We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here in late April for Easter weekend. LOVED the claw foot tub in the bathroom - I had a long soak every day we were there. Location was perfect for a brief hike down to central Banff (or a very short drive) or a hike around Tunnel Mountain Drive, and up the trail to climb Mount Rundle. The rooms are plenty big, and ours had a fantastic view of the mountain - from the bed - and the rest of the rooms seemed well positioned to have great views as well. Other reviewers have commented on the "tired" feel of the decor, but we noticed that more in the dining room than our guest room, and I'm pretty sure I only noticed it because of other reviewers. We spent so little time in the room anyway that it doesn't matter anyway, and all the amenities are "current". They prepped the fireplace for us each day (including cleaning out the ashes from the previous night's fire).

We were on the ground floor and did experience being able to hear the creaking above us as our upstairs neighbors walked around, and we could hear their pipes when they showered, etc as well...but this was so occasional I think I - again - only noticed it because I'd read other reviews, and even having noticed it (and the 'tired decor' from another reviewer which I slightly disagreed with), we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear your neighbors upstairs, as for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the fireplace in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    172
    68
    36
    19
See reviews for
91
260
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We originally needed one night but these accommodations were so nice we decided to stay for two nights. Such wonderful scenery and room was amazing. Restaurant was not so good not food nor service the time we dined there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Check in was fast and smooth and the lobby was gorgeous! We had a room with 2 queen beds which were VERY comfortable, a wood burning fireplace which was awesome, chairs and table made completely from branches and sticks from a tree which was pretty cool. Room also had a balcony with a couple chairs. The bathroom seemed very modern and was clean.

Lodge is only about a 5 min drive from downtown..could walk there in less than 20.

There is a large fitness centre and sauna as well as a large outdoor hot tub that is open until 11pm.

I got a deal on hotels.com for this lodge and only paid $140/night apparently regular price was $250 for the room we had. Definitely would not have paid full price, but it was an excellent value for what I paid and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has a few things to offer that make your holiday something special. The rooms are very beautiful and romantic, with a nice open fireplace, a beautiful wooden ceiling (it is a lodge) and a very nice bathroom and a hot tub outside in the common area. The dining is excellent, nicely decorated and very good quality food. The hotel is located in a quite part of Banff, but still close to all the attractions that Banff has to offer. Not really cheap, but you certainly get value for money.

Room Tip: If you go here for a special occasion, spend the extra money on a premier room. It adds that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After a long day of travelling from Quebec City (2 flights with a transit in Toronto), we had arrived at the Calgary Airport. Then about 40 minutes later, boarded the pre-booked Brewster Airport Express bus to Banff, arriving around 7.15pm. The bus ride was comfy and smooth, however, upon arrival in Banff down town, we still have to catch another short taxi ride to the Buffalo Moutain Lodge, albeit a free ride.

Feeling tired, we were asked to fill in some forms at Reception, not something that you would expect after a whole days of travelling ... But to our surprise, our request of a quiet, 2nd floor (with arched ceiling) Premium room with twin beds was granted, far away from the Reception building - really nice! What was better are the views from our own balcony (but not too private as your next door neighbours balcony are just next to yours) - unblocked Mountain views with thick snow everywhere ...

The room was not only spacious, but come with a huge bathroom, with a separate claw legged tub and shower cubicle. Of course, needless to say, there is a real log burning fireplace in the room - our very first experience with a real fireplace (we are from the Tropics, you see). The ambience was so so nice that I started humming to Melissa Manchester's song - outside it could be snowing ...but we never felt so warm. There were lots of storage closets around, hanging bars for winter and skiing clothings I guess - nice for a longer stay!

Now for the negatives -
There are no safe or minibar here. No slippers and dental kit as well. The pillows offered were small and too soft for any neck support, so add a bath towel below the pillow. Location wise, its quite a trek to the down town, especially in the heavy snow.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. When my husband has a very bad throat, we requested and they sent some free honey to the room for us. They also helped to start the log fire in our room, giving us detailed bus schedule and directions to a medical doctor, touristy places, pharmacies etc. There was also Free wifi in our room, very fast, too!

While staying here, it is strongly advised that you plan your activities according to the local bus schedule if you are not driving. Buy a one day pass at $5, its so worth it, trust me. The gondola ride to the mountain top is a must, though very expensive! But a horse sledge ride is not that nice, so can avoid. Shopping in the down town area is nice, and surprisingly, not too expensive.

After a wonderful two nights here, we again took a free taxi to the Brewster Express Bus station for our ride to down town Calgary. Do not know if there are other direct buses from Banff to down town Calgary but the Brewster one makes a stop at the Calgary Airport first, wasting us sometime before arriving at the Hotel Marriott in down town Calgary.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor Premium room with vaulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like this lodge, it is a good value for the price and only about 5 minute to downtown. The place is quiet except for the noise of the train passing nearby but it is not a big issue. The service is really good. The rooms are cozy and we adore the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I came here for a snall conference in March. It's all very pleasant, with nice rooms and central facilies. I'd be happy to come back here on my own dollar.
I docked one point for some minor issues:
- wifi is free, but very flaky
- they wanted to charge me a full day to extend my checkout to 3 pm
- it's a fair old trek to the centre of Banff if youre on foot. But all part of that healthy pioneer spirit, I suppose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.