We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Big and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Up away from town. Had an upstairs suite that was nice. Supersized bathroom but tiny shower. Room has fireplace so has that smell, which most wouldn't mind. Buildings are very spread out. Expensive but it is banff I guess. Only thing missing is a fridge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    167
    66
    36
    19
See reviews for
86
248
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A good base up on Tunnel mountain for exploring the Banff area. The room we had was very spacious with bedroom, bathroom and living area with kitchen. Although the décor was very drab nothing else could be faulted. Explored the area on foot and within five minutes walk are excellent views of the mountains.
One problem was the hot tub was out of action for the weekend due to maintenance. Which is strange as most other reviews noted the same problem, does it ever work ?.
The staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant first class.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the edge for views and peace on the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time for post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but apologize that the hot tub was not working during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future so you are able to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed there for a night with my boyfriend and we really like it. The room was cozy and we loved the fireplace. Staff was nice and friendly. The only complain I had was the bathtub was a bit too small.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently spent a 2 night break at Buffalo Lodge Hotel and can only describe it as fantastic. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The staff are very polite and helpful, the restaurant is very comfortable with excellent food. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and you took advantage of dining in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a beautiful lodge with a rustic feel. Have stayed quite a few times over the years but not in awhile. We had very nice/cosy pet friendly room that backed onto a wonderful area with large spruce trees. Complimentary organic treats for our puppy. Only stayed for one night as it was just a quick trip.... husband having knee surgery. I'm sure we will back in the Summer for some hiking trips!

Room Tip: Did not use Swimming Pool or Spa this trip.... But accident.y hit the rating and it would not remove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon. I was really excited because the website looked amazing! The room was nice, but incredibly hot. There was no air conditioning or fan, so it was a bit of just sweat it out scenario. The location was nice as it was just a bit out from downtown, but the parking was tight. We ended up having to street park every night as the parking lot was just too small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had with heating and parking and I hope that we welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Arrived at the hotel before check-in so our room wasn't ready but the receptionist was really helpful giving us a map of Banff and took my mobile to phone us when the room was ready. When we got to our room, it took our breath away! The rooms are cosy, clean, luxury bathrooms with an amazing view from the balcony. Also, we were on our honeymoon and the hotel had left a lovely cheese platter and chocolates for our arrival, lovely touch. The hotel is situated on a hill, easy to walk down, not so much up! Would recommend a taxi after a couple of beers at the micro brewery as its is only a couple of dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.