We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Tournament Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    132
    53
    28
    13
See reviews for
137
137
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights early October and loved it.
We arrived in Banff the first day of snow for the season,how delightful,although Banff is full of us darn tourists, some of whom can be incredibly rude,particularly those who want to have a photo taken of themselves every 10 minutes by mates and they assume everyone else will do their bidding and get out of their road,ignorant twerps!
But enough of that the motel was great,large clean well maintained room,immaculate and we had a top floor room with a balcony and view down to Banff and the mountains,coming from the Australian outback it was great to sit on the balcony looking at mountains and snow.
We had no problemw with the underground car parking,mind you we were in a medium sized car,I thought it was great,lots of room and a secure dry vehicle,impressed.
I was interested to read reviews having a shot at Elsa, the manager and staing how rude and unhelpful she and her staff were.
we had no such problems.Elsa was very helpful and knowledgeable as were all staff we had any dealings with.
Didnt have breakfast there any morning as there is so much to do and see in Banff and surrounding areas,no restaurant but not needed as so many eating establishments in walking distance.
We were very impressed with everything to do with the mote land will definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Canada.

Room Tip: Getv a room with a balcony facing downtown Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the price of the room, so was a bit suspicious of what we would find. We were pleasantly surprised--nice, large room, friendly, helpful staff, plenty of parking, good breakfast. Still not sure why it was so reasonably priced, but not complaining. Only issue was heating/cooling--no control in room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experienced on our property. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again on your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were happy to find this place which is walking distance to the main downtown area. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. Having parking on-site was a great asset. Banff is a really pricey place and this hotel was right in the middle of our range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent the weekend in Banff with a couple girlfriends. We went up for the Banff Winterstart Race. We stayed at the Best Western. From the outside, it looked a bit dated, but typical for the area. Inside however was a different story. Beautiful. Professional. Great service. The elevator is a bit slow, and sounds a little creepy, but it worked fine. The rooms were spotless. The beds were so comfortable. The water pressure is excellent! Lots of hot water too. Good quality room amenities. Great TV. Great wireless. The hot breakfast alone is worth the stay. Absolutely fantastic! Our stay at the BW was awesome. I would stay again and would definitely recommend to a friend. Oh, and the price is stellar. Especially in a community where everything is grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a jacuzzi room for our 5th anniversary. First we were put in a room where the floor was being dried by one of those industrial dryers...the carpet was soaking wet. We were then moved to the 'other' suite and the only difference was that they had managed to finish drying and vacuuming the room...though the carpet was still wet in places. Something had flooded and when the carpet deodorizer smell faded, you could smell the mold! On top of that, the jacuzzi tub does not look like the picture from the website, the TV menu functions didn't work (couldn't order movies) the jets on the tub were so noisy we couldn't keep them on for very long and the bathroom door looked like it had been kicked in. Never going there again!

Room Tip: Pick a room far away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Your comments have been reviewed in detail with our staff and steps have been taken to ensure these faults will not happen again. Hope you will still consider us the next time that you are in Banff, I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was well situated so you could leave your car parked and walk into town for restaurants. We especially appreciated the free breakfasts in the morning with hot and cold selections. It really saved time to be able to just have breakfast at the hotel and be ready to start on the day. I also appreciated that they used real silverware, plates, cups, etc. It is so much more earth friendly than all the paper products most places use.

Room Tip: The only "restaurant" was the breakfast room. The hotel staff were very good about recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.