We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great 11 night stay with friends. This is our 7th trip to Banff and this hotel is in a great location not too far from town. We were upgraded to a double queen suite from a double queen room as our friends were in a family suite and we requested to be near to them for convenience, and so that the children were not chasing around the hotel when moving from one room to the other. The room was quite large with loveLy views towards Sulphur Mountain. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only downside was we could have done with a little more hanging room or a few hooks for our jackets, but it in no way detracted from our stay. The staff were super friendly, very accommodating and were lovely with the children. The El Toro restaurant downstairs served great food both at breakfast and in the evening. We would have eaten there a few more times if they had served children's portions, but the meals we did take were first class.
I'm sure we will return to Banff again and will definitely book here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your kind review of our property. I am so very glad we met your expectations. El Toro is a fantastic restaurant with incredible food selection and presentation and portions that will keep you coming back. They are truly the best in Banff for breakfast and dinner. Our rooms are spacious and I am so very glad you noticed our recently renovated rooms. We worked hard to create a warm and inviting atmosphere that is perfect for family and friends. I am glad you experienced the upgrade and I welcome your return back very soon. Thanks again for your kind words and your most positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    152
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
116
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Irwin's Mountain Inn was great! We stayed here for one night in April 2013 and wished we had been able to stay here for longer. The rooms was large, clean, comfortable, and updated and the hotel as a whole was very nice. There was a small gym downstairs as well as a nice hot tub to use too. The hotel is right on Banff Avenue and just a 5 minute walk into the heart of town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff... though we did get a terrific deal on the hotel (paid about $75 for the night) and I don't know what the regular price is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! It's terrific when I see a review like this spelling out the strengths of our hotel and ammenities. Thanks so much for staying with us and I sure hope you return again soon for a repeat stay. All the best in your travels. Much appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was very happy with this hotel. Nice clean quiet rooms with a beautiful hot tub. Good restaurant attached that has $5.99 bacon, eggs, hash browns special in the morning before you hit the hill. Safe place to lock up your ski's at night. good location to walk into town. staff were friendly and accommodated special requests. Thanks for the nice stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so very proud of our partnership with the El Toro Restaurant. Our hotel has partnered with them for over 33 years in Banff. They are a wonderful restaurant that showcases a quality breakfast and a quality dinner tha does not compare anywhere in Banff. I am so glad you enjoyed the special breakfast and I do hope you come back again very soon.
Cheers,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Like the hot tub very clean feels good after a day of skiing. Room very big and Clean too. Service Excellent. Food is good lots of parking for pick up trucks. Lots of info about the town of banff. Close walk to the night life and Safeway for munches.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so very much for your feedback. I'm so glad your stay was pleasurable. Yes the access to the downtown life of Banff is fantastic. Our hot tub ammenity is a hit at this time of year. We keep our tub nice and toasty so that everyone walks out relaxed and refreshed after a long day on the hill or a long hike or a day of shopping.
I do hope you folks return again soon. Thanks for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was the best hotel i have stayed at in banff the staff are great the rooms are clean and it has the cleanest public hot tub i have seen in banff. for the price you cant beat it!! The location is good not to far so it is a long walk down town but far enough away that it is nice and quiet. The last time I came here I stayed at the banff aspen lodge and the staff were rude and not accommodating at all they could have cared less that we were staying at there hotel but not at the Irwin I felt like they actually appreciated our business. wich after staying a week and spending that much money you want to feel welcome when you walk thru the front door not like you are a burden. The only bad part of my experience was I did not have a good view but not having a reservation that is more my fault than anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Day and thank you so much for your honest feedback. We have tried so hard to make our hotel exactly what guests are looking for. Strong customer service, simple touches and common areas that are memorable. Our hot tub and sauna are meant for the skier or family. It's the perfect place to wind down after a long day out on the town. Thanks for your most honest feedback. Cheers and do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were incredibly surprised with this hotel. Our room was massive and very clean, the TV was modern and great (important for me!), the internet was really fast, and the beds were comfortable.

We had stayed at other hotels in Banff that cost a bit more, and in my opinion this one is just as good, if not better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your review and your honest feedback. We have worked so hard to get our rooms to be simple yet able to deal with the new technologies that have come our way. Our flat screens are big and our WIFI is free and strong. And our rooms are clean and spacious. Thanks so much for your review and I hope to see you areound here again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Prior to staying at Irwin's in Banff my wife and I stayed in Calgary at the Hyatt downtown. Though the two hotels are in totally different classes I found Irwin's just as good and even better in some ways. We had a room with a large jacuzzi tub and my first thought was we paid less in Banff for a far nicer room.

There was also something else that really impressed me. There was a fairly loud guest down the hall and I was about to call security as it was quite late. Before I could do so security came up and dealt with the noisy guests in a very respectful but firm manner to the relief of myself and my wife. You really find out the quality of a hotel when the staff have to respond to a bad situation.

I can't think of anything I would recommend; Irwin's is first rate!

Room Tip: I've stayed at Irwin's about five times now and every floor was great but the room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I'd like to take this time to thank you for your kind review. I am so very thankful for your positive feedback on our property and I am so very grateful that you have spoken so highly of your experiences here in Banff. I am so glad your stay with us was good. And I do look forward to seeing you here again in beautiful Banff. With Sincerity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.