We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay every single time! Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Drayton Valley, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay every single time! Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Best Western is the first hotel I call when staying in Banff and have stayed here at least a dozen times. The staff are really easy to deal with, always happy and knowledgable. The rooms are very, very nice with a super comfortable bed. We usually get the jacuzzi suite (extremely recommended!!) with the king bed and are never disappointed! It is an amazing jacuzzi in the suite (not some bathtub with jets) that has LED color-changing lights, satellite radio, fountain, and pull-out shower head.

The price is decent; you won't find a better deal for what you get; including: a decent pool with a nice hot tub, free hot breakfast (which has been upgraded since they used to only have a cold breakfast), secure underground parking, ski lockers, etc. If you stay during the winter the price is even better!

The only issue I have with it is the parking. The underground parking is kinda cramped and if you drive a 1/2 ton truck or bigger it can be a little nerve-wracking to park. They have some parking on the street but not very much.

I absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    178
    73
    37
    19
See reviews for
188
184
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

had a great stay. not 5 star but clean, comfy and reasonable

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Siding 29 right before the New Years Eve and I was great!
We booked 2 rooms ( one for us and the other one was for my sister in laws ) for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it..
The hotel is just walking distance to downtown and so easy for us to go for shopping and to eat.
The hotel it self was quiet and the staff was friendly. The heated underground parking was nice especially because it was snowy at that time. We wish we didn't have any New Year's Eve Party so we can stay one more night as we heard that New Years Eve in Banff always great..
That wasn't the first time for us to stay there and we absolutely will stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millarville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

For all our trips to Banff now, we always stay at the Best Western Siding 29. It's close to some great eating establishments and within walking distance to downtown Banff. The hotel itself is always clean and appealing. And best of all, they accept pets. We love our "boys" and when we can bring them with us it makes our trips even better!

On one somewhat negative note, it is very warm in the hallways. This isn't a 'Siding thing' as we have found every hotel we have previously stayed in in Banff has very hot halls. Guess we Canadians are too hot blooded and don't need the extra heat!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We were in Banff for a ski trip at Sunshine January 28th, 2010 and stayed at the Best Western Siding 29 Lodge. We had a FABULOUS stay in room 300. The room was very spacious with a king bed and the jacuzzi was WONDERFUL after a day of skiing!

The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and then a nice swim in the pool. It was AWESOME to have our vehicle in the heated underground parking lot.

THANK YOU to all the friendly staff for making our stay very memorable! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We've stayed here on at least 3 separate occasions since January 2001 and it continues to be the best choice for us in terms of affordability, good location, heated enclosed parking, terrific breakfast (2009), spacious rooms, and very good service. The negatives include an elevator that is slow (take the stairs and get some excercise!) the heating, cooling, ventilation control was not working properly although the room was quite comfortable overall!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I planned a quiet romantic Christmas Eve stay in Banff.
This hotel was highly recommended to us by more than one person because of its rates, service and quality.

We booked the Presidential Suite at a rate of $299/night complete with King size bed, our own patio with our own private hot tub. We were so excited and had great expectations. But to be completely honest, after reading the reviews I was a little hesitant and lowered my expectations slightly.

We were provided with top notch service, both on the phone prior to our arrival and upon check in . They allowed us to check in very early and were so courteous.

the heated underground parking was a bonus with the windchill Christmas Even in Banff. We definietly appreciated that. The luggage trolleys were in fair to poor condition and we struggled with ours, although not a huge deal.

We were bubbling with excitement to stay in a "suite" , especially the presidential suite. The room was fairly well decorated, not as outdated as some of the previous reviews mention. The bathroom floor seemed to be heated, a nice treat. I noticed the bathroom floors in the corners could have been cleaner, but i'd give a 4 out of 5 for cleanliness.

We were unpacking, and I was about to place my suitcase on the rack next to the king size bed when something YELLOW caught my eye. OH MY GOODNESS. the kind size wooden 4 post bed was being supported by MILK CRATES. i was infuriated.

at a rate of $300 a night, i would expect this hotel which came SO highly recommended could at least afford to replace a bed frame. We were beyond disappointed.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay but the yellow milk crates were a disgusting eye sore. I am not one to complain or cause a scene, but this really put a damper on my thoughts of this hotel.

There is a chance we would stay there again, but only if we couldn't find something better.

We were on the top floor, and were slightly disapponted to find out that there was a young family right next door to us. we were bothered by slamming doors and screaming children for the evening . altho we partially understood due to it being Christmas and all. but WHY would you place children next to a couple clearly expecting a relaxing romantic getaway. at 6am on christmas morning they were running up and down the hall, and again slamming doors. The hotel CLEARLY wasn't at capacity. I would have expected a little more conscious placing of guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSIDING29, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Dear Guest,

First off I would like to apologize for the problems that you had with your room. The yellow milk crates are just temporary supports until we get the bed fixed. We are planning to renovate the Presidential Suite in the next few months because we know that it is in need. As for the noisy guests next door we should have placed them in another location, it was our mistake and we take responsibility for that. We hope by fixing these mistakes that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Thank You,
Hotel Management
Best Western Siding 29
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.