We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a coffee and muffin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe

Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
102, 211 Bear Street | In the Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada (Formerly Wild Flour)
403.760.5074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Here artisan bread is hand-crafted the traditional way with long fermentation periods, careful hand shaping and small batch baking. When the sun is rising behind the mountain tops, our organic loaves are just coming out of the oven, along with freshly baked pastries and other tasty treats. All of our offerings are made with locally-sourced and all-natural ingredients.Whether for breakfast, lunch, or the in-between snack, everyone can find something to fuel their day in Banff at Wild Flour! Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free and raw options are always available.Our Specialty coffees are organic, fair-trade and served in a ceramic mug that invites you to stay in the warm bakery atmosphere. If you are keen to get out and explore the national park, know that our take-out packaging is made from biodegradable, compostable, and recycled materials.In the evening, you may well find a unique community event hosted at Wild Flour. We regularly feature local and visiting musicians, poetry readings, conversation cafes, and even custom calzone nights in the outdoor wood-fired oven.Twitter & Instagram: WildFlourBanff
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great place for a coffee and muffin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wild Flour is a very local alternative to the chains for a coffee and pastry or muffin for breakfast while in Banff. We were there two or three times in a couple of days. There stuff is fresh and tasty and the coffee is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    83
    77
    28
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We saved this one for our last day and wished we had gone sooner. We went for lunch and had great breakfast sandwiches and cakes. Had to take a couple with us for the road as they were so good

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful Waffle, Great Granola”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This lovely coffee shop / bakery both thrilled and disappointed. The granola with yogurt and berry compote is incredibly good, as is the muesli and trail mix. Baked goods are decadent. However. The flax seed waffle is appalling. It is reheated (weakly) in a toaster. The texture is just unacceptable. There is no excuse for a bakery this good to make a waffle this bad. But do go for the granola, and buy a bag of trail mix for the hike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildFlour_Management, Manager at Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued customer,

We are grateful for your latest review of our little bakery here in Banff and we're sorry you had a poor experience with our waffles (but thrilled you loved our granola). You're not the first customer to mention the temperature issue regarding our waffles, and thanks to all who've taken the time to let us know their thoughts, we've decided to discontinue them altogether! With a shortage of counter space and the inability to use our grill due to potential cross-contamination, the waffles were forced to be heated in a small toasting device (not a proper griddle). Since we cannot create a waffle product up to the calibre of our other items, we've decided that we must stop making them until we can get the right tools to heat them.

We truly appreciate the honesty of our customers and thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Wild Flour management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delicious breads, sandwiches - grilled cheese was great, soups and homemade lemonade ...sweets looked yummy too. Super busy ... find a spot on the patio to enjoy your lunch on a sunny day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

OK bread, ok sandwich, slow service, not friendly, nothing special or particularly healthy. We were disappointed that we had to wait so long and get average food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildFlour_Management, Manager at Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing back from our visitors! We're sorry that your time at our artisan bakery cafe was disappointing and that you didn't find our items up to snuff! We bake our bread in-house and it's always recieved rave reviews, so we're concerned that you didn't enjoy it. Which loaf did you try? Was it the cranberry walnut rye, or the roasted yam bread (those are our specials on Tuesdays)? Many of our customers swear by those loaves, so it's rare to hear a poor review!

As for the sandwiches, we offer a variety of flavours and selections, and we are extremely health-conscious when selecting our ingredients (especially with the number of vegan, and gluten-free sandwich choices we offer). We're uncertain as to why you didn't find one that you found healthy enough, since we do offer such a selection. Further, if you had any dietary concerns we would have been more than happy to alter any of our sandwiches to meet your needs! Next time, just ask us and we'll be extremely happy to accommodate you! We also offer a number of freshly made salads, healthy protein bites and vegetarian snacks.

Thank you again for checking in and we hope that upon your next visit you'll try some of our healthy items and enjoy your time a little more :)

Wild Flour management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.