We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Save Saved
You added Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground to your Saves list
300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 8km from Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this campground this past weekend. We were glad that we had a site on the outskirts of the particular section we were in as the other sites in the interior were literally on top of each other. With so many loud and obnoxious campers that weekend I don't know how anyone that needed sleep in those other sites got any. The bathrooms were disgusting. The shower stalls were full of hair clumps and discarded hair elastics and bars of soap. These bars of soap remained in the same corner of the shower stall the entire weekend so it's pretty clear that the showers aren't cleaned regularly or very well. There was toilet paper strewn about the stall floors which remained there the whole weekend too. I think a bathroom "cleaning" consisted of replacing the toilet paper. I'm certain I will not be going back there again.

Room Tip: If you want a little more privacy and quiet, request a site on the outer loop of the sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went to this campground last year and had a negative experience. Thought we would give it another chance.
We have done a lot of tenting in our camping experiences, back woods and suburbia camping and have found that this campground is the WORST for accomodating tenters. I am giving it a rank of 2 as it is so close to the banff town site and has full amenities. However, our experience here was terrible two years in a row.
-made reservations over the phone for 6 nights as tenters to camp with family using a 5th wheel. Arrived and was told we shouldn't even be allowed to camp in the same "loop" as them as we have a tent and there are trailers that might want that spot for the weekend. FYI: We paid the same amount to camp there as the trailers do. They claimed to make an exception(even though we seen 3 other tents right next door to sister's 5th wheel) and gave us a site. The site we were given was soo small we couldn't park the car, put up our 6 man tent, and our screen tent without giving up the "luxury" of cooking over the fire. There were no trees to put up tarps, and we jammed between the bathroom, streetlight and garbage cans. We tried to explain to the staff that our site was not what was best suited for us but they were not willing to accomodate us at all. We spent that night down the street in my sister's 5th wheel and both us and them pulled out the next day.
One more thing. Last year they cleaned the bathrooms at 10:30 when everyone was trying to leave. You can't go in while they are getting cleaned. This year the bathrooms were cleaned at 8am when EVERYONE was trying to get their days started. I seen a lot of unhappy people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was hesitant to stay at this mega campground near busy Banff, but I was completely wrong. There are about 800 sites here, but you won't even know it. The grounds are heavily forested and surprisingly quiet. And really, you won't be hanging out much around camp anyway with all of the awesome hiking around. Super clean and hot showers are also nice. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We live in Calgary, so this is our favorite weekend getaway in spirng/summer. Tunnel Mountain Village 1 is a huge campground. Of course, our favorite sites are always in the A and B section because you have a wonderful view of Mount Rundle. This campground has all services, and what is best, you only pay a small fee for Fire permit and you get all the wood that you want. Banff townsite is really close and accesible. But it also has that wilderness feel that i love. You can see wildlife and enjoy some quiet time, unless you get a really noisy neighbor; unfortunately with this noisy visitors, there is not much you can do about.

That would be my only minus. But because it is such a popular campground a lot of young/teenagers come a get crazy. In my 4 years camping (at least 10 times per year), ive only had 2 bad experiences with noisy neighbors, this happened 2 nights in a row (2 different groups) in the may long weekend last year (2011). There was no park ranger at night shift, so these kids came back from town around 2 am and continued their party there, drinking (when there was a alcohol ban in place). The first night wasnt bad with this group and the next morning the Park Rangers were there around 7 am to kick them out. The second night, another group came by, even louder and crazier. They had their fire going all night long and kept their music really loud until early morning. Again, the park rangers came by around 8 and kicked them out, but of course it was a night from hell. Our mistake was not having the Park rangers phone at hand, which now i dont forget, so as soon as we hear someone having a party/being loud (during quiet hours) we know we can call them and they will come (hopefuly). Ive heard people complain about this, and i would really hope Canada Parks get stricter with people like this.

Anyway, i highly recommend this campground, this is the perfect place to stay if you want to drive around the park/ go hiking / or just sit in front of the fire and read.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

Camped here Sept long weekend with my husband, sister, and brother in law. Bathrooms were relatively clean, free showers were a bonus, site was roomy and clean. During the long weekend, there was a alcohol ban which was fine b/c partiers stayed away! At night, it was quieter than some campsites I've previously been to (perhaps b/c alcohol ban?). Staff is really friendly! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

While the staff at TM I is very friendly and the campground itslef is clean, the setup is terrible as you are mere feet away from your neighbor on four sides. You can become subject to noisy partyers and music blaring from next door (as we were). If you want a nice quiet family camping getaway, go North to Jaspers Whistlers Campground, not HERE

Room Tip: if you can reserve, book an outside edge campsite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 8km from Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.