We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Hours of Scenery Too Pretty To Describe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Guiding & Outfitting

Warner Guiding & Outfitting
132 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada
(403) 762-2832
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Activities in Banff
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Five Hours of Scenery Too Pretty To Describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I took a five hour, afternoon, trail ride with Warner. Our delightful guide, Gary, kept us safe (his first job, in my opinion) and was a wonderful tour guide besides. His knowledge of the area and his extroverted personality added unexpected delights to a much-anticipated activity.

We left the stables shortly after 1:00 on a balmy, late-summer afternoon and made our way up Sulphur Mountain, under the Banff Gondola, and down Sulphur Mountain to the Spray River before taking our midway break. The scenery was breathtaking and my sure-footed steed, Walker, traversed the steep and rocky trails without a misstep. After fording Spray River, we meandered along Rundle Mountain, taking in more gorgeous scenery than can be absorbed in one afternoon. The fairytale rooftop of Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel played hide and seek with us as we made our way past the lush golf course and to another river crossing just below Bow Falls.

Before long, we were passing under Banff Avenue and heading back to the stables - the end of a marvelous afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DIDSBURY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Event to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My aunt came to visit us here from the UK for her first time. We had been on a covered wagon ride before with Warner so kind of new what to expect. This time 4 of us booked a 1 hour trek. There were only 11 in our group which made a huge difference to the enjoyment of the experience. The group before us had 30 people I believe!! Their was a little hiccup when we checked in as we had actually booked through Banff Tours. The girl at the check-in box was very apologetic and was quick to rectify the problem. The other guys and gals around were pretty friendly and made us feel welcome. My son, aged 9, was a little unsure on the first horse and almost decided not to ride. The staff could see this and immediately offered another horse. He then felt confident to ride. My only comment would be that I'm surprised we didn't need to wear helmets. It was an experience that my aunt and I will cherish for a long time. The scenery was beautiful :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just a trail ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed the 2 hour long trail ride. I was disappointed that the guides did not speak with us at all except for yelling a few instructions that we could not hear.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“WAGON RIDE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked the trip the day before from their office in town and decided to do the evening wagon ride and steak barbecue cook up. When we arrived they were well organised as they had about 40 people booked in for the horse ride to the cook up. There were about 8 of us in the wagon with two of their staff. Two horses up front Blaze and Doc and off we went for a lovely ride to one of their camps. Took about an hour to get their along a very pleasant track part of which followed the river. The two horses were well behaved and well handled by the staff members. When we got to the camp it was well set up and the cook was there ready to start cooking . There were washrooms there and insect spray if you needed it, It is a good idea to have a spray as the mossies can be bad in the bush . All the horse riders arrived shortly after and if you wished you could partake in HORSESHOE THROWING OR LASSOEING . The meal was great, the cook knew what he was doing and cooked the steaks to perfection however you wanted them done . Potatoes in their jackets with cream, lovely salads and their own recipe baked beans were something to write home about , congratulations to the cook . Once all the guest were eating the staff sat down with us and ate too which was nice as one could find out a little about them and the company. The majority of the crew are girls and it is obvious that all of the staff love their job and the horses. Great CHOCOLATE COOKIES for sweets. Another pleasant ride back and we were lucky to have a nice Elk running beside us for awhile. All up it was about 3 plus hours of enjoyment and feeling like a pioneer of old travelling by wagon as the early folks did. Well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle nsw
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“nose to tail riding with NO DEVIATION”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we went on the evening BBQ ride and were somewhat disappointed and concerned. There was nowhere to change other than portaloos and no storage. There was no input into the horse selection, the staff did not ask about experience or concerns to match horses and we noted the smallest child was given the biggest horse! not surprisingly, one teen girl was thrown when we were in the very crowded coral. the trail itself was lovely however the control freak that continually yelled to stay in line and move up even when your horse was a mere metre or so away from the one in front was quite ridiculous. I had a troubled knee that after 2 hours riding became painful and was more comfortable out of the stirrup. this was not allowed!!
the food was very good though and several of the girls were very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner Guiding & Outfitting also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Warner Guiding & Outfitting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Guiding & Outfitting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.