We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Like It Hot...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Some Like It Hot...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel, reasonably priced. Good breakfast. But it was hot. The room was warm when we checked in so we turned it down and got is somewhat less hot. The next day we were gone all day and when we returned the temp was turned up to 90. Called front desk and complained. Next day
when we got back temp was turned up to 80. After this I taped the thermostat and that solved the
cleaning staff from touching it however they are doing this to every room when they leave it so the whole hotel is hot like an old folk's home or hospital. I never did get a decent night sleep because of the heat. For this reason I wouldn't stay here again. And that is a shame because the hotel is
great other than this. Underground parking is limited to 5' 9" so be prepared to park on the street if you have a truck. There is 3 spots available on the lot if you are lucky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experience.
Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our maintenance and housekeeping department and steps have been taken to ensure these faults are solved promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    150
    57
    32
    14
See reviews for
155
160
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed in Hotel rooms all around the world, and you come to expect certain things when paying a higher price for a room.
To start off the lady at reception did not look like she was in a very happy mood and was very of dismissive to us.
The room was clean when we arrived.
Little things like a burnt out light-bulb in the main vanity (which I unscrewed and left for the cleaning staff to change - they left it where it was and never replaced the bulb). The dimmer switch for the main light over the jacuzzi was broken. The cable TV was very snowy. Sugar, tea, and glasses were not replaced after the first evening. The dirty ones were removed, but new ones were not supplied.
Even though the breakfast room was very tiny and crowded, it was nice to have a hot meal in the morning. The internet, (an unsecured network) had sufficient speed and no problems with disconnection.
Temperature in the room could not be controlled by the thermostat. The room was constantly too hot.
Fixing little issues like these could make an average hotel experience a lot better. In the end it is the customer that needs to be satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I have investigated your comments and we will take steps to ensure that these problems you experienced do not happen again. We will take immediate corrective actions.
Again I apologized and hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a quick visit with new to Canada family members from the Philippines. Hotel is in a great location to main sights in town, good value for the family. Nice breakfast to start us off, clean rooms and very good service. My wife and I have been here before, and most likely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed her from December 13th to the 15th. The room was clean and warm. The decor is a little dated but not bad. The bed was very hard and not comfortable. Gives sore back and sides. The tile floor by the hottub and in the bathroom was freezing cole to walk on without socks as we were on the first floor as we got a kingsize bed with hottub room. One of the lights wasn't working and they came right away and replace it. very good service. The check in and out was great and they treated us very well. The location is a little bit of a walk but not bad. It was nice and quiet no noise except for the fan running for the heat it is very noisy and we shut it off for a while to be able to sleep but then it got cold so we turned it back on. The bathrooms was very nice and the food for the full breakfast ws good. All in all it was a good experience for us.Oh they also don't have a restaurant in their hotel but there are lots nearby so no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've stayed here a few times in the past year. Our whole family just loves it,.. great pool and hot tub,.. might as well be at the Hot Springs.. it so good.
Breakfast is very good for a complimentary style breakfast. Eggs, sausage, and all the contenental type stuff. Good coffee too.
Staff is always friendly and helpful. My kids accidently purchased a PPV movie and the staff gladly took it off the bill, when I explained the mistake.
The rooms are updated and clean. Pets allowed in certain rooms, and for only 10 bucks more tbh.
This is the best value in Banff by a long shot. Many great restaurants within walking distance.
Underground parking is convenient and secure.
Great place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights early October and loved it.
We arrived in Banff the first day of snow for the season,how delightful,although Banff is full of us darn tourists, some of whom can be incredibly rude,particularly those who want to have a photo taken of themselves every 10 minutes by mates and they assume everyone else will do their bidding and get out of their road,ignorant twerps!
But enough of that the motel was great,large clean well maintained room,immaculate and we had a top floor room with a balcony and view down to Banff and the mountains,coming from the Australian outback it was great to sit on the balcony looking at mountains and snow.
We had no problemw with the underground car parking,mind you we were in a medium sized car,I thought it was great,lots of room and a secure dry vehicle,impressed.
I was interested to read reviews having a shot at Elsa, the manager and staing how rude and unhelpful she and her staff were.
we had no such problems.Elsa was very helpful and knowledgeable as were all staff we had any dealings with.
Didnt have breakfast there any morning as there is so much to do and see in Banff and surrounding areas,no restaurant but not needed as so many eating establishments in walking distance.
We were very impressed with everything to do with the mote land will definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Canada.

Room Tip: Getv a room with a balcony facing downtown Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.