We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Georgina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We stayed here for one night that was one night to many.
For a hotel that charged us over $200 a night we expected more
than a hot tub with scum on the side of the pool that on a second
request maintenance wiped off with his hand, cereal and muffins
for breakfast that the staff were annoyed when you asked for
butter and milk and 20 cents a minute for the internet. There are
a lot of hotels on Banff Ave. shop around for one of them.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — shop around don't judge a hotel by the price
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    168
    69
    36
    16
See reviews for
176
176
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

The Good:
Quick walk into Banff. Easy access to Highway1 & to all ski resorts. Free breakfast. Helpful staff. Free underground parking.Quiet.Huge jacuzzi in room. Sink & fridge. Comfy bed.

The Bad:
The room was (111)was very cold. We slept with a coat over the blanket at night. Thin, scratchy towels, no shampoo etc. Hairdryer didn't work. Dirty carpet

The Ugly:
Damp & mould on the ceiling. Completely charmless, tacky hotel that is in dire need of a complete renovation.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

We stayed in the presidential suite...well worth it for the money.Enquire directly and get deal..you get private 7 person jacuzzi on balcony year round.Real luxury..and they accept pets for free!! Location is fantastic too.Thanks Best Western

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2005

This place had great bedrooms, roomy bathrooms with shower and bath. Pay per view movies, balcony, hot-tub, swimming pool. Free Ice, coffee (& tea) from reception day and night. I really could not fault this hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, convenient for Ski Bus and downtown was 10 mins walk away.
What more do you want?
(OKay my room had a great view of the Samesun Hostel next door - but if you looked to the left or right the mountains were still there!).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early Oct 2004. Our room had 2 queen beds and a balcony (how nice to have some fresh air for a change). Unfortunately we were at the back of the hotel with no view. The underground car park was good but you had to drive on the wrong side in order to swipe your key which made it interesting if anyone was exiting. The room was clean & comfortable but a fridge would be a nice addition. The breakfast was adequate although there were no tables & chairs to eat at....you had to bring it back to your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

Banff is a beautiful town but this hotel charged us $157USD for a room we didn't use. We had made, then cancelled a reservation while staying at another Best Western hotel. Siding 29 claimed to have not received the cancellation and to not recognize the cancellation number we were given by another Best Western employee. Bottom line: Be wary of making reservations that might need to be changed!

Stayed July 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in August. the room was nice, big and clean. And there is covered parking for our Goldwing. =0)
My only complaint is that there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel. They do offer a complimentary breakfast buffet, and coffee all the time. But this is the first BW I've been to without a bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.