We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local gem - Best latte EVER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe

Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
102, 211 Bear Street | In the Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada (Formerly Wild Flour)
403.760.5074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Here artisan bread is hand-crafted the traditional way with long fermentation periods, careful hand shaping and small batch baking. When the sun is rising behind the mountain tops, our organic loaves are just coming out of the oven, along with freshly baked pastries and other tasty treats. All of our offerings are made with locally-sourced and all-natural ingredients.Whether for breakfast, lunch, or the in-between snack, everyone can find something to fuel their day in Banff at Wild Flour! Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free and raw options are always available.Our Specialty coffees are organic, fair-trade and served in a ceramic mug that invites you to stay in the warm bakery atmosphere. If you are keen to get out and explore the national park, know that our take-out packaging is made from biodegradable, compostable, and recycled materials.In the evening, you may well find a unique community event hosted at Wild Flour. We regularly feature local and visiting musicians, poetry readings, conversation cafes, and even custom calzone nights in the outdoor wood-fired oven.Twitter & Instagram: WildFlourBanff
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A local gem - Best latte EVER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

They have the best specialty coffees, super raw, vegan, gluten free and other specialty healthy foods. Not to say they don't have meat and fun bakery things - they do and they are great but they have a twist eg mexican chocolate cookies (think chilli chocolate) dark cherry chocolate squares. simple tables and chairs, small space and busy with great bread takeaways.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    90
    83
    30
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful artisan bakery in the heart of Banff. Especially when cold outside with a dusting of snow, it is mountain magical to step into a bakery with all the yeasty, fruity, savoury and sweet aromas. Chocolate zucchini bread awesome as was the bacon, roast red pepper, cheddar danish. The sourdough is delish and chewy. I like that they use Fratello brand coffee, but have not brewed it according to specs (supposed to use more beans, guys). Actually, Banff is disappointing for coffee....the best is probably served in the Banff Springs restaurants. Will visit again for sure though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“fresh food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This coffee shop and bakery is a great place if you are into organic. They serve above average baked goods with average coffees and below average breakfasts. They are also overpriced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great selection of organic meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was our first morning in town, and we were seeking a great cup of coffee. We grabbed a table, and ordered up at the counter. The toasted breakfast sandwich and flaxseed waffles were out of this world, as were the huge mugs of coffee. This place does a lot of grab and go business, but it was nice to linger for a bit in order to get the pulse of Banff walking past the windows. A very good alternative to Starbucks for that caffeine fix.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome coffees, pastries and lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to Wild Flour four times in our three days in Banff. Their lattes are delicious and they have a great selection of freshly made pastries and breads. Also, I highly recommend soup/salad as a healthy but hearty lunch with their home made bread. Staff were all very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.