We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Christopher Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the last stop on our trip which was perfect at the end of a long day riding a motorbike. Upon check in the staff was very friendly. When they realized that a room wasn't available based on our booking they simply gave us a upgraded room with a jacuzzi tub which we welcomed. Beautiful room and a warm welcome from the beginning to the end of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    121
    48
    26
    13
See reviews for
123
126
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed at this BW in Banff many times. It almost felt like they had a change in mgt, as so many things had slipped. The room wasn't cleaned properly and i had to ask the chamber maid to remake a bed as there were STAINS on the linens. The patio door was filthy as well. Our room and the hallway stunk of aerosol room deodorizer. It was so strong it made us cough. The hallways were constantly filthy as they didn't vacuum the hall the entire weekend? The pool is usually such a high point of our stay. Its usually so warm and comfy. I jumped in and it was FREEZING!! 66 degrees is ridiculous. I complained and they turned it up for the next day? The hot tub was also turned down to pool temp, not hot tub temp. I thought maybe they were saving money on heating?? I don't know, but i nearly had a heart attack when i jumped into the frigid pool, which is normally very warm.
The breakfast is decent, except for the sausages.
It was the first snowfall of 2013, so it got quite cold during the night. I turned the heat on to no avail. THE HAD THAT TURNED OFF AS WELL!!. I phoned the front desk at 5am and they then turned our heat on?
I understand if it is off season, but you can't turn down heat for the sake of saving a couple dollars smh.
I will probably book the BW in Canmore next time.
It is too bad, because the location of this hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As someone who hasn't had much of a great experience with Best Western properties. I must say, this was definitely a nice change.

Clean room, friendly staff. The hotel provides free underground parking, although sometimes it can be a bit hard to find a place to park if there's lots of guests staying at that night. Distance from city center is just about right. There is a Shell gas station right across the hotel, so there's no excuse of running out of gas!

Extremely quiet location, especially at night. Expect a good nights sleep here.

Honestly I'd prefer staying here compared to Fairmont Banff Springs. The rooms were too small at the Fairmont and there were way too many people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have stayed at the location multiple times and keep coming back as its always clean and has very friendly staff. I enjoy the morning breakfasts that are included with the room rate. The hotel is just a short walk from downtown Banff and hosts underground parking. The only drawback is that the parking garage can't fit my new truck but there is free parking on the side streets.

Room Tip: The hotel offers preferred rates for auto association (AMA, BCAA, AAA).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As mentioned in the title, we enjoyed the location of the hotel as it is close to the town centre but off the main street. It was extremely quiet. The hotel was clean, the full breakfast was alo very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed two nights here. It was alright, but I've seen better at this price. My personal preference is a harder bed, but these ones were very very soft & deep and so high I had to jump/climb up, and I'm 5'9. This would be very difficult for anyone with mobility issues, as the bed is higher than your butt, so you can't just sit down.
The room was clean, though not fastidiously so. The plug-ins were HORRIBLE. One was busted and unusable (cracked with chunks missing off the face) and the other was so loose that nothing stayed plugged in to it, and it was way far away from a bed making having a plugged in laptop in bed impossible. This was probably the most annoying thing I found with the room.
The bathroom was weirdly narrow -- there's no reason why some of the space in the main room couldn't be given up to make the bathroom wider. The ceilings are low too -- someone who's tall (6 ft.) would find it annoying.
The pool is utterly filthy and the hot tub unusable due to the excessive chlorine. I stood up with the water to my waist in the hot tub and had an asthma attack and had to be helped out because I couldn't breathe. I recovered quickly once removed from the hot tub and just stayed in the pool. There's a filthy stained mold ring all the way around the pool at the water line with mold on wet spots around the edge.
There is no spot to change at the pool itself and the edge of the pool is extremely narrow. We couldn't pass each other easily without having to be extremely careful not to knock the other in to the pool. There are cheap plastic garden chairs around the edges taking up some precious space and you have to sit or move to get past people due to the narrow edging around the pool. The chairs are covered in dirt/mold and are disgusting. I went swimming anyway for the exercise. Even with doing laps (not easy to do - the pool is really short), the water is really cold. There is no place to change so you have to drip water all the way back to your room, which means the hallway is always wet and then the doorway of our hotel room and bathroom were waterlogged and I had to clean it up. It seems like the pool was an afterthought and sort've jammed in at the last minute without any care or attention. Additionally, the pool is right in front of rooms, and the entire 2nd floor can gawk. Most pools at most hotels I use are usually closed off somewhat, but this one was glass all around to the street and hotel rooms. That's more of a personal preference issue but I found the invasion of privacy was not appreciated.
The breakfast was great, though the oatmeal watery (again, personal preference). The breakfast area is very small - seats only 25. This time of year, it's not so bad, but I can imagine in peak times, it would be difficult to get in.
The staff were friendly & helpful and zero complaints there. Good staff make/break a hotel for me, and they helped making the entire hotel (especially that pool, as I love to swim!) much more tolerable.
Overall, the hotel is fine. A tad overpriced, imo, and needs some general housecleaning done. That pool needs to be emptied and cleaned/stripped of all mold, immediately and those plastic cheap wal-mart chairs tossed. Minor things like scraggly fraying towels and tears in pillows and broken face plates on plug-ins are just sheer laziness on the part of the owners. $40 in repairs and new towels to save customers is a small thing!
Would I stay here again? Maybe. But the problem with a place like Banff is that there are SO many other places that a huge hotel chain like this has zero excuses in slacking off.
...and oh god, that POOL!
For a Best Western Plus, it does not deserve the title 'Plus'. I've stayed an an awful lot of BWs over the years (almost exclusively, to a point) and this 'Plus' one is worse than some regular BWs I've stayed at. Not good, and I will be informing BW HQ about this one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the early 200s are right in front of the pool. The pool is open until 11pm and echoes terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Best Western hotels are our choice for hotels when traveling so I was happy to find this one for our visit to Banff. The room, while not very large was comfortable. The underground parking was a HUGE plus. This hotel offers complimentary breakfast with your stay and for the most part, it was pretty good. It's conveniently located and not far from area attractions. If you're looking for an affordable, comfortable hotel, I recommend staying here. Be sure to sign up for BW rewards. The points add up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.