We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE THE BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEWARE THE BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed here in Sept.It was a lovely hotel, but I got eaten alive.I have NEVER been so itchy in my life.It is almost November and I am still itchy !!!! I had a bad reaction.And I DID see the bugs with my owns eyes the next morning the sheets were bloody.I am a medical professional, so I know what I am talking about.
It completely turned me off Banff.I am going to South Africa next week and I am now paranoid....for heavens sake Canada get the law changed back regarding pesticide ingredients as these critters are now immune to everything and are spreading like wildfire

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSIDING29, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry that you had an encounter with bed bugs in the hotel. We do try our best to keep bed bugs out, but they sometimes find a way in. I am very sorry that they were in your room and now that room has been fully fumigated and there is no trace of bed bugs in there anymore. I hope you will stay with us again in the future and you can rest assure that there are no bed bugs.

Thank you,
Matt Henderson
Manager
Best Western PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    150
    57
    32
    15
See reviews for
154
161
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We came to Banff and the Best Western greeted us and welcomed us in. Not only did we have optimum parking but the hotel was beautiful, the room was clean and comfortable and we slept well. In the morning the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed in this hotel with three young kids. The room was very spacious, with a balcony, and included a microwave and small fridge. But the highlight, especially for the kids, was the swimming pool & hot tub - small, but with the warmest water compared to other hotels. after a long day of hiking, it was the highlight of the day for the kids.
A rich breakfast was included, and when too crowded, the staff immediately provided guests with trays to take breakfast to their rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Location was good, about 15 min. walk from downtown, and relatively close to the supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The typical good natured BW did not match. We found garbage on the balcony, a very stiff receptionist, A/C cooling did not work in a warm bedroom, no chance to select a quiet room and a mediocre (free) breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find this BW, reasonable priced (139) - for Banff, with friendly staff,clean room, very good breakfast, comfortable king bed and balcony, fridge/microwave, indoor parking, nice, but small, pool and hot tub, and within 3-4 blocks walking of downtown Banff. With all the amenities, we thought this the best value we could find in Banff. Only one small negative -- the train whistles can be heard at times - tho this problem is common in almost all Banff hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel two nights ago. We didn't have a reservation, but were lucky to find a vacancy here. The beds were incredibly comfortable, rooms spacious. There was a microwave and oversize mini fridge. The hotel had a complimentary hot & cold breakfast with a nice selection of teas for your room. The hotel was a very short walk from downtown banff. They also had underground parking on sight. Everything was very clean and modern. This was a wonderful stay and we plan on staying again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I really liked this Best Western, but my husband did not. Here are some of the positives: Our room was ready when we arrived in the early afternoon. It was on the third floor, and had a very nice balcony, with flowers and a lovely view. On this top floor, part of the ceiling is elevated, which makes the room seem spacious. The room appeared to have been updated recently. The furnishings were nice, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom was nicely updated. The hotel is sort of on a residential street and pretty quiet, but it is also only a brief walk into to the main part of town, or to restaurants in nearby hotels. It has underground parking, what appears to be a nice indoor pool, and the continental breakfast was ok…the standard BW fare.

However, when we first got in our room my husband tried to use the WiFi and couldn’t connect. He tried for over an hour, using various codes given by the front desk, only to eventually find out that the hotel WiFi was not working. Despite repeated tries it was never fixed in the two days we were there. Because Internet access is very important to my husband this really upset him. Also, on our first morning there we arose early to shower and found we had no hot water. Again, it was a building-wide problem. This had been fixed by the time we returned the next evening. Finally, it’s nice that the hotel is pet friendly, but we could hear dogs barking in other rooms…which was not so nice.

The day we left my husband asked for and received a price reduction on the room because of the problems we encountered, especially the lack of WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.