We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe

Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
102, 211 Bear Street | In the Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada (Formerly Wild Flour)
403.760.5074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Here artisan bread is hand-crafted the traditional way with long fermentation periods, careful hand shaping and small batch baking. When the sun is rising behind the mountain tops, our organic loaves are just coming out of the oven, along with freshly baked pastries and other tasty treats. All of our offerings are made with locally-sourced and all-natural ingredients.Whether for breakfast, lunch, or the in-between snack, everyone can find something to fuel their day in Banff at Wild Flour! Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free and raw options are always available.Our Specialty coffees are organic, fair-trade and served in a ceramic mug that invites you to stay in the warm bakery atmosphere. If you are keen to get out and explore the national park, know that our take-out packaging is made from biodegradable, compostable, and recycled materials.In the evening, you may well find a unique community event hosted at Wild Flour. We regularly feature local and visiting musicians, poetry readings, conversation cafes, and even custom calzone nights in the outdoor wood-fired oven.Twitter & Instagram: WildFlourBanff
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've visited Wild Flour a couple of times for bread and pastries during our stay in Banff. The bread remembered us of home, very good. The pastries, we've tried the raspberry coconut square, a raspberry muffin and some Danish pastry, they all tasted delicious.
Once we've tried the breakfast, also delicious. And let's not forget the great (and strong) coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    83
    78
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go here for Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fantastic coffee, real butter croissants, danish to die for and delicious breakfast sandwich. The music and atmosphere complimented the very friendly staff, which is important at 7:30am before that first cup of joe. Quality fresh ingredients for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful chocolate croissant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came here for coffee and pastries in September. The place was pretty busy. The first thing that caught my eye was their amazing breads: different styles of crusty European breads, some with seeded tops, different shapes & sizes. Yum!! We'll be sure to try those next time! This time was for pastries, also a nice variety of choices. I chose a chocolate croissant which was delicious, and could result in an eating passion I shouldn't have started! The coffee was a choice of light, medium or dark coffee. My medium roast turned out to be the Starbuck's style (I'm the Tim Horton's type). Not expensive, nice selection and quality, I will come again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Grrrrreat Breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in Baff for a couple of days, en route from Calgary to Vancouver, and wanted a simple and easy place to get breakfast.. Consulted TA and came up with the Wild Flour, The choice is good, and served quick and hot... coffee choice is good, and refills at a dollar (which seems to go in tips) is fine... I really agree with the other reviewer about the granola... it really is tasty and filling, Good and pleasing artwork on the walls, and the choice of breakfast music is very acceptable... all in all, if I ever find myself back in Banff... this is where I'll be going for my breakfast...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, dirty tables and floors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on 22nd September. Food was ok but sat at a table which was not clean.. I know the policy is to remove your own plates/garbage but our table had napkins, crumbs and other bits left on it.. No one came to clean it or even wipe with a cloth. We had to clean it ourselves before our food arrived.. The floor was also dirty in certain areas.. We also observed an unclaimed bowl of soup which was left on the counter, emptied back into the soup pot.. Good potential but instead of chatting when no customers they could wipe the tables..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.