We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Was acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Check in procedure was fine, pass card to operate underground parking door was very cantankerous, took about 20 swipes to open door. Saw others struggling with it too.

Room very warm, even with heat turned completely off, pool was adjacent to room , suspect heating system for pool affected room temperature.

Everything was clean and functional except for a constantly dripping tap in bathroom and the fact that the video input jack on the TV refused to work under any circumstances, I suspect hotel doesn't want you watching your own DVD movies you brought from home !

Breakfast ok, wished they had a toaster but oh well.

Pool small but functional.

Only real unanswered issue was noisy guests that the night clerk seemed oblivious to, people talking and prancing around the hallway from 2:30 until 4 in the morning on our last night..

Be prepared for the extra 2% TIF tax, this is a Banff Park issue, not hotel's fault but is annoying as hotel's own website didn't show it to my recollection.

I would stay next time at the Best Westerm Pocaterra Inn in Canmore 22 Km down the road, it is about the same price but with better pool,breakfast, and has gas fireplace in room as well. Also not TIF tax.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    148
    57
    31
    15
See reviews for
152
157
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Room was clean and big. Staff were friendly and helpful. Street is quite and not alot of traffic. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
633 reviews 633 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 299 cities Reviews in 299 cities
468 helpful votes 468 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Good location, can walk downtown and grocery store. Indoor parking, small breakfast, staff did not replace soap/shampoo well, but for Banff it is a good place. Everything is expensive in Banff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

When you make any 2007 hotel reservation in Banff be sure to ask about parking and pedestrian access.

My husband and I stayed at this BW in mid-May, 2007, just before the season rush. Traffic was not bad around our hotel. But in the main shopping area of town, the streets are under major renovation and crews are working day and night on it.

The Banff area is beautiful, the town is fun to visit and we found a couple of great restaurants here! But the train runs all night through the middle of town, so no hotel or B&B in the area can escape the frequent blare of their whistles. Our room was very large and had a nice balcony on the street side and the internet worked well.

The young lady at the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping staff left us a few reminders of the previous guests - a plate of cigarette butts on the balcony and a used washcloth on the shower rod. Yuck. Nothing earth shattering, but it makes you wonder what other cleaning details were left unattended.

The prices are high in Banff and I can't complain about what we paid as walk-in guests. There are certainly nice attributes to recommend this hotel, but I'd check out other places before I stayed here again.

  • Liked — Internet connection was very good
  • Disliked — Housekeeping gaps
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

Checked in and were given a room at the back of the hotel...being from Calgary and having seen the mountains many times we weren't too concerned about not having a view so didn't request a move...I wish we had! Not only is the parking lot of the adjacent apartment building full of old appliances and refuse (maybe they are renovating?) on the Saturday night it seemed to be the post-night club meeting spot and got quite noisy at about 2am. Also, as busy as the cleaning staff seemed to be thru out the day, the end results were disappointing. The first day I reached up to shut the shower curtain only to get a handful of the previous guests used face cloths. It appeared they'd changed the vacuum bag in the middle of our floor and not cleaned up the debris. The sheets were not fresh and in fact had a large stain (that I didn't notice until the 2nd night...gross). The pool was ridiculously hot. The staff are friendly, the location is good and they have great potential, but the hotel seems to need a good scrubbing and perhaps additional training for the cleaning staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on RTW adventure
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

We had not made a booking in Banff b/c we didn't expect to be there for a few more nights (long story). I walked in and asked if they'd match the price of one of their competitors and they happily bettered it. ($95 p/n including tax I think).

We intended to stay one night and stayed 3. The location was nice to walk into the main street or to and catch the bus to the gondala.

The rooms were very clean, warm and the service from the main day person was excellent (the newbie was still in training but did her best)

FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. Bar fridge. The breakfast was okay too.

We thought it such a bargain that some others we knew checked into the Best Western.

The only complaint we had was about the male English drunk hooligans in the next room on night 2. Yelling, screaming, swearing being drunks at 12:30am. The night guy let us sleep in another room for the night, which was very nice of him. The hooligans were drunk, 6 foot highand 3 foot wide and the night guy was a short slight guy, so I believe it was good to avoid the confrontation. The hooligans were gone the next day :)

It is only 3 stories high so I don't know what the complaint (by another reviewer) about room 512 was when there is no such room to my knowledge.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location and low-season price
  • Disliked — I left my haagandaaz icecream on the balcony in the snow and Crows ate it! (Crows with taste :))
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask them the match/beat a competitor price. Don't leave frozen food on the balcony or smart crows will eat it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Me and boyfriend spent 3 nights at the Best Western it was a little over priced for the hotel , but i guess for the area it was to high. Our first 2 nights were comfortable. The first morningwe were in the hallway trying going down the stair on our way out and the lobby attendant who was vacuuming the floors, at this time she was not vacuuming but talking to another housekeeper, she left the cords, and hose allover the floor and stairs which was very unsafe. The same girl the next day when we asked her a question in the elevator ignored us, i thought maybe she didnt speak english but she did. Our second day aswell we were coming out of the elevator in the garage level and when i stepped out of the elevator i sliped and fell they had just washed the floor , but no wet floor signs were posted. Our last night we stayed in 512 ( i think) we were lying in bed and we heard what souded like a tap was on i checked the bathroom and everything was off i listened a little closer and relised it was in the walls through the ventalation system we called the front desk they couldnt move us because they were sold out, said they would make notes for in the morning. We tried to sleep but the noise was getting worse it was running water and the sound of a drain emptying ( gurgling noise) again we called the front desk the clerk came to the the roomand listened told us the air conditioner on the roof was due to be drained and occasionally makes this noise, and again said he would make notes for the morning manager. We ended up getting about 3 hrs of sleep the next morning when checking out we asked what the hotel could do they said we already had a go reat so they would only drop the rate a little bit that the noise wasnt from the a/c but from the whirlpool from the room above that sometimes makes that noise( but it went all night!!!!!), myself being a front desk supervisor at a 5 star hotel that wasnt enough they ended up not charging us for the third night but were very rude about it. beware 512 and the running water.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Water Problem!
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk In generally rates are cheaper!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.