We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Buffalo Lodge in Banff Alberta gives the rustic country feel to a beautiful mountain view. The rooms are very well laid out with a country fireplace , claw foot tub and even a balcony looking at the Rookies.
The rates are predictable for the area , a little steep but perfect for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over looking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    184
    74
    36
    22
See reviews for
94
283
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Very lovely stay. Staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and the king room was very spacious. Although a bit dated, it has a lodge feeling rather than a resort feel. The food on site was delicious - you don't even need to go into Banff to eat if you don't want to (especially since the lodge is a bit tucked away from the town site). I'd def stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are hotter than bottom floor, but top floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your room and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not a bad hotel... A little way out of town.. Would be a hard 20 minute walk .. We had a ground floor cabin style room with 2 double beds and a huge fireplace... Plenty of firewood available if the weather permits.. A little noisy when you have guests upstairs.
Nice large hot tub outside. A bit expensive for a basic buffet breakfast.
Coin operated laundry available at adjoining property.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful , recommending restaurants, booking tours etc

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our en suite ground floor room had parking a few strides away two big beds, two big fireside chairs and, if it was cold and we wanted it, a log fire. The staff light it for you and set you right if you ask.

Staff were really helpful and responsive. Restaurant looked nice but we were in 'on the road' mode and took care of ourselves via excursions into Banff Safeway one evening and a take away pizza and beers the next.

We felt very welcome and safe and comfortable during our two nights here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend last winter. We thought their rooms were very nice and romantic (loved the fireplace!). They are a decent size and give you that "mountain lodge" charm. Location is up out of main area of town a little bit (not bad at all), so if you are looking for a little more peace and quiet this will do nicely. Breakfast was very delicious but a tad pricey. Never checked out the hot tub but wish we would have. Overall a nice place to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at our rustic lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we stayed here in summer and had a queen room, it had its own fire place and free of charge wood for burning, although it was summer my husband insisted on lighting a fire and it was very hot in the room ...

The room was really nice, i thought a bit expensive for what you got but still its in Banff and it is an expensive area to stay in so probably not overpriced in comparison to simular hotels.

We would return here for sure, there is an outdoor hottub if you fancy it which is fun.

We didnt eat here so cant comment on that but everything else was just perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A real fire... Thats only one of the many unique features of this resort. I loved being able to have a real wood burning fire at night, and read stories to my kids before bed, while being able to see a magnificent mountain view out the window beside the fireplace. The rooms are well appointed, super comfortable and with all the wood and stone construction, you really feel like you are in fact in the middle of the Rockies, just as you should when visiting Banff. We have stayed here before and last time stayed in a pet-freindly room, which meant our 'whole family' could come for our little vacation.
Right across the road is a waterslide park, at the douglas fir, which is open to the public. It has 2 really fun waterslides, a hot tub and a little kiddie pool.
The restaurant is in a higher price bracket, but when you see the menu, you understand. The meals are gormet and most of the meat is raised by the same family that owns the resort on their own buffalo and elk ranch. Please make sure you have elk ham with your breakfast, you will thank me for that tip alone!! (The huevos rancheros, add elk ham on top- the best breakfast i have had in ages!!)
Both the resort and the restaurant are very kid friendly. No one seemed to mind when my child arrived for breakfat in his batman pj's, in fact the server asked him about his super powers. Dinner time is more quiet but still relaxed. No the atmostphere to let your kids run around, but if they forget their manners here and there, all is forgiven ;)
A fantastic family weekend is as follows:
Arrive Friday night, have dinner at the sleeping buffalo and stroll back to your room. GO for a hot tub beside the main lodge. Light a fire and tell night time stories before bed.
Sat go for breakfast, get the buffet for the kids- best bang for your buck, enjoy a phenominal latte. Go to Johnson Lake (the front desk staff will give you a map to get there). Hike around the lake or just hang out at the beach and let the kids build dams, sand castles and chase butterflies. I am told that in august it is warm enough (bearable) to swim. It is a glacier fed lake, but even so, it was not freezing, rather refreshing in early July.
bring a picnic or go to town for lunch. Walk around town, including the playground across the river and the kdis climbing rock park on same side of the river. Oh, and dont forget the candy store!!
Back to the lodge, repeat last nights routine.
Sunday, go for a hike on one of the trails off the property. Then to cool off, head across the road to Douglas fir water park. $30 for the family (ours is a family of 5) gets you in and it is such fun. My 4 year old was king of the the waterslides. Whith his floating vest on, he was doing great on his own on both slides and must have gone upwards of 25 times. My 2.5 year old went down with myself or my husband and squeeled with delight each time. My 3 month old preferred the hot tub to the kiddie pool as the temp was like a bathtub.
Come back to the property, kids go in the hot tub at Buffalo, next tot he lodge with one parent, while the other goes back to the room to light the fire to warm up.
Peaceful, classy, and friendly- Buffalo Mountain Lodge gets my top rating!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your meals at the restaurant and took advantage of the in-room fire place. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.