We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing trip Canada Mar 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Banff
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skiing trip Canada Mar 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We take an annual ski vacation to ski Sunshine Village and Lake Louise in Canada. Often we stay in or around Banff within the national park. We have stayed at many hotels in the town and to be honest the majority are of a similar standard and more than adequate to cater for what we need! We are up early in the morning and take advantage of the inclusive Canadian style breakfast before departing for a full-on day of skiing. We then return to a warm hot tub, swimming pool to rest the aching muscles and then to a very comfortable room which is cleaned daily, supplied with fresh sheets and towels, air conditioned and a massive wall mounted TV. Hit the town for a few light refreshments (or two) which is less than a two minute walk and then back for a quiet and restful sleep.

All good - and what made it even better for us was that we were able to book direct on-line and were offered further discount for our large group. We will uses this place again. completely satisfied!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the rear of the building to avoid sheet noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    125
    51
    27
    13
See reviews for
128
134
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is on the north side of the town, where the downtown starts and progresses toward south. To find it, as you come into the town, keep an eye on the right, it is just behind the Shell Gas station. The rooms are good sized, have micro & fridge with decent balconies with a wall-to-wall sliding door, which provides plenty of natural light inside the room. The location of the swimming pool area is unique, which you can see from the reception area and the 2nd. floor. The smell of chlorine persists as you enter the lobby. The restaurants and shops are accessible within minutes of walking. The view is spectacular from the vicinity of the hotel. The front rooms have better view, but may be a tad noisy. The rooms at the back are quieter with a decent view. Avoid the rooms along either side of the property, it faces residential buildings. The breakfast room is small, and you may have to wait to find your table. Overall, it is good value for the money.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along either side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, towels are in poor shape. Wifi is horrid. Kids could not watch any videos as it was so slow. Definitely is showing wear and tear and the hallways are noisy as the bottom of the door is close to an inch from the floor. Breakfast is okay but the pancakes and waffles were both hard around the edges all 3 mornings so not as fresh as it should be. If you are just eating the eggs & sausage those looked fine. Everything else is standard continental.

Grab the evelvator while you can as it is so very slow. There is only one spare blanket and the windows/patio doors are cold to sleep by.

The biggest reason we stayed there was because of the pool. The first time we went in, my family was swimming around when I noticed something like feces on the side. On closer inspection that's what it was and it was in the pool as well. Pointed it out to the person at the desk. There were people in there less than a half hour later so I hope the pool was properly shocked. In the morning there was someone draining the hot tub but there were people sitting in it the night before - Yuck. Don't know if this hotel can be trusted so we never entered there again.

Upon checking out, no one asked how our stay was. She barely looked at us as she handed the bill over. For the price of it, it is just an average place to stay. Absolutely nothing special and there are much better places for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Siding 29 Lodge and providing your feedback. I truly value your opinions as we use them to improve our service. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.
Your comments have been reviewed in detail, and we will take steps that these problems will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This Best Western is rated as a “Plus” hotel, as it offers the Complimentary Continental Breakfast; though the Kitchen Suite we stayed in, I wouldn’t completely call it “well appointed” as it looked somewhat dated, though functional. Siding 29, is an older Best Western and has been there as long as I could remember, and I am sure has had many renovations and upgrades.

Upon entering the room you walk into the kitchen, and feel immediately the warmth in the heated floor. The kitchen has two bar fridges, a full size dish washer, apt size stove and microwave. It was nice that it also had a kettle, toaster and coffee maker too. The kitchen cabinets looked a little worn and dated and repainted white, definitely not modern or appointed. The kitchen counter was clean and the hotel provided soap for the dishwasher.

There was a glass top round table and four chairs in the kitchen. The suite had a separate queen size bed in its own room with its own flat screen tv, a separate queen size bed was in the living area along with a second flat screen tv, a pull out couch as well. Again somewhat dated if you are into modern style, but clean and comfortable if modern style really isn’t that important.

Now the kitchen had one of those sunshine ceilings that completely lit up when turned on, which was good as we were on the main floor and had to keep our curtains pulled. Though in the back corner behind the main door above the closet there looked to be something dirty possibly mouldy inside the ceiling panel. I don’t know how housekeeping could miss that.

The bathroom was newly renovated with a double sinks, a large counter and space underneath to put your stuff. There was a newer Jacuzzi sized tub which the kids enjoyed. Though even after turning on the heat in the livingroom the bathroom floor was still freezing, even after checking to ensure that the window was closed. I don’t know why hotels spend muti-million dollars renovating there rooms, but leave rusted old heaters (probably the original) in place that don’t work. If this was July, this may not be an issue, but being that it was late February the bathroom tile floor was FREEZING! Note to Management - Heat the bathroom!

The kids enjoyed the beds, but my biggest complaint was not enough blankets for all the beds. Luckily we had brought some of our own blankets in the truck for safety winter driving, so after a day of skiing, I was just too tired to call housekeeping and wait up for a delivery we used our own blankets. The pillows were fine, but the hotel needs to upgrade to some nicer duvets and sheets, there was no “enhanced level of comfort” with one thin hotel blanket tossed on the bed.

The next morning we all got up and enjoyed the continental breakfast, they had sausages, scrambled eggs, waffles, a variety of cereals, pastries along with tea and coffee and apple and orange juice. The breakfast area was very small, but the food was tasty. My husband took the kids swimming to the pool and hot tub which were located indoors across from the front desk. One side of the pool was against the front window, so you could swim and sit in the hot tub and view of all those who walked by on the street which was kind of neat.

The location of the hotel is great, less than one block off the main street and walking distance to downtown and many great shops, restaurants and bars. Directly across the street was a Shell gas station with a small convenience store which sold milk, juice and treats. Great for kids needs.

Aside from the cold bathroom floor and ceiling tile that need to be cleaned in room 114, would I stay there again? Yes, for the size of the room, and the price, I thought it was good value for a family of five. It was nice to have the pay per view movies for the kids, the underground parking was great considering it was snowing a lot outside. We drive a Chevy Avalanche and we just fit inside, but parking a bigger truck was certainly a tight squeeze.

If you have never been to Banff, it’s a nice town to visit, lots to do; but certainly a “tourist trap” and certainly everything is more expensive than what you would usually pay at home. We stayed in a Kitchen Suite and felt for the price that it was good value for the size of the room as it was clean, quiet and functional .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time that you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet room even though the hotel was fully booked. We were on the first floor with balcony doors out to a patio area in the back of the hotel. Breakfast room offered a full breakfast; everything was hot and fresh. Easy walk to the center of town. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We always appreciate to hear feedback from our valued guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.