We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves much to be desired!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Leaves much to be desired!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a jacuzzi room for our 5th anniversary. First we were put in a room where the floor was being dried by one of those industrial dryers...the carpet was soaking wet. We were then moved to the 'other' suite and the only difference was that they had managed to finish drying and vacuuming the room...though the carpet was still wet in places. Something had flooded and when the carpet deodorizer smell faded, you could smell the mold! On top of that, the jacuzzi tub does not look like the picture from the website, the TV menu functions didn't work (couldn't order movies) the jets on the tub were so noisy we couldn't keep them on for very long and the bathroom door looked like it had been kicked in. Never going there again!

Room Tip: Pick a room far away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Your comments have been reviewed in detail with our staff and steps have been taken to ensure these faults will not happen again. Hope you will still consider us the next time that you are in Banff, I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    125
    51
    28
    13
See reviews for
128
134
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was well situated so you could leave your car parked and walk into town for restaurants. We especially appreciated the free breakfasts in the morning with hot and cold selections. It really saved time to be able to just have breakfast at the hotel and be ready to start on the day. I also appreciated that they used real silverware, plates, cups, etc. It is so much more earth friendly than all the paper products most places use.

Room Tip: The only "restaurant" was the breakfast room. The hotel staff were very good about recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

siding 29 is a pleasant hotel in a beautiful area of the national park..underground secure
parking is available to guest..walking into the reception you are greeted warmly and all information gladly given..24 hour coffee tea is available...turning around is the swimming pool which is in a strange place,one set of stairs heading up to the next floor but it doesnt look out of place somehow...the room was spotless,very fresh and the beds very comfortable..all you required was available within the room....breakfast according to those with me was delicious,and a nice varity..the hotel was full value for money...across the road is a gas station if you wish to fill up and its a 5 minute walk to the centre..a short journey takes you to the mountain and on the other end of town from the hotel is a mock fort which holds a fine display of native american culture,its worth the $10 to enter..banff is a lovely place,it was $76 for four of us to go into the national park for four days...the hotel is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and that hope you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very surprised by the room we got! It was huge, ground level, and had an awesome circular jacuzzi tub in the room, not in the bathroom! The room was clean, bed was comfortable. A 10 min strole to where all the action is, but we were happy with that. The people next to us did have their room broken into - ground level, so just make sure to lock up your valuables, and keep the slidding glass door locked, which they didn't.

We stayed twice in a week. Once was with the tub in the room, the second stay was a standard room without the tub, and was also very nice. I'd do it again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good location, excellent underground parking, poor cleaning in public areas, awful breakfast room - wish we had stayed elsewhere.
No decaff coffee in room or at reception !
Noise from upstairs plumbing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Even if you didn't stay in one of the suites, I can guarantee that you were still impressed with your room and stay. The location could not be beat...and neither could the scenery! The staff was very nice and friendly. It was affordable, and had a great breakfast AND pool. I hope I can come back here soon! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and ennoyed it. Good bed. Breakfast a little light on but nourishing and sufficient. Just remember if you want a cup of tea with your breakfast you have to go out of the breakfast room into tbe lobby area to make it. (There is not enough room in the breakfast room for the tea making supplies) There is no sign telling you where to get your tea.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.