We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room not worth the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel room not worth the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed in Hotel rooms all around the world, and you come to expect certain things when paying a higher price for a room.
To start off the lady at reception did not look like she was in a very happy mood and was very of dismissive to us.
The room was clean when we arrived.
Little things like a burnt out light-bulb in the main vanity (which I unscrewed and left for the cleaning staff to change - they left it where it was and never replaced the bulb). The dimmer switch for the main light over the jacuzzi was broken. The cable TV was very snowy. Sugar, tea, and glasses were not replaced after the first evening. The dirty ones were removed, but new ones were not supplied.
Even though the breakfast room was very tiny and crowded, it was nice to have a hot meal in the morning. The internet, (an unsecured network) had sufficient speed and no problems with disconnection.
Temperature in the room could not be controlled by the thermostat. The room was constantly too hot.
Fixing little issues like these could make an average hotel experience a lot better. In the end it is the customer that needs to be satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I have investigated your comments and we will take steps to ensure that these problems you experienced do not happen again. We will take immediate corrective actions.
Again I apologized and hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    121
    48
    26
    13
See reviews for
123
126
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a quick visit with new to Canada family members from the Philippines. Hotel is in a great location to main sights in town, good value for the family. Nice breakfast to start us off, clean rooms and very good service. My wife and I have been here before, and most likely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed her from December 13th to the 15th. The room was clean and warm. The decor is a little dated but not bad. The bed was very hard and not comfortable. Gives sore back and sides. The tile floor by the hottub and in the bathroom was freezing cole to walk on without socks as we were on the first floor as we got a kingsize bed with hottub room. One of the lights wasn't working and they came right away and replace it. very good service. The check in and out was great and they treated us very well. The location is a little bit of a walk but not bad. It was nice and quiet no noise except for the fan running for the heat it is very noisy and we shut it off for a while to be able to sleep but then it got cold so we turned it back on. The bathrooms was very nice and the food for the full breakfast ws good. All in all it was a good experience for us.Oh they also don't have a restaurant in their hotel but there are lots nearby so no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've stayed here a few times in the past year. Our whole family just loves it,.. great pool and hot tub,.. might as well be at the Hot Springs.. it so good.
Breakfast is very good for a complimentary style breakfast. Eggs, sausage, and all the contenental type stuff. Good coffee too.
Staff is always friendly and helpful. My kids accidently purchased a PPV movie and the staff gladly took it off the bill, when I explained the mistake.
The rooms are updated and clean. Pets allowed in certain rooms, and for only 10 bucks more tbh.
This is the best value in Banff by a long shot. Many great restaurants within walking distance.
Underground parking is convenient and secure.
Great place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights early October and loved it.
We arrived in Banff the first day of snow for the season,how delightful,although Banff is full of us darn tourists, some of whom can be incredibly rude,particularly those who want to have a photo taken of themselves every 10 minutes by mates and they assume everyone else will do their bidding and get out of their road,ignorant twerps!
But enough of that the motel was great,large clean well maintained room,immaculate and we had a top floor room with a balcony and view down to Banff and the mountains,coming from the Australian outback it was great to sit on the balcony looking at mountains and snow.
We had no problemw with the underground car parking,mind you we were in a medium sized car,I thought it was great,lots of room and a secure dry vehicle,impressed.
I was interested to read reviews having a shot at Elsa, the manager and staing how rude and unhelpful she and her staff were.
we had no such problems.Elsa was very helpful and knowledgeable as were all staff we had any dealings with.
Didnt have breakfast there any morning as there is so much to do and see in Banff and surrounding areas,no restaurant but not needed as so many eating establishments in walking distance.
We were very impressed with everything to do with the mote land will definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Canada.

Room Tip: Getv a room with a balcony facing downtown Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the price of the room, so was a bit suspicious of what we would find. We were pleasantly surprised--nice, large room, friendly, helpful staff, plenty of parking, good breakfast. Still not sure why it was so reasonably priced, but not complaining. Only issue was heating/cooling--no control in room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experienced on our property. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again on your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.