We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough showers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground
Save
You added Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground to your Saves list
300 Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Near Phila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not enough showers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

There are not a lot of places to RV in Banff, so one better make reservations the first day they are open. We arrived a year that they shut down 2/3rds of the campground for upgrading, although I cannot figure out what they were doing. There are only a few toilets / showers for the area. Ours had 3 toilets and just 1 shower for about 40 RV's so there was frequently a line to use the facilities. We found this to be true of most of Canada's national / provincial parks.
The location is what draws people and it is fabulous. It is not too far from downtown Banff, but it is impossible to walk.
It could be much better, but there are no alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are pulling a 38 foot 5th wheel so look for parks with easy access and pull thrus. This park has those and so much more. The view from our space was so incredible that we almost did not want to leave even for a few hours to play tourist. The restroom/shower facilities were plentiful and clean. The staff friendly and welcoming. We were there before the high season so can't speak to what it is like when fully occupied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter in love joined us here. She arrived ad midnight by fly to Calgary, She was tired (had travelled alone with a baby) and it was dark when she arrived,, but as she said it all was forgotten when se saw this beatiful place.

I did not se if there was a playgound but on the other we don't travel so many miles to see a playground! However I must add that we were 13 persons and the children played with each other.

Here we saw the first deers on our tour (elks I think)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Tunnel mountain is a pull-through style RV campground with full hook-ups. It has gone through utility upgrades over the past two years, so the sites have been redeveloped. This has meant that the sites are primarily gravel. Sites are large and can accommodate very long RV's. No campfires are allowed in this campground. No playgrounds for children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Tunnel Mountain rises above the stylish town of Banff. On it are three campgrounds, one for tents, one with partial hookups and the Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground with full hookups including sewer for RV's. Big pulloffs from central roads in the forest with room for big rigs and towed vehicles that don't need to be unhitched. Rate is $38.20 per night and should be reserved ahead at Parks Canada Campground Reservation System during the busy summer season. There is a $10.80 non refundable reservation fee. Bus system available at entrance that will take you all over town of Banff. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here for two nights, close to Tunnel Mountain Road. This provided a mostly unobstructed view of the mountains south of Banff and the Bow River Valley. The only oddity of this campground was the shower in bathrooms: Just one shower head each in the men's and women's, and no hooks to hang anything.

Room Tip: Stay in Loop A for better views of Mount Rundle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I had booked Tunnel Mountain 1 campground for our tenting trip to Banff. We had big luggage and no car, arriving into town by bus. When we took the Banff roam bus up to Tunnel Mountain, we discouvered that Tunnel Mountain 1 is actually 2km from the bus stop, something which the website hadn't really made clear. Fortunately, the very helpful staff informed us that there was a walk-in site there for tenting, so we accepted this and stayed at the tenting section of the trailer court, which we did not even know existed. We had a campfire and picnic table and, most importantly, the site was beautiful. The RV area looked like a car park, but the tenting area was in a beautiful forest overlooking Rundle Mountain. It was nice and quiet and the washrooms were clean and located nearby. The bus was just a 1 minute walk from our tent and was a great service all around Banff. I would definitely recommend this place to tenters, though I'm not sure if you can prebook on the website. Parks Canada definitely needs to update their site to let people know about this great walk-in spot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 321
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.