We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small clean room with an awful bed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow Motel

Arrow Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrow Motel
Save Saved
You added Arrow Motel to your Saves list
337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small clean room with an awful bed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon and this was one of te last places with vacancy. The room we had was small. A queen bed, some sort of desk with the tv and a bathroom. For our stay that was all we needed but the bed we had in our room was well over it's exporation date.
If the bed had been any better I would have given it a higher score.
Room was clean and the staff very helpful.

If you need a bed and a bathroom this is a cheap place to stay. Let's hope your bed is better then ours was ;) (room 501)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was a great find late one evening we when arrived in Banff a day too early. It doesn't look much from the outside or even in the corridors, but the rooms are clean and comfortable and its located right in the centre of Banff. For $79 we were chuffed to bits. We had to check in via the reception next door and the guy on reception (australian chap) was really helpful and friendly. Well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

The Arrow Motel is on the same property as it's sister hotels the Ptarmigan Inn and Driftwood Inn. My husband and I go to the Rockies fairly often and had stayed at the Driftwood before. We were doing a
quick weekend city break, one night in Banff and one night in jasper, so we decided to try the cheaper Arrow Motel.

It was perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was on the small side, with a double bed and a shelving unit with a TV, as well as a coffee machine. I really liked that the bed was the same type they have in the Driftwood and Ptarmigan, something they call a 'mountain luxury bed'. It was nice and soft, just the way I like my beds. Very comfortable for me. The bathroom was alright, your average three piece with toiler, sink and shower only. It was a bit hilarious how low the shower head was, though. I'm only 5'6" and it wasn't even above my head. My husband is almost 6' and he had to duck his head under when he wanted to wash his hair. It didn't bother us, though.

All three of these properties are in a great location on Banff Ave, within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants - no need to take your car. There is free parking at the hotel. I believe you can also ask for a free ROAM bus pass, however we didn't require one. Guests at the Arrow have access to the Ptarmigan's health and spa facilities, and room service through the onsite restaurant. If you need wireless internet, there is free access in the Ptarmigan lobby (ask for the password).

Banff is a gorgeous spot that I will always return to over and over again. The true beauty is out in the countryside, in the mountains, water and wildlife, not in the hotel rooms. The Arrow is the cheapest room I have ever found in Banff and I will stay there from now on. We paid $129 for a Friday night in peak season. We were originally also going to stay on the Thursday night, and it was $109 for that night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Hotel staff was helpful and friendly, room was small but clean and tidy, price is very right, however the walls are paper-thin... We could exactly hear what the people in the other rooms were saying and doing! We couldn't sleep the whole night. We had booked for 3 nights but we already checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

This motel is run by the Ptarmigan Inn. Rooms are quite big and tidy. Excellent location. Supermarket, shops and restaurants are just around the corner. Its worth for a stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow Motel

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 hotels in Banff
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel is perfect for the price conscious traveler looking for private accommodation. The hotel is located next to the Banff Ptarmigan Inn on Banff Avenue just steps from downtown Banff. Guests of The Arrow Motel have complimentary access to the health facilities and spa of the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, and room service provided by The Meatball Restaurant. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.