We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service in a small friendly hotel in the heart of Banff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Steinbach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service in a small friendly hotel in the heart of Banff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked Irwin's Mountain Inn for a four night stay (Monday - Thursday) through Hotwire and was very happy both with the value and the quality of the hotel. When we arrived, we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We ate at the hotel restaurant El Toro three times (2 dinners and 1 breakfast) and each time experienced excellent food and service. The Thursday night Chateaubriand for two special was over the top delicious!! A nice small hotel, close to all the shops and restaurants on Banff Ave. with friendly and prompt service!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. Your comments are both helpful and appreciated. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a family owned business in the heart of Banff. Our staff are both personable and helpful. Our goal is to help our guests find what they are looking for in Banff. There are so many sights and sounds and our desk staff have worked hard on being able to provide that information to our guests. Our hotel is both clean and comfortable and our partnership with El Toro has gone on for 35 years! Rates for both hotel and restaurant are unbeatable in Banff. Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    156
    68
    9
    10
See reviews for
106
122
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed two nights for hiking and evenings out. Really nice, newly renovated room with its own bar area sink. Very clean. Great location, we were able to walk everywhere within Town. Will definitely stay at this Inn again when I return with friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'd like to take the time to thank you so much for your review with us. Thank you for highlighting some of our ammenities and our location just being perfect distance to downtown. Our 65 room hotel is just 2 blocks from the shopping that is unique to Banff. We do focus on being clean, comfortable and affortable. Our housekeeping department is second to none in Banff. Our staff are ready to help on a moments notice. Thanks for staying with us and I do hope to see you again very soon here in beautiful Banff. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, ski trip.
Location is great and easy to find, but I bypass this hotel and had to u-turn.
Checkin, fast without any problems
Parking behind hotel was not big, but I had no problem to find stall for my car; there are about 10 stalls.
Room was clean with daily maid service. Not sure why, but sink was in the room, not in the bathroom. Heater was powerful and little bit noise; used power to dry boots and gloves.
I was pleasantly surprised to find hot sauna, I mean HOT sauna as well as a hot tub.
Definitely would recommend this hotel for non-luxury stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. I love reviews like this because you get straight to the point. I'm glad you enjoyed our FREE parking and the HOT sauna. You are right about the heat, we do our best to keep both the HOT TUB-hot and the HOT sauna-hot. After a long day on the hills, it is what so many are looking for and it takes the chill right out of you. Our staff have worked hard to keep this place in top notch condition with top notch cleaning and maintenance. Our property has been in in Banff since 1967. Many of the designers in Banff had the sinks outside of the bathroom. The idea was to keep the space well utilized. I am glad you enjoyed our heating system which is very powerful and very efficient. Our recent upgrades were made to produce a high quality feel to our heating and cooling systems. We do provide a great price and a great feel and I am so very glad that our staff make so many feel welcome and point them in the right direction for the sights and sounds of Banff-a world class destination. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great 11 night stay with friends. This is our 7th trip to Banff and this hotel is in a great location not too far from town. We were upgraded to a double queen suite from a double queen room as our friends were in a family suite and we requested to be near to them for convenience, and so that the children were not chasing around the hotel when moving from one room to the other. The room was quite large with loveLy views towards Sulphur Mountain. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only downside was we could have done with a little more hanging room or a few hooks for our jackets, but it in no way detracted from our stay. The staff were super friendly, very accommodating and were lovely with the children. The El Toro restaurant downstairs served great food both at breakfast and in the evening. We would have eaten there a few more times if they had served children's portions, but the meals we did take were first class.
I'm sure we will return to Banff again and will definitely book here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your kind review of our property. I am so very glad we met your expectations. El Toro is a fantastic restaurant with incredible food selection and presentation and portions that will keep you coming back. They are truly the best in Banff for breakfast and dinner. Our rooms are spacious and I am so very glad you noticed our recently renovated rooms. We worked hard to create a warm and inviting atmosphere that is perfect for family and friends. I am glad you experienced the upgrade and I welcome your return back very soon. Thanks again for your kind words and your most positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Irwin's Mountain Inn was great! We stayed here for one night in April 2013 and wished we had been able to stay here for longer. The rooms was large, clean, comfortable, and updated and the hotel as a whole was very nice. There was a small gym downstairs as well as a nice hot tub to use too. The hotel is right on Banff Avenue and just a 5 minute walk into the heart of town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff... though we did get a terrific deal on the hotel (paid about $75 for the night) and I don't know what the regular price is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! It's terrific when I see a review like this spelling out the strengths of our hotel and ammenities. Thanks so much for staying with us and I sure hope you return again soon for a repeat stay. All the best in your travels. Much appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was very happy with this hotel. Nice clean quiet rooms with a beautiful hot tub. Good restaurant attached that has $5.99 bacon, eggs, hash browns special in the morning before you hit the hill. Safe place to lock up your ski's at night. good location to walk into town. staff were friendly and accommodated special requests. Thanks for the nice stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so very proud of our partnership with the El Toro Restaurant. Our hotel has partnered with them for over 33 years in Banff. They are a wonderful restaurant that showcases a quality breakfast and a quality dinner tha does not compare anywhere in Banff. I am so glad you enjoyed the special breakfast and I do hope you come back again very soon.
Cheers,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Like the hot tub very clean feels good after a day of skiing. Room very big and Clean too. Service Excellent. Food is good lots of parking for pick up trucks. Lots of info about the town of banff. Close walk to the night life and Safeway for munches.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so very much for your feedback. I'm so glad your stay was pleasurable. Yes the access to the downtown life of Banff is fantastic. Our hot tub ammenity is a hit at this time of year. We keep our tub nice and toasty so that everyone walks out relaxed and refreshed after a long day on the hill or a long hike or a day of shopping.
I do hope you folks return again soon. Thanks for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.