We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has a few things to offer that make your holiday something special. The rooms are very beautiful and romantic, with a nice open fireplace, a beautiful wooden ceiling (it is a lodge) and a very nice bathroom and a hot tub outside in the common area. The dining is excellent, nicely decorated and very good quality food. The hotel is located in a quite part of Banff, but still close to all the attractions that Banff has to offer. Not really cheap, but you certainly get value for money.

Room Tip: If you go here for a special occasion, spend the extra money on a premier room. It adds that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    179
    74
    36
    21
See reviews for
93
274
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
491 helpful votes 491 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After a long day of travelling from Quebec City (2 flights with a transit in Toronto), we had arrived at the Calgary Airport. Then about 40 minutes later, boarded the pre-booked Brewster Airport Express bus to Banff, arriving around 7.15pm. The bus ride was comfy and smooth, however, upon arrival in Banff down town, we still have to catch another short taxi ride to the Buffalo Moutain Lodge, albeit a free ride.

Feeling tired, we were asked to fill in some forms at Reception, not something that you would expect after a whole days of travelling ... But to our surprise, our request of a quiet, 2nd floor (with arched ceiling) Premium room with twin beds was granted, far away from the Reception building - really nice! What was better are the views from our own balcony (but not too private as your next door neighbours balcony are just next to yours) - unblocked Mountain views with thick snow everywhere ...

The room was not only spacious, but come with a huge bathroom, with a separate claw legged tub and shower cubicle. Of course, needless to say, there is a real log burning fireplace in the room - our very first experience with a real fireplace (we are from the Tropics, you see). The ambience was so so nice that I started humming to Melissa Manchester's song - outside it could be snowing ...but we never felt so warm. There were lots of storage closets around, hanging bars for winter and skiing clothings I guess - nice for a longer stay!

Now for the negatives -
There are no safe or minibar here. No slippers and dental kit as well. The pillows offered were small and too soft for any neck support, so add a bath towel below the pillow. Location wise, its quite a trek to the down town, especially in the heavy snow.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. When my husband has a very bad throat, we requested and they sent some free honey to the room for us. They also helped to start the log fire in our room, giving us detailed bus schedule and directions to a medical doctor, touristy places, pharmacies etc. There was also Free wifi in our room, very fast, too!

While staying here, it is strongly advised that you plan your activities according to the local bus schedule if you are not driving. Buy a one day pass at $5, its so worth it, trust me. The gondola ride to the mountain top is a must, though very expensive! But a horse sledge ride is not that nice, so can avoid. Shopping in the down town area is nice, and surprisingly, not too expensive.

After a wonderful two nights here, we again took a free taxi to the Brewster Express Bus station for our ride to down town Calgary. Do not know if there are other direct buses from Banff to down town Calgary but the Brewster one makes a stop at the Calgary Airport first, wasting us sometime before arriving at the Hotel Marriott in down town Calgary.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor Premium room with vaulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like this lodge, it is a good value for the price and only about 5 minute to downtown. The place is quiet except for the noise of the train passing nearby but it is not a big issue. The service is really good. The rooms are cozy and we adore the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I came here for a snall conference in March. It's all very pleasant, with nice rooms and central facilies. I'd be happy to come back here on my own dollar.
I docked one point for some minor issues:
- wifi is free, but very flaky
- they wanted to charge me a full day to extend my checkout to 3 pm
- it's a fair old trek to the centre of Banff if youre on foot. But all part of that healthy pioneer spirit, I suppose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The setting is absolutely beautiful and the resort is nicely laid out. We were so excited about staying here for our first time and could not wait to arrive. We had a buffalo plasma pet friendly room with kitchen and wood burning fireplace.

Customer service was very good from check in to check out, every employee we ran into had a smile was really nice.

The room was a huge disappointment, dirty entryway, worn out living room carpet, faded chairs, mismatched table and chairs and a bathtub that would not drain all for only $300 per night.

Our room was right across from reception and noisy until around midnight and on the other side of our room was the road and bus stop noise and then the neighbors that we won't discuss further.

We had room service twice and although the menu was very limited with a lot of wild game on it what they served was very good and room service was fast and efficient.

They do have very nice rooms elsewhere in the resort and I would have loved to have gotten one but they do not rent to guests with pets, it would be nice if you had a couple of higher end rooms available, I really appreciate they are pet friendly but pets are only allowed in the old rooms.

Overall there is better value to be had in the area with much nicer pet friendly rooms, probably won't return unless they clean up things a bit, we chose this resort solely based on their web site but the web site was some what deceiving as far as room pictures went.

Room Tip: get a room as far away from reception as possible they look really nice and even have balconies or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am glad you were able to bring your pet. I apologize that the room wasn't up to your expectations and I assure you we are constantly working on improving our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Warm, cosy clean lodge with our own fireplace and big bathroom. Much better than the fairmont which I didnt like
There is a gym and hot tub which is great after a day on the slopes. I have 2 boys under 5 and they loved the space

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I absolutely love this place! Our room was amazing, cozy kitchenette suite with very comfortable beds! The weekend was freezing, so we spent a lot of time in the lounge in front of the fireplace. It was so warm and relaxing! The food is fantastic! I have stayed here before and would recommend anything on the menu, it's all so good! The staff is so friendly. Service is great. After an afternoon of tubing, my kids enjoyed the hot tub and then snuggled up to watch a movie - a great selection of choices on hand at the front desk! We love coming here, and can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the hot tub, and also enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;