We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean and Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean and Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We decided to go for a weekend trip to Banff and take both of our young adult kids with us to spend a litlle bit of time with them as in the old times (when they still wanted to come with us on holidays). We booked a night at this hotel using Expedia and were not disappointed. The room /beds were big enough to accomodate all of us. The room inside was renovated and the same with the bathroom. They have an indor pool and a jet tub which we used and actually my kids even played the same as when they were small kids. I agree with another traveller who wrote that the jet tub water was extremelly chlorinated , YES IT IS, I could only spend 5 minutes in it and then my eyes started to water (I spent more than half an hour in the pool after that).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    132
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
137
137
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Best Western Siding 29 Lodge and for the most part it was brilliant. It is in a very good location on the outskirts of town (approx. 10-15 min walk into the centre) due to its location on the outskirts there was very little noise that I heard and conveniently there was a shell garage right out front. The rooms were huge and very clean, there is no restaurant attached but there are many dining options within a 10 min walk. The only negative point about the hotel was that the breakfast area was quite small in comparison to the amount of rooms in the hotel, this meant that unless you were up early and one of the first into breakfast you were unlikely to get a seat in the breakfast area, and there was not really anywhere else to sit other than back in your room or at the front of reception. Other than this small detail the hotel is clean, modern and well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

First impression was a great one. Friendly staff, beautiful room and great location. But waking up with my face, neck, arms, back and legs covered in itchy bed bug bites was scary. Maintenance came right away to check the room but bed bugs hide in more places than just a mattress. Staff were very apologetic and offered to wash all of our belongings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay in our hotel.
We would like to inform you that we are taking all the necessary measures in order to avoid such issues in our establishment.
Again, we apologize and we hope we will have the possibility to prove to you that we are worth your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel, reasonably priced. Good breakfast. But it was hot. The room was warm when we checked in so we turned it down and got is somewhat less hot. The next day we were gone all day and when we returned the temp was turned up to 90. Called front desk and complained. Next day
when we got back temp was turned up to 80. After this I taped the thermostat and that solved the
cleaning staff from touching it however they are doing this to every room when they leave it so the whole hotel is hot like an old folk's home or hospital. I never did get a decent night sleep because of the heat. For this reason I wouldn't stay here again. And that is a shame because the hotel is
great other than this. Underground parking is limited to 5' 9" so be prepared to park on the street if you have a truck. There is 3 spots available on the lot if you are lucky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experience.
Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our maintenance and housekeeping department and steps have been taken to ensure these faults are solved promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed in Hotel rooms all around the world, and you come to expect certain things when paying a higher price for a room.
To start off the lady at reception did not look like she was in a very happy mood and was very of dismissive to us.
The room was clean when we arrived.
Little things like a burnt out light-bulb in the main vanity (which I unscrewed and left for the cleaning staff to change - they left it where it was and never replaced the bulb). The dimmer switch for the main light over the jacuzzi was broken. The cable TV was very snowy. Sugar, tea, and glasses were not replaced after the first evening. The dirty ones were removed, but new ones were not supplied.
Even though the breakfast room was very tiny and crowded, it was nice to have a hot meal in the morning. The internet, (an unsecured network) had sufficient speed and no problems with disconnection.
Temperature in the room could not be controlled by the thermostat. The room was constantly too hot.
Fixing little issues like these could make an average hotel experience a lot better. In the end it is the customer that needs to be satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I have investigated your comments and we will take steps to ensure that these problems you experienced do not happen again. We will take immediate corrective actions.
Again I apologized and hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a quick visit with new to Canada family members from the Philippines. Hotel is in a great location to main sights in town, good value for the family. Nice breakfast to start us off, clean rooms and very good service. My wife and I have been here before, and most likely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed her from December 13th to the 15th. The room was clean and warm. The decor is a little dated but not bad. The bed was very hard and not comfortable. Gives sore back and sides. The tile floor by the hottub and in the bathroom was freezing cole to walk on without socks as we were on the first floor as we got a kingsize bed with hottub room. One of the lights wasn't working and they came right away and replace it. very good service. The check in and out was great and they treated us very well. The location is a little bit of a walk but not bad. It was nice and quiet no noise except for the fan running for the heat it is very noisy and we shut it off for a while to be able to sleep but then it got cold so we turned it back on. The bathrooms was very nice and the food for the full breakfast ws good. All in all it was a good experience for us.Oh they also don't have a restaurant in their hotel but there are lots nearby so no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.