We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here in late April for Easter weekend. LOVED the claw foot tub in the bathroom - I had a long soak every day we were there. Location was perfect for a brief hike down to central Banff (or a very short drive) or a hike around Tunnel Mountain Drive, and up the trail to climb Mount Rundle. The rooms are plenty big, and ours had a fantastic view of the mountain - from the bed - and the rest of the rooms seemed well positioned to have great views as well. Other reviewers have commented on the "tired" feel of the decor, but we noticed that more in the dining room than our guest room, and I'm pretty sure I only noticed it because of other reviewers. We spent so little time in the room anyway that it doesn't matter anyway, and all the amenities are "current". They prepped the fireplace for us each day (including cleaning out the ashes from the previous night's fire).

We were on the ground floor and did experience being able to hear the creaking above us as our upstairs neighbors walked around, and we could hear their pipes when they showered, etc as well...but this was so occasional I think I - again - only noticed it because I'd read other reviews, and even having noticed it (and the 'tired decor' from another reviewer which I slightly disagreed with), we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear your neighbors upstairs, as for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the fireplace in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    261
    122
    61
    30
See reviews for
157
410
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We originally needed one night but these accommodations were so nice we decided to stay for two nights. Such wonderful scenery and room was amazing. Restaurant was not so good not food nor service the time we dined there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Check in was fast and smooth and the lobby was gorgeous! We had a room with 2 queen beds which were VERY comfortable, a wood burning fireplace which was awesome, chairs and table made completely from branches and sticks from a tree which was pretty cool. Room also had a balcony with a couple chairs. The bathroom seemed very modern and was clean.

Lodge is only about a 5 min drive from downtown..could walk there in less than 20.

There is a large fitness centre and sauna as well as a large outdoor hot tub that is open until 11pm.

I got a deal on hotels.com for this lodge and only paid $140/night apparently regular price was $250 for the room we had. Definitely would not have paid full price, but it was an excellent value for what I paid and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has a few things to offer that make your holiday something special. The rooms are very beautiful and romantic, with a nice open fireplace, a beautiful wooden ceiling (it is a lodge) and a very nice bathroom and a hot tub outside in the common area. The dining is excellent, nicely decorated and very good quality food. The hotel is located in a quite part of Banff, but still close to all the attractions that Banff has to offer. Not really cheap, but you certainly get value for money.

Room Tip: If you go here for a special occasion, spend the extra money on a premier room. It adds that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
239 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After a long day of travelling from Quebec City (2 flights with a transit in Toronto), we had arrived at the Calgary Airport. Then about 40 minutes later, boarded the pre-booked Brewster Airport Express bus to Banff, arriving around 7.15pm. The bus ride was comfy and smooth, however, upon arrival in Banff down town, we still have to catch another short taxi ride to the Buffalo Moutain Lodge, albeit a free ride.

Feeling tired, we were asked to fill in some forms at Reception, not something that you would expect after a whole days of travelling ... But to our surprise, our request of a quiet, 2nd floor (with arched ceiling) Premium room with twin beds was granted, far away from the Reception building - really nice! What was better are the views from our own balcony (but not too private as your next door neighbours balcony are just next to yours) - unblocked Mountain views with thick snow everywhere ...

The room was not only spacious, but come with a huge bathroom, with a separate claw legged tub and shower cubicle. Of course, needless to say, there is a real log burning fireplace in the room - our very first experience with a real fireplace (we are from the Tropics, you see). The ambience was so so nice that I started humming to Melissa Manchester's song - outside it could be snowing ...but we never felt so warm. There were lots of storage closets around, hanging bars for winter and skiing clothings I guess - nice for a longer stay!

Now for the negatives -
There are no safe or minibar here. No slippers and dental kit as well. The pillows offered were small and too soft for any neck support, so add a bath towel below the pillow. Location wise, its quite a trek to the down town, especially in the heavy snow.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. When my husband has a very bad throat, we requested and they sent some free honey to the room for us. They also helped to start the log fire in our room, giving us detailed bus schedule and directions to a medical doctor, touristy places, pharmacies etc. There was also Free wifi in our room, very fast, too!

While staying here, it is strongly advised that you plan your activities according to the local bus schedule if you are not driving. Buy a one day pass at $5, its so worth it, trust me. The gondola ride to the mountain top is a must, though very expensive! But a horse sledge ride is not that nice, so can avoid. Shopping in the down town area is nice, and surprisingly, not too expensive.

After a wonderful two nights here, we again took a free taxi to the Brewster Express Bus station for our ride to down town Calgary. Do not know if there are other direct buses from Banff to down town Calgary but the Brewster one makes a stop at the Calgary Airport first, wasting us sometime before arriving at the Hotel Marriott in down town Calgary.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor Premium room with vaulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like this lodge, it is a good value for the price and only about 5 minute to downtown. The place is quiet except for the noise of the train passing nearby but it is not a big issue. The service is really good. The rooms are cozy and we adore the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I came here for a snall conference in March. It's all very pleasant, with nice rooms and central facilies. I'd be happy to come back here on my own dollar.
I docked one point for some minor issues:
- wifi is free, but very flaky
- they wanted to charge me a full day to extend my checkout to 3 pm
- it's a fair old trek to the centre of Banff if youre on foot. But all part of that healthy pioneer spirit, I suppose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.