We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers only should book here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's B&B

Save Saved
You added Heidi's B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Heidi's B&B
214 Otter Street | PO Box 617, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smokers only should book here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great house, wonderful people - and cigarette smoke wafting through my room all night. The only vent was from the first floor, so it's pretty clear it was coming from the owners. The odour was so bad, it woke me up at 3AM. If you're a smoker, book it, and then just lie in bed and breathe.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We loved our stay here! A very nice suite, quaint but lovely. Lothar, our host, was gracious in every way looking after our every need. Very nice breakfast provided every day. Our son and his family were camping at Tunnel Mountain so we got to sit around a campfire with them and our grandkids. When there was a problem in the campground we even had the 3 grandkids over for a morning and it was great. We highly recommend this B & B we really enjoyed it. But if you are looking for modern comforts perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owner
Living room, bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom
delicious breakfast.
Jan & Yvonne

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Good room, good breakfast. Shared badrooms. Friendly host.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have been there now three times, but we will not be coming back, sadly. The suite is in need of serious renovations. Also, because owners smoke downstairs, the smell penetrates the whole house, we found it very disturbing. We liked the view, the fact that it is not a basement, as most budget B&Bs are, and the very good price, but we just did not feel that the place was clean enough. We occupied both rooms, so did not have to share bathroom. The owners are nice, but older, and probably do not have the energy to take good care of it anymore.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

I cant tell how much I loved this place. The home was very old and may not be very comfy for a lot of people. There are only 2 rooms but the owners take very good care of you and the place. We stayed 2 nights and we had to share the bathroom. Since we were mostly outdoors we didnt care about it. I liked their breakfast and also the beautiful view from the window. There was toaster, microwave, fridge, tv , vcr , movies everything in the room itself .
The bed was queen size but since I had a infant son with us I slept in a pullout couch. I would say it was very good value for our money considering the prices in Banff. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heidi's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's B&B

Address: 214 Otter Street | PO Box 617, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heidi's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.