We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First RV Campground experience in Alberta, Canada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Kontich, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First RV Campground experience in Alberta, Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tunnel Mountain exists of 3 campgrounds, of which Village II Campground provides full hook-ups. It is a huge Parks Canada campground, having 222 RV sites. Currently roads are being paved all around, and parking & hooking up the camper is easy. Sites are close by one another, yet the site is quiet. Except for the passing trains... a first time experience for us. Accomodation buildings are basic, yet provide the services one may require. September is not high season, so the campground was not over-populated. For Banff, this surely is a recommendation, when RV-ing through the Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

campers are lined up along roads. Fully hooked places with 30 amp. Shower available in sanitary units. Entertainment and services to be foun at Village I campground.
See the sun rise on a bright morning. The views are great.
Bus connecting the campground (village I) frequently.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a tenting site for two nights in the summer of 2013. The campsites were wonderful, spacious, private and mostly vacant. The first night we found out why they were mostly vacant! Trains go by all night long, sounding their horns over and over, so we hardly got any sleep. The basic purpose of a campsite is to be able to sleep! We were so exhausted the second night that we got some sleep, but I would never stay here again by choice. If you sleep in a trailer with air conditioning it would probably be okay, but tents don't keep out any noise, so I would not recommend tenting in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you love the outdoors this is a great place to camp or RV. We were site B70 so the views are fantastic from this area. We were by the road but still found it quiet. You do park on pavement which is fine by us. The showers were not clean up to my standards but it sounds like they were fine for some people. The price is a bit high for what you get at the campground. The only thing I missed was WIFI and they could install this in the campground if they wanted. This is a parks campground and the service is not what it used to be. There are tons of biking and hiking trails around which are fantastic. Town is close and there is a convenient store a minute away if you don't want to go into town. We did have a great time and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The site was fully booked when we stayed in August and due to the way the sites are laid out, we found our space a little tight even though our RV was not particularly big. The train running past can be noisy at first but we were so tired from hiking on our second day that we slept through it. The views are beautiful and there is a lovely walk just outside the campground. The shower and toilet facilities were always clean and tidy. The shuttle bus service is a real bonus for getting into town and back and runs every 40 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We tent camped here for one night. We had site d4. It was a walk-in site but parking was only 10m away so really easy. The site was full but it didn't feel busy or cramped in the camping area. We booked online and it was easy to do and easy to select a pitch. Not much tree cover on this pitch but others looked to have. The showers and toilet blocks were fine. An easy drive into the town, just a couple of miles. We did hear the trains but only a couple of times and seemed no worse than anywhere else in banff. It is quite loud though!

Room Tip: You can look online at the layout of pitches and see photos of them. It's on the national park w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found this place okay for a quick overnight, however not our idea of a campground. Motorhomes and trailers were lined up along side of the road, one right after another. There is absolutely no privacy here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground to your Saves list
;