We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad surprise in a special town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bad surprise in a special town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The typical good natured BW did not match. We found garbage on the balcony, a very stiff receptionist, A/C cooling did not work in a warm bedroom, no chance to select a quiet room and a mediocre (free) breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    138
    57
    29
    15
See reviews for
145
144
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find this BW, reasonable priced (139) - for Banff, with friendly staff,clean room, very good breakfast, comfortable king bed and balcony, fridge/microwave, indoor parking, nice, but small, pool and hot tub, and within 3-4 blocks walking of downtown Banff. With all the amenities, we thought this the best value we could find in Banff. Only one small negative -- the train whistles can be heard at times - tho this problem is common in almost all Banff hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel two nights ago. We didn't have a reservation, but were lucky to find a vacancy here. The beds were incredibly comfortable, rooms spacious. There was a microwave and oversize mini fridge. The hotel had a complimentary hot & cold breakfast with a nice selection of teas for your room. The hotel was a very short walk from downtown banff. They also had underground parking on sight. Everything was very clean and modern. This was a wonderful stay and we plan on staying again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I really liked this Best Western, but my husband did not. Here are some of the positives: Our room was ready when we arrived in the early afternoon. It was on the third floor, and had a very nice balcony, with flowers and a lovely view. On this top floor, part of the ceiling is elevated, which makes the room seem spacious. The room appeared to have been updated recently. The furnishings were nice, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom was nicely updated. The hotel is sort of on a residential street and pretty quiet, but it is also only a brief walk into to the main part of town, or to restaurants in nearby hotels. It has underground parking, what appears to be a nice indoor pool, and the continental breakfast was ok…the standard BW fare.

However, when we first got in our room my husband tried to use the WiFi and couldn’t connect. He tried for over an hour, using various codes given by the front desk, only to eventually find out that the hotel WiFi was not working. Despite repeated tries it was never fixed in the two days we were there. Because Internet access is very important to my husband this really upset him. Also, on our first morning there we arose early to shower and found we had no hot water. Again, it was a building-wide problem. This had been fixed by the time we returned the next evening. Finally, it’s nice that the hotel is pet friendly, but we could hear dogs barking in other rooms…which was not so nice.

The day we left my husband asked for and received a price reduction on the room because of the problems we encountered, especially the lack of WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked suite with sofabed back in April. When we arrived at hotle on the night of August 3, 2010, we were given room on the ground floor with two queen beds. When asked Reception, she said that they had reservation only for room with two queen beds. When I showed reservation confirmation email with suite, they offered rollover bed in the room.
The room smelled cigarette smoke. First i thought that may be we got smokers room but when I checked outside in the lobby it was non smiking room.
Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had room 305 which is located above the indoor pool. The air conditioning in the room is not sufficient to cool the room with all the heat coming up from the pool area. There was a fan in the room but it did little good. Other than that, hotel is OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in Banff for 2 nights and room was spacious & beds comfy, the rooms also had a microwave which was handy. We had a room away from the road which was nice and quiet. It was only a short stroll to town, Banff is a lovely place. Breakfast was a bonus, they had a good selection for continental and even had some hot dishes on offer, the only thing I think could be improved is the room where breakfast is served, is small and due to popularity sometimes there was no tables available, my advice is get in early. There is also a tea/coffee station you can help yourself to anytime. Staff were helpful & friendly. Free parking, good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.