We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe

Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
102, 211 Bear Street | In the Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada (Formerly Wild Flour)
403.760.5074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Here artisan bread is hand-crafted the traditional way with long fermentation periods, careful hand shaping and small batch baking. When the sun is rising behind the mountain tops, our organic loaves are just coming out of the oven, along with freshly baked pastries and other tasty treats. All of our offerings are made with locally-sourced and all-natural ingredients.Whether for breakfast, lunch, or the in-between snack, everyone can find something to fuel their day in Banff at Wild Flour! Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free and raw options are always available.Our Specialty coffees are organic, fair-trade and served in a ceramic mug that invites you to stay in the warm bakery atmosphere. If you are keen to get out and explore the national park, know that our take-out packaging is made from biodegradable, compostable, and recycled materials.In the evening, you may well find a unique community event hosted at Wild Flour. We regularly feature local and visiting musicians, poetry readings, conversation cafes, and even custom calzone nights in the outdoor wood-fired oven.Twitter & Instagram: WildFlourBanff
Dallas
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Delicious breads, sandwiches - grilled cheese was great, soups and homemade lemonade ...sweets looked yummy too. Super busy ... find a spot on the patio to enjoy your lunch on a sunny day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    85
    30
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

OK bread, ok sandwich, slow service, not friendly, nothing special or particularly healthy. We were disappointed that we had to wait so long and get average food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildFlour_Management, Manager at Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing back from our visitors! We're sorry that your time at our artisan bakery cafe was disappointing and that you didn't find our items up to snuff! We bake our bread in-house and it's always recieved rave reviews, so we're concerned that you didn't enjoy it. Which loaf did you try? Was it the cranberry walnut rye, or the roasted yam bread (those are our specials on Tuesdays)? Many of our customers swear by those loaves, so it's rare to hear a poor review!

As for the sandwiches, we offer a variety of flavours and selections, and we are extremely health-conscious when selecting our ingredients (especially with the number of vegan, and gluten-free sandwich choices we offer). We're uncertain as to why you didn't find one that you found healthy enough, since we do offer such a selection. Further, if you had any dietary concerns we would have been more than happy to alter any of our sandwiches to meet your needs! Next time, just ask us and we'll be extremely happy to accommodate you! We also offer a number of freshly made salads, healthy protein bites and vegetarian snacks.

Thank you again for checking in and we hope that upon your next visit you'll try some of our healthy items and enjoy your time a little more :)

Wild Flour management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Great Find For Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although we only had a couple of light snacks and breakfast (twice) here, the food we had was amongst the best we've tasted. Friendly, casual service in nice surroundings. One of a kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery, excellent wraps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to get a take away lunch... Had a delicious wrap with eggs and vegetable and a wonderful cake. Great selection of both savoury and sweet snacks all very tasty and fresh.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not as nice as it promises to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Been here before about 5 or 6 years ago and remembered it fondly. Classy, organic, free wifi, good coffee. However, on this visit to Banff I went twice and also had a coffee and cake on my visit to Cave and Basin hotsprings where the Wild Flour had a table with coffee and cakes etc. My experiences were not great..first trip to cafe, could not get onto wifi, when I really needed to - the coffee was served in paper cups, despite telling them we were staying. Chocolate cake was great though. Next experience was at the Cave and Basin - oat cookie had foil baked into it - not nice - coffee stewed and out of a thermos container type thing. disappointing. Brownies great though. final experience, breakfast at the cafe. Wifi didn't work - really needed it again. Coffee was great and served in pottery mugs. Great. Breakfast sandwich lovely and filling. Waffles MEGA disappointing. Last day in Canada - had to have waffles right? well don't do it here. The waffles were reheated and only warm not piping hot and crispy/melting, the butter came as two hard little balls that wouldn't melt on the barely warm waffles - took butter inside and asked them to put in microwave - told there was no microwave, which is kind of impressive, but they need to figure out how to serve hot waffles and softish butter. The compote was cold as was the maple syrup, so it was a not very nice experience really. Pricey too. It came to $40 for three of us,...won't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildFlourBanff, Manager at Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your review, we're sorry that your experience with our bakery didn't meet your expectations. We remember the day you visited us at the Cave & Basin and the unfortunate accident of foil being baked into your cookie. At the bakery, we don't actually bake with foil, so this is a very rare and unfortunate incident. We've passed on your review to our bakers and they have made note of it so that this may never happen again.
In an attempt to make up for the unfortunate state of your cookie (which are usually very received!) we offered you complimentary brewed coffee. It seemed that karma wasn't in our favour though and you had some coffee grinds in your cup. We obviously immediately began brewing another batch for you, and offered you a second cup of the freshly-brewed coffee which we hoped was more enjoyable (and it seemed to be!). We're sorry for the hassle, but we hope our customer service and desire to help improve the situation lets you know that we take really value our customers and want them to have as great experience as possible (even when things go slightly awry!)

We are happy you loved our brownies and breakfast sandwich - so do we! They're definitely two of our most popular menu items. We are sorry however that the waffles we're up to temperature that day. Next time if you let us know, we will be happy to toast them again on the skillet and we're sure the butter will melt into them :)

Thank you again for writing a reply, we truly do appreciate it. We hope your travels were safe and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Wild Flour management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;