We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK but may not go back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was OK but may not go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked suite with sofabed back in April. When we arrived at hotle on the night of August 3, 2010, we were given room on the ground floor with two queen beds. When asked Reception, she said that they had reservation only for room with two queen beds. When I showed reservation confirmation email with suite, they offered rollover bed in the room.
The room smelled cigarette smoke. First i thought that may be we got smokers room but when I checked outside in the lobby it was non smiking room.
Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rookie8155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had room 305 which is located above the indoor pool. The air conditioning in the room is not sufficient to cool the room with all the heat coming up from the pool area. There was a fan in the room but it did little good. Other than that, hotel is OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in Banff for 2 nights and room was spacious & beds comfy, the rooms also had a microwave which was handy. We had a room away from the road which was nice and quiet. It was only a short stroll to town, Banff is a lovely place. Breakfast was a bonus, they had a good selection for continental and even had some hot dishes on offer, the only thing I think could be improved is the room where breakfast is served, is small and due to popularity sometimes there was no tables available, my advice is get in early. There is also a tea/coffee station you can help yourself to anytime. Staff were helpful & friendly. Free parking, good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Comfortable room, very spacious. Good breakfast, lots of selections. The pool although small was very warm and nice. The kids had a great time! The hot tub is rather small and not very warm but front desk staff was responsive to complaints and fixed it ASAP. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I travel frequently and stayed here for one night in June - the driveway entrance is tight and slope into the parking area a little steep but easily managed - a treat to have indoor secure parking with nicely decorated elevator entrance in garage with bench and luggage trolleys waiting. The room was spotless with a small balcony with pretty planted flowers & mountain view - granite counters in bath and for small kitchen area with fridge, etc. Bedding was very comfortable. The room faced the street but was quiet - the complimentary hot breakfast had an amazing selection that was constantly attended and refilled - much more than other hotels offered during my 2 week trip in June. The staff were friendly - couldn't have asked for more - all at a great price. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here on our way from Salmon Arm to Glacier National Park. Upon arrival we were blocked out of the driveway by the woman checking in, in front of us. It's a narrow driveway to get down to the parking lot.
We parked on the street and went to check it. The woman in front of us wanted to complain about everything even before she had seen the room - all the time the front desk staff were polite, considerate and extremely tolerant.
She finally moved herself and her car so we could check in. The room was lovely, well appointed and clean. The hotel is located close to the downtown area - about a 10 minute walk.
The dining room for breakfast is a little small, however there is a lovely outdoor area to sit if you want to avoid the crowded breakfast room.
The only complaint we had was the view of the garbage cans out the front of the property which had been broken and garbage was strewn around - as a result there were lots of crows and raccoons. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celena, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This stay was one of the worst experiences in my life of 72 years. My wife (70 years of age) stumbled on a lip in the cobblestone driveway in the front of the hotel and fell on her face. She was transported by ambulance to the Banff Hospital where she required numerous stitches to her forehead, cheek and side of her face as well as a cracked bone in her hand requiring a cast. It was necessary for her to be confined to our room until our departure four days later. We had to bring her breakfast each morning and brought her lunch and dinner each day. The 'REAL ISSUE’ here, however, was the lack of empathy and apparent concern on the part of the hotel management. At no time while my wife was confined to the room did a manager attempt to contact her in person or by phone - or contact me, even after numerous visits to the front desk asking to speak to a manager - or managers. The remaining staff was cordial; however the room was uncomfortable for my wife as the AC did not work. Other than the issue with the management the hotel seemed decent for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CABTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSIDING29, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
We are very sorry to hear about your wife and it is very unfortunate that she happened to slip. We want to make sure that all of our guests feel cared for at our hotel and because of miscommunication between the staff (which we take full repsonisbility for) I was unable to get a chance to talk to you personally. Summertime in Banff is extremely busy and sometimes we may happen to miss things, and its not because we don't care, it's because we have a lot to do. The air conditioning is being worked on and should be up and running soon. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to show you that we do care about all of our guest and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing