We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Lake Lodge
Save
You added Shadow Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Box 2606, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a magical, restful, and exciting vacation spot. The hike in was easy, but didn't have the amazing views that are closer to the lodge. The lodge is in a valley with a lovely views. The real reason to pay the big bucks is for the snug and romantic cabins with backcountry hiking. I would recommend at least two nights in this relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent two nights at Shadow Lake Lodge. We rented bicycles in Banff and rode part way to the lodge. There is a bike rack to leave your bike (and no, porcupines did not eat our tires). I found the trail to be steeper and rougher to what I am accustomed to riding (rail trails in West Virginia) but the ride down was much faster than the nine mile walk would have taken. The trail to the lodge is unremarkable and was buggy at the bottom. The lodge is somewhat remote, but that puts you close to superb hiking. Alpine meadows, breathtaking vistas, and no other people. I recommend staying at least two nights at the lodge so you can do at least one all day hike from the lodge. The other guests were very friendly- many were repeat visitors. Upon arrival we had tea which included cheese, fruit, veggies, cookies, juice, etc. Dinner was salmon one night and beef (prime rib or filet) the other. Both were very good. Breakfasts were hearty. They put out food to pack a lunch which included lunch meat, granola, cookies, fruit. Bathrooms were "outhouses" but with tiled floors, hot and cold water and were very clean. Showers were hot. This is a unique place and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Shadow Lake Lodge in March 2013. We snowshoed in the 14 km while I think everyone else staying that weekend were skiiers.

We were in the Whistling cabin. It was great, nice and private and large size. Bed and bedding was very nice.

It was a bit odd not having a bathroom in our cabin but it didn't bother us. The non-flush toilets were okay- not smelly at all. The hot showers were really nice and felt like a real luxury. The wood-fired sauna was nice and HOT- really loosened up the muscles after the hike in.

Food was amazing!!! Was all good but my favorite was afternoon tea. Lots of cheeses, crackers, dips, veggies, cookies, squares, etc.

We did a hike up to Gibbon Pass. It was a clear day and we had a gorgeous view of Mount Assiniboine which was amazing.

The wine was $42 per bottle, which honestly I didn't find bad at all- since I was just glad I didn't have to carry it in.

We had a really nice time and I'm sure we'll go back sometime to see it in summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Shadow Lake Lodge is a lodge with cabins in the backcountry of Banff National Park. The lodge is only accessible by hiking (or in the winter cross country skiing). There are hiking possibilities (day hikes) around the lodge, so more than one nights stay is nice.
The lodge has cabins with different kind of beds. The cabine are propane heated, has solar powered lighting and a wash basin. The outhouse is located with a short walk from the cabins and even has a central shower.
The cabins are nice. There is a cabin reserved for the restaurant and a cabin with a nice fireplace in the relax cabin. The meals are included and are good. If you like to have alcohol with your meal, it is possible to buy, however it is expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary at Shadow Lake Lodge early in September, 2012. We have a marvelous time! Our log cabin was beautiful and cozy. We had a view of mountains with meadows in the foreground. The lake itself was a short walk and as picturesque as you can get. The weather was not cooperative, and we got weathered out on our hike to Ball Pass when a thunderstorm hit just as we were about to break out into open, exposed rock. It hailed and then snowed heavily for most of the hike back to the lodge. However, the daily tea buffet awaited us on return to the lodge. There are too many goodies to chose from! You have to be careful not to eat too much because dinner is generous and yummy. The only downside: there is one shared shower for females and one for males. If the place is full, you are likely going to have to wait. The hike in/out is somewhat boring but the destination is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Shadow Lake lodge really is as wonderful as other reviewers say. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the food is superb (especially 'afternoon tea', which is a meal in itself). The scenery and walks are beautiful, especially in July / Aug when the flower meadows are a blaze of colour. We hiked in from Sunshine Meadows, included a detour to Rock Isle Lake, then over Healy Pass and through Pharoah Creek. Apart from Pharoah Creek which was sheltered by trees, this was a very scenic and enjoyable route, with amazing views. It took 7.5 hours with lots of photo stops etc. On the way out, we chose an even more scenic route of Whistling Pass, Healy Pass and Healy Creek. This was steeper and took 8 hours.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great 3 days and 2 nights at the Shadow Lake Lodge. Great food, comfortable cabins. Hiked up Gibbon pass and had amazing views. Wouldn't recommend Twin Lake trail. At the end of a long day of hiking there is "afternoon tea". A delightful delicious buffet of cheese, crackers, hor deurves, cookies and cakes.
It was a great way to experience the back country of Banff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Lake Lodge

Address: Box 2606, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the high alpine meadows of Banff National Park, Brewster's Shadow Lake Lodge is a remote back country lodge with private cabins, accessible only by hiking, cross country skiing or snowshoeing. Included in the rate are three mountain gourmet meals as well as afternoon tea served to you daily in our dining lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Lake Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.