We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
UK
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We just returned from our ten day honeymoon in Banff and spent all ten nights at the Buffallo Mountain Lodge (Premier room). We enjoyed every minute of staying in this hotel. The room itself was lovely, furnished in a modern, lodge fashion, with a log fire and balcony - the balcony looked onto a nearby wood where we saw many elk and then the mountains beyond. There was a huge bathroom with shower and roll top bath. Everything was cleaned daily and toiletries restocked when low, so it was always a delight to come back to after a day skiing.

There is also an outdoor hot tub which we used one evening and is great fun and also a sauna and gym but we didn't use these facilities. The staff are friendly and obliging, even when you accidentally set off the smoke alarm or lock yourself out. They are also an extensive source of knowledge on local attractions and amenities.

There are two food options within the lodge. The main restaurant offers food all day and both the breakfast and dinners we had there were really good, although somewhat expensive. I would say that the evening menu is contemporary and extremely good quality, with a modern take on traditional Canadian cuisine. They use local ingredients such as salmon, wine and caribou.

The second is a small separate restaurant called Cilantros and this was our favourite. They have a small menu of incredibly good Italian dishes and are much cheaper than the main lodge. There are only c. 12 tables which are set around the open kitchen and wood burning pizza oven so the ambience is fantastic.

Most of our evenings were spent in Banff however where there are some exceptional restaurants. At the high end The Maple Leaf is great (similar style of food to the lodge) and customer service is fantastic. In the middle, the Salt Lik is good and offers great food in a modern environment with great atmosphere. Melissas offers good quality food at a very reasonable price.

Some points to bear in mind:

- Buffalo Mountain Lodge is set outside of the town, about a 3 minute bus ride for $2 or a 15 minute walk. It was below minus thirty for most of the time we were there so we took the bus which was always on time. The walk was pleasant when we did brave the elements one day however.
- The walls were very thin, so you can hear what is happening in adjacent rooms. To be honest, this isn't the sort of hotel where you get loud, disruptive guests and hence we didn't find it a problem, but we became familiar with the bedroom habits of the couple next door.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    213
    94
    45
    26
See reviews for
116
350
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I give this property my highest recommendation. We enjoyed Buffalo Mountain Lodge on the first night of our honeymoon. It was the perfect. The bathroom was amazing it had a separate shower and claw footed soaking tub it had a gorgeous granite floor with dimmer switch lighting. The bath & body products were great too. The fireplace was inviting. We had a second floor room with vaulted ceilings. In the morning the light came through a small square window it was charming. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet. The coffee was memorable. It was hot and yummy. We were glad that they also had a business center so we could quickly check our emails. They had an inviting hot tub. We saw two deer on property and I love nature so this made my stay even more wonderful. The views are breathtaking. I only wish that we were able to spend more time there. It was relaxing.

  • Liked — The decor was stylish, housekeeping was outstanding and the food was spectacular!
  • Disliked — it was all great!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We decided we'd go to Banff for a getaway and stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Our room was really nice! Definitely not your average hotel room. We absolutely loved sitting by the fireplace in our room while we watched it snow outside. The room was a really good size with 2 double beds, chairs by the fireplace and a balcony (we were in an upper room).
We didn't eat at the hotel but did enjoy a few drinks in the lounge. The bartender was great, if there was something specific you wanted that they didn't have on their menu, he would make it for you. We had a look through the menu and it looked very good but quite expensive, but in all honesty what isn't expensive in Banff?
The hotel is located outside of the main Banff townsite but it wasn't too bad to walk to town. It takes about 15-20 minutes.
There is a small corner store and liqour store next to the hotel that has some really nice snacks to choose from.
We didn't get a chance to use the hot tub but it looked really nice!

The only thing we didn't particularly enjoy was the beds. They were really quite hard. Everything else was great! I definitely think we'll be coming back again!

  • Liked — We loved the fireplace in our room and the location of the lodge
  • Disliked — The beds were quite hard.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for 4 nights. Reading other reviews I feel that the opinions are a bit harsh and that you get what you pay for and we also found booking through an agent is also not a good thing.

We started in a lodge room, with balcony looking over trees, a slight mountain view and a view of mountain tunnel road.

On arrival we received a plate of cookies in our room which tasted great. The room was clean, had comfortable bed and free internet.

The accommodation has two eateries, the main dining area where you check in (which we didn't get a chance to try) and the Cilantro (a more casual dining) which we ate at on the first night and was delicious.

Our first night was not very pleasant due to a maintanence issue, it was sort of fixed but we found some staff where not very accommodating. We upgraded to a Caribu Suite for the other three nights which was a much nicer room, had a fantastic view of the mountains but is a bit more expensive.

Neither of the rooms we stayed in had a fridge and the accommodation was not really walking distance to the centre of the town for evening shoes. It was summer when we stayed so I imagine winter would be difficult to walk to town.

Most of the staff were friendly (as you do get a lot of itinerate workers in the rocky mountains), we had no problems checking in or out and after changing rooms had a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — Open fire even though we didnt get to use it being the summer season
  • Disliked — Location, was a bit out of town if you didnt have a car
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it.

The room was well kept, very comfortable and just what you would imagine for a mountain lodge with a lovely fireplace and a balcony looking into the woods. While not bright we thought that the light conditions added to the room making it cosy.

While we did hear noise from the room next door, alarm clock etc, we were lucky that they were generally quiet.

The staff were friendly and seemed to care about our stay. Nicely out of town to feel like you are in the countryside while the town is only a few minutes away.

We wished we could have stayed here for longer, a wonderful place to get away from it all.

  • Liked — Fireplace and room lighting.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Buffalo Mountain is a treasure. Just what you need when you're visting the snowy rockies! All the rooms have their own log fires and we were fortunate enough to have a view of the forest area from our back door (ideal for Coyote spotting!). Comfortable, cosy and equipped with everything you need.

The main reception area is clean and well kept and staff are friendly enough. We sampled a shared plate from the menu in the restaurant, which was nice enough. My only criticism was the choice of wine available at the bar, they have four whites available by the glass and none of them were particularly pleasant - this however is me being extremely picky about what was a lovely and charming place to stay. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Banff.

  • Liked — The cabin style rooms and the log fires - so cosy!
  • Disliked — There is nothing about the accommodation i didn't like......can't fault it!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I just stayed here for a couple of nights on a tour of W Canada.

Really liked the place. A bit more in touch with the surroundings than a modern hotel room. Cozy rooms with log fires set up for you each day

No good if you want to be right in town as it's on the outskirts, but if you're there for a hard day walking the trails and seeing the sights, then it's a nice comfortable place to come back to afterwards for a brandy by the fire :)

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.