We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Stayed here for only one night sadly, the room was a good size with a little seating area and a big stone fireplace all ready to light, which we would have done if it hadn't been mid summer! Bathroom was a good size, bed was very comfortable, plenty of parking, balcony. Perfect. Staff were very friendly and efficient, the restaurant looked very good but a bit pricey and we headed into town instead.
Would happily stay there again and recommend to others, only thing to note it is a little rustic and lodge like rather than immaculate and swanky but that is definitely part of its charm.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with at our rustic lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    246
    113
    57
    28
See reviews for
143
390
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights, and it offered everything we needed and was in a central location in banff with the bus stopping right outside. However, I dont quite think it is worth the prices they charge. Our room had a sufficating smell of fireplace.... from the fireplace (not a good idea with a carpeted room), we slept with the door open every night to get fresh air. The heat in our room was stuck on one night (in peak summer), and they fixed/checked it immediately (apparently people downstairs made a fire which heated up room?!). Very good service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a beautiful spacious room with all the facilities we might want. We ate in the restaurant and had the best meal in the month we toured the pacific north west and the canadian rockies. The meal was expensive but worth every penny. Staff were incredibly helpful going out of their way to answer queries and make additional suggestions. The hotel was reasonably priced for an expensive resort.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean, precisely what you need when you re visiting Banff for a hike
The lodge offere exquisite breakfast and dinner for a correct price
staff is super friendly,
True Banff antmosphere
To bad that you have to drive up and do! the mountain each time you want to go to the centre of baff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for several days of our honeymoon and it was beautiful! We stayed in one of the premier rooms, which was lovely with wood beams, a stone fireplace, a balcony with a mountain view and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was gigantic and pretty updated. Never heard a peep through the walls from the neighbouring rooms and everything was very peaceful. The service was also excellent! When I booked the room months ago I made a note that we were coming on our honeymoon...within minutes of arriving in our room someone came with a plate of delicious cheeses and fruit. We also had one of the best breakfasts we have ever eaten in the restaurant, also with great service.

The location is great if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown - its just a three minute drive into town and we never failed to find a parking spot in one of the public parking lots. We found it nice to have a little more of that "remote", natural feeling. Overall, our stay was fantastic and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We attended a wedding here and stayed overnight. Overall the wedding experience was quite nice. Service was excellent. Rooms were quite nice and somewhat rustic however bathrooms could use a update. Due to all the structures being of wood construction the soundproofing was not that great however we were there for a wedding so did not really notice the room noise levels.
Breakfast was in an area that when you consider the number of rooms and the relative isolation of the hotel could have been a lot bigger but the staff did a very good job of accommodating the rush. The buffet was quite expensive for what was on offer.
Overall the experience was quite good but expensive however it is Banff during the high season. if you are hoping to enjoy all of what the town of Banff offers pick a hotel a bit closer to the centre of town as this location is quite a walk into town especially on the return climb up the stairs.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are not quite as nice as those on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

About 1km out of town but worth the trip. A very pleasant welcome and free upgrade to a nicer cabin with Balcony & huge bathroom ! Amazed to see a real fireplace in the room - would be great if not 31 degrees outside! View to mountains. Bed was very comfortable albeit kapok pillows way too soft (should have at least 1 normal one). Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot tub, etc. Dining staff very friendly and brekkie was great (and reasonably priced). Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Hold out for the newer cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Great to hear you received a free upgrade and that you enjoyed your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.