We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your own decaff !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take your own decaff !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good location, excellent underground parking, poor cleaning in public areas, awful breakfast room - wish we had stayed elsewhere.
No decaff coffee in room or at reception !
Noise from upstairs plumbing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    138
    56
    29
    13
See reviews for
143
142
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Even if you didn't stay in one of the suites, I can guarantee that you were still impressed with your room and stay. The location could not be beat...and neither could the scenery! The staff was very nice and friendly. It was affordable, and had a great breakfast AND pool. I hope I can come back here soon! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and ennoyed it. Good bed. Breakfast a little light on but nourishing and sufficient. Just remember if you want a cup of tea with your breakfast you have to go out of the breakfast room into tbe lobby area to make it. (There is not enough room in the breakfast room for the tea making supplies) There is no sign telling you where to get your tea.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

On holiday, we travel or sightsee all day and only use hotel for sleeping, showering etc. We don't want or need "5 star" experience. For a 3 day stay, we picked this place based on price, TA feedback and expectation for "BW style" accommodation. We were satisfied and would recommend to others.
Night clerk was very helpful, wi fi occasionally slow but not a big deal, breakfast room crowded but typical broad selection of items. Underground parking is tight - but we managed and liked free off street, covered parking option.
It is a couple of blocks from downtown - easy walk and results in quiet neighborhood.
Solid value based on our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reading other reviews, don't expect to have the amenities of a luxury hotel if you reserve at a best western! This place exceeded our expectations. This hotel has underground parking. Yes, it is tight but at least it has parking which is not always the case in banff. My husband drives a 3/4 ton truck and made it fine.

It is walking distance to shops and main street which is a huge advantage considering that parking is limited in Banff.

The hotel was upgraded and clean. The rooms were surprisingly spacious! We had the 2 bedroom suite which has 3 beds. The pool is not large but nice and the free breakfast had hot waffles, sausages and scramble eggs.

Most Best Westerns accept dogs which is great for pet owners. We would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed there last weekend in a 1 room suite. Everything worked as expected. Room was clean. Breakfast was good and it is nice that it is included. Swam in the pool and it is very warm. Are returning to Banff in October and just booked our room here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a very nice, reasonably priced (for Banff) stay at this hotel. The only problem we encountered was a very unreliable and slooooowwww internet connection, most probably due to satellite. Staff did all they could to help, but when you rely on being able to connect at high speed as we do, we'd have had a back-up plan in place. Our third floor room had cathedral ceiling, was recently remodeled. Faced the back side of the building, mercury light from apt complex was annoying but indirectly so. My husband remarked the provided breakfast was better than the one he'd paid $12CAD for in our previous hotel in Jasper. Overall, we definitely recommend. Nice rebrand, Best Western!

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room for higher ceiling heights - seems more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.