We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable BW in Banff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Top Contributor
688 reviews 688 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 316 cities Reviews in 316 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
“Reasonable BW in Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Good location, can walk downtown and grocery store. Indoor parking, small breakfast, staff did not replace soap/shampoo well, but for Banff it is a good place. Everything is expensive in Banff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    161
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
169
171
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

When you make any 2007 hotel reservation in Banff be sure to ask about parking and pedestrian access.

My husband and I stayed at this BW in mid-May, 2007, just before the season rush. Traffic was not bad around our hotel. But in the main shopping area of town, the streets are under major renovation and crews are working day and night on it.

The Banff area is beautiful, the town is fun to visit and we found a couple of great restaurants here! But the train runs all night through the middle of town, so no hotel or B&B in the area can escape the frequent blare of their whistles. Our room was very large and had a nice balcony on the street side and the internet worked well.

The young lady at the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping staff left us a few reminders of the previous guests - a plate of cigarette butts on the balcony and a used washcloth on the shower rod. Yuck. Nothing earth shattering, but it makes you wonder what other cleaning details were left unattended.

The prices are high in Banff and I can't complain about what we paid as walk-in guests. There are certainly nice attributes to recommend this hotel, but I'd check out other places before I stayed here again.

  • Liked — Internet connection was very good
  • Disliked — Housekeeping gaps
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

Checked in and were given a room at the back of the hotel...being from Calgary and having seen the mountains many times we weren't too concerned about not having a view so didn't request a move...I wish we had! Not only is the parking lot of the adjacent apartment building full of old appliances and refuse (maybe they are renovating?) on the Saturday night it seemed to be the post-night club meeting spot and got quite noisy at about 2am. Also, as busy as the cleaning staff seemed to be thru out the day, the end results were disappointing. The first day I reached up to shut the shower curtain only to get a handful of the previous guests used face cloths. It appeared they'd changed the vacuum bag in the middle of our floor and not cleaned up the debris. The sheets were not fresh and in fact had a large stain (that I didn't notice until the 2nd night...gross). The pool was ridiculously hot. The staff are friendly, the location is good and they have great potential, but the hotel seems to need a good scrubbing and perhaps additional training for the cleaning staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on RTW adventure
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

We had not made a booking in Banff b/c we didn't expect to be there for a few more nights (long story). I walked in and asked if they'd match the price of one of their competitors and they happily bettered it. ($95 p/n including tax I think).

We intended to stay one night and stayed 3. The location was nice to walk into the main street or to and catch the bus to the gondala.

The rooms were very clean, warm and the service from the main day person was excellent (the newbie was still in training but did her best)

FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. Bar fridge. The breakfast was okay too.

We thought it such a bargain that some others we knew checked into the Best Western.

The only complaint we had was about the male English drunk hooligans in the next room on night 2. Yelling, screaming, swearing being drunks at 12:30am. The night guy let us sleep in another room for the night, which was very nice of him. The hooligans were drunk, 6 foot highand 3 foot wide and the night guy was a short slight guy, so I believe it was good to avoid the confrontation. The hooligans were gone the next day :)

It is only 3 stories high so I don't know what the complaint (by another reviewer) about room 512 was when there is no such room to my knowledge.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location and low-season price
  • Disliked — I left my haagandaaz icecream on the balcony in the snow and Crows ate it! (Crows with taste :))
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask them the match/beat a competitor price. Don't leave frozen food on the balcony or smart crows will eat it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Me and boyfriend spent 3 nights at the Best Western it was a little over priced for the hotel , but i guess for the area it was to high. Our first 2 nights were comfortable. The first morningwe were in the hallway trying going down the stair on our way out and the lobby attendant who was vacuuming the floors, at this time she was not vacuuming but talking to another housekeeper, she left the cords, and hose allover the floor and stairs which was very unsafe. The same girl the next day when we asked her a question in the elevator ignored us, i thought maybe she didnt speak english but she did. Our second day aswell we were coming out of the elevator in the garage level and when i stepped out of the elevator i sliped and fell they had just washed the floor , but no wet floor signs were posted. Our last night we stayed in 512 ( i think) we were lying in bed and we heard what souded like a tap was on i checked the bathroom and everything was off i listened a little closer and relised it was in the walls through the ventalation system we called the front desk they couldnt move us because they were sold out, said they would make notes for in the morning. We tried to sleep but the noise was getting worse it was running water and the sound of a drain emptying ( gurgling noise) again we called the front desk the clerk came to the the roomand listened told us the air conditioner on the roof was due to be drained and occasionally makes this noise, and again said he would make notes for the morning manager. We ended up getting about 3 hrs of sleep the next morning when checking out we asked what the hotel could do they said we already had a go reat so they would only drop the rate a little bit that the noise wasnt from the a/c but from the whirlpool from the room above that sometimes makes that noise( but it went all night!!!!!), myself being a front desk supervisor at a 5 star hotel that wasnt enough they ended up not charging us for the third night but were very rude about it. beware 512 and the running water.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Water Problem!
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk In generally rates are cheaper!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We stayed here for one night that was one night to many.
For a hotel that charged us over $200 a night we expected more
than a hot tub with scum on the side of the pool that on a second
request maintenance wiped off with his hand, cereal and muffins
for breakfast that the staff were annoyed when you asked for
butter and milk and 20 cents a minute for the internet. There are
a lot of hotels on Banff Ave. shop around for one of them.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — shop around don't judge a hotel by the price
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

The Good:
Quick walk into Banff. Easy access to Highway1 & to all ski resorts. Free breakfast. Helpful staff. Free underground parking.Quiet.Huge jacuzzi in room. Sink & fridge. Comfy bed.

The Bad:
The room was (111)was very cold. We slept with a coat over the blanket at night. Thin, scratchy towels, no shampoo etc. Hairdryer didn't work. Dirty carpet

The Ugly:
Damp & mould on the ceiling. Completely charmless, tacky hotel that is in dire need of a complete renovation.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.