast and Dinner. Their menu is both generous and served with quality and class. We are proud partners of such an achievement. Yes we are just 2 short blocks away from downtown, and this is perfect for the Banff life in the town. Close enough to walk, far enough away to keep away from too much noise. Our parking is indeed free and we are glad to offer underground parking for minivans and cars. I am glad you took the time to comment. Your comments are both helpful and wise. Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had a last minute trip to Banff and was pleasantly surprised to find a great deal at Irwin's Mountain Inn. The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hot tub, exercise facility, secure underground parking, good restaurant attached, ski lockers, etc. all made this a good place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I'm super excited to have read your review. Irwin's has tried so hard to be a last minute booking venue and I am pleased that it met your expectations. We keep things simple and uncomplicated here at the Inn. The beauty of our staff has to do with their interaction and genuine interest and bringing you a great experience. We focus on getting you checked into your room and answering questions you might have in sightseeing in beautiful Banff, and experiencing the tours that are available by our tour partners. I am so pleased that you took the time to write about us and I want to thank you for staying with us. Please come again soon.
Sincerely-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

If you want comfort, clean rooms and helpful staff you won't go far wrong at Irwin's. Yes, the bathroom in 351 is a bit dated, but it's clean and usable. If you need floor to ceiling marble and contemporary bath fittings then Irwin's probably isn't for you, at the end of the day it's an Inn. It's only a few minutes into the centre of town. The adjoining restaurant is fine, both for dinner and breakfast. Please be aware though, nearly every hotel in Banff is affected by the noise of the trains. The drivers have to sound their whistle, whatever time of day, it's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the review you left for us. I am most pleased that you highlighted the fond aspects of our property. We are in fact a 3 star property and our marketing is catered to those on a budget. Our hotel offers something for everyone as far as room size and number of people. Free WiFi, Free parking, which isn't at every property in Banff, Free Hot Tub, Free Sauna, Free Computer station for keeping in contact at home, and our rooms are kept clean as you stated. The beauty of Banff is the close proximity to nature and the Train Horn is a bit of the history of Banff too. I'm so glad you enjoyed El Toro as well. We are so delighted to hear of your feedback and thank you so much. I hope you come again soon. Sincerely-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked 6 rooms for our family for 3 nights. The rooms were what we expected, the staff very friendly. They had a conference room downstairs which was not being used and they let us use it in the evenings with our family. This helped the kids in that they had a spot to use up some of their energy and the adults had a place for a joint meal and to play games. We could make our own coffee and use the toaster oven or microwave. The facility was dated but worked great for us. Some members in our group used the hot tub. Some took advantage of the good restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: The suites we had booked for the families who had more children were a nice size and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your most kind review of our property. I am so glad we could help with your group size and accomodate your lovely family. Yes, it worked quite nicely for you folks to use our conference room. I was glad our staff was able to assist in that area. We are so proud of the El Toro restaurant and we are so proud of our staff and property and the great strides that have been made to make people like you happy. I hope your travels were delightful. Sincerely-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.