We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay in banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good stay in banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Best Western was a good choice for us. The beds were great and the breakfast was nice, although it would have been good to have some fresh fruit available as well. The room had a balcony which was nice and the scenery was great. Service was good. Location is right off the main street and close to shopping, restaurants and the centre of town. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    132
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
137
138
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent 3 days in Banff with the family. We were in a 2 room suite (2Q in one, 1Q in the other) so lots of room for everyone. Yes it was pricey (summer tourist destination) but it was worth it to not have everyone crawling over each other. You're far enough removed from downtown Banff (it can get a bit noisy as some revellers leave the bars) yet an enjoyable 5 minute walk to get there. Overall cleanliness of the room was good but the carpet was showing its age. Breakfast buffet is standard BW fare, pool area was well maintained. Parking is the biggest drawback. It was great when we were just walking and could leave the car in the parkade. However, there isn't a lot of spaces and sometimes you end up on the street. Good luck finding a spot close to the hotel. Also, no large trucks in the parked - it's really tight for space/height.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

There are lots of very nice hotels and lodges in Banff, and except for its location this is not one of them. An older property. Staff was friendly, room was clean. It was OK, but we'll try something different next time.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is clean and a good choice. It is not right in the city centre but within a 15-minute walking distance. We got free underground parking which was convenient to access.

We got a room on the top (3rd) floor which was spacious and had high ceilings due to being under the roof. The internet worked well.

There is a small breakfast room with a decent selection of food, nothing special but adequate. The service was good, not particularly friendly but just fine.

All in all a good choice for a good price.

Room Tip: Request one on the higher floor (of three)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the BW in Banff, then again for another night on my way back to the States from Jasper. On both occasions, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. On my first stay, the room I had was a king bed at the end of the hall, and it felt more private and spacious. (My second stay was a 2 Queen bed room.) The one negative about the room(s) was that it lacked a work desk. I am a photographer and need to use my laptop to edit photos at night, and the only table in the corner was a little uncomfortable for working. The room had a nice refrigerator to store cold drinks in the evening. The hotel is a little ways from the main downtown area, but certainly walkable in 15-20 min. Parking is under the hotel, and can get very tight in the evening. The pool area was lacking in terms of space. Windows open onto the pool on all sides, so you could have an audience while swimming. There were only a couple of chairs in the pool area, so I'm not sure what happens once those are taken. The pool itself is small, but adequate for a quick dip. The breakfast area definitely needs to be expanded. There were maybe a dozen tables in all, with a waiting line for the tables when I visited. The food was a typical hotel breakfast, but I felt rushed knowing that other people were waiting for my table. Overall, a good choice in Banff, away from the bustle of the main tourist areas, and probably cheaper than many of the other options. If felt it was a good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmarth, North Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very comfortable but NOISY! Skateboarders right outside the room at midnight and the parking garage door never quit all night.
No answer when I tried to call to ask if they could ask the 'boarders to move.
We got upgraded to a beautiful jacuzzi suite, but didn't sleep a wink!
Very clean.
Good breakfast.
Fast internet.
Nice amenities.
Our first night on the way to Alaska. Good start to a long trip!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor away from the parking garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We needed a last minute room with some sort of stuffed chair. This hotel had a king with jacuzzi and a sofa bed. It was all they had to meet our need and was a bit expensive considering we didn't need the jacuzzi ($300 US) -- all hotels in Banff are expensive. But it satisfied our needs. The room could use a little upgrade but was clean and comfortable and quite (first floor). It was July and not necessarily warm as had thundershowers that day -- no heat available in the summer and the room was very cool -- didn't realize there was no heat so ran the fan and made the room cooler before finally asking. The desk did loan us a small electric room heater and that took the chill off. The facility is off the beaten path and that helped to keep it quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.