We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK but may not go back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was OK but may not go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked suite with sofabed back in April. When we arrived at hotle on the night of August 3, 2010, we were given room on the ground floor with two queen beds. When asked Reception, she said that they had reservation only for room with two queen beds. When I showed reservation confirmation email with suite, they offered rollover bed in the room.
The room smelled cigarette smoke. First i thought that may be we got smokers room but when I checked outside in the lobby it was non smiking room.
Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    130
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
136
135
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had room 305 which is located above the indoor pool. The air conditioning in the room is not sufficient to cool the room with all the heat coming up from the pool area. There was a fan in the room but it did little good. Other than that, hotel is OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in Banff for 2 nights and room was spacious & beds comfy, the rooms also had a microwave which was handy. We had a room away from the road which was nice and quiet. It was only a short stroll to town, Banff is a lovely place. Breakfast was a bonus, they had a good selection for continental and even had some hot dishes on offer, the only thing I think could be improved is the room where breakfast is served, is small and due to popularity sometimes there was no tables available, my advice is get in early. There is also a tea/coffee station you can help yourself to anytime. Staff were helpful & friendly. Free parking, good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Comfortable room, very spacious. Good breakfast, lots of selections. The pool although small was very warm and nice. The kids had a great time! The hot tub is rather small and not very warm but front desk staff was responsive to complaints and fixed it ASAP. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I travel frequently and stayed here for one night in June - the driveway entrance is tight and slope into the parking area a little steep but easily managed - a treat to have indoor secure parking with nicely decorated elevator entrance in garage with bench and luggage trolleys waiting. The room was spotless with a small balcony with pretty planted flowers & mountain view - granite counters in bath and for small kitchen area with fridge, etc. Bedding was very comfortable. The room faced the street but was quiet - the complimentary hot breakfast had an amazing selection that was constantly attended and refilled - much more than other hotels offered during my 2 week trip in June. The staff were friendly - couldn't have asked for more - all at a great price. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here on our way from Salmon Arm to Glacier National Park. Upon arrival we were blocked out of the driveway by the woman checking in, in front of us. It's a narrow driveway to get down to the parking lot.
We parked on the street and went to check it. The woman in front of us wanted to complain about everything even before she had seen the room - all the time the front desk staff were polite, considerate and extremely tolerant.
She finally moved herself and her car so we could check in. The room was lovely, well appointed and clean. The hotel is located close to the downtown area - about a 10 minute walk.
The dining room for breakfast is a little small, however there is a lovely outdoor area to sit if you want to avoid the crowded breakfast room.
The only complaint we had was the view of the garbage cans out the front of the property which had been broken and garbage was strewn around - as a result there were lots of crows and raccoons. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celena, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This stay was one of the worst experiences in my life of 72 years. My wife (70 years of age) stumbled on a lip in the cobblestone driveway in the front of the hotel and fell on her face. She was transported by ambulance to the Banff Hospital where she required numerous stitches to her forehead, cheek and side of her face as well as a cracked bone in her hand requiring a cast. It was necessary for her to be confined to our room until our departure four days later. We had to bring her breakfast each morning and brought her lunch and dinner each day. The 'REAL ISSUE’ here, however, was the lack of empathy and apparent concern on the part of the hotel management. At no time while my wife was confined to the room did a manager attempt to contact her in person or by phone - or contact me, even after numerous visits to the front desk asking to speak to a manager - or managers. The remaining staff was cordial; however the room was uncomfortable for my wife as the AC did not work. Other than the issue with the management the hotel seemed decent for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSIDING29, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
We are very sorry to hear about your wife and it is very unfortunate that she happened to slip. We want to make sure that all of our guests feel cared for at our hotel and because of miscommunication between the staff (which we take full repsonisbility for) I was unable to get a chance to talk to you personally. Summertime in Banff is extremely busy and sometimes we may happen to miss things, and its not because we don't care, it's because we have a lot to do. The air conditioning is being worked on and should be up and running soon. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to show you that we do care about all of our guest and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.