We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter at Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“easter at Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like this lodge, it is a good value for the price and only about 5 minute to downtown. The place is quiet except for the noise of the train passing nearby but it is not a big issue. The service is really good. The rooms are cozy and we adore the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    187
    76
    37
    23
See reviews for
96
289
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I came here for a snall conference in March. It's all very pleasant, with nice rooms and central facilies. I'd be happy to come back here on my own dollar.
I docked one point for some minor issues:
- wifi is free, but very flaky
- they wanted to charge me a full day to extend my checkout to 3 pm
- it's a fair old trek to the centre of Banff if youre on foot. But all part of that healthy pioneer spirit, I suppose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The setting is absolutely beautiful and the resort is nicely laid out. We were so excited about staying here for our first time and could not wait to arrive. We had a buffalo plasma pet friendly room with kitchen and wood burning fireplace.

Customer service was very good from check in to check out, every employee we ran into had a smile was really nice.

The room was a huge disappointment, dirty entryway, worn out living room carpet, faded chairs, mismatched table and chairs and a bathtub that would not drain all for only $300 per night.

Our room was right across from reception and noisy until around midnight and on the other side of our room was the road and bus stop noise and then the neighbors that we won't discuss further.

We had room service twice and although the menu was very limited with a lot of wild game on it what they served was very good and room service was fast and efficient.

They do have very nice rooms elsewhere in the resort and I would have loved to have gotten one but they do not rent to guests with pets, it would be nice if you had a couple of higher end rooms available, I really appreciate they are pet friendly but pets are only allowed in the old rooms.

Overall there is better value to be had in the area with much nicer pet friendly rooms, probably won't return unless they clean up things a bit, we chose this resort solely based on their web site but the web site was some what deceiving as far as room pictures went.

Room Tip: get a room as far away from reception as possible they look really nice and even have balconies or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am glad you were able to bring your pet. I apologize that the room wasn't up to your expectations and I assure you we are constantly working on improving our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Warm, cosy clean lodge with our own fireplace and big bathroom. Much better than the fairmont which I didnt like
There is a gym and hot tub which is great after a day on the slopes. I have 2 boys under 5 and they loved the space

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I absolutely love this place! Our room was amazing, cozy kitchenette suite with very comfortable beds! The weekend was freezing, so we spent a lot of time in the lounge in front of the fireplace. It was so warm and relaxing! The food is fantastic! I have stayed here before and would recommend anything on the menu, it's all so good! The staff is so friendly. Service is great. After an afternoon of tubing, my kids enjoyed the hot tub and then snuggled up to watch a movie - a great selection of choices on hand at the front desk! We love coming here, and can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the hot tub, and also enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had the opportunity to spend a weekend away for a family birthday. We were able to book units all together, which was wonderful. They accept pets - and the suites were beautiful!!! The beds are incredibly soft and comfortable and the fireplace was a beautiful touch. Walking around the premises you saw all sorts of wildlife including young mule deer grazing. Just a very neat experience.
We spent our evenings in the lounge and the staff was very accomodating and friendly.
We booked a private room for the birthday party - and the staff went above and beyond their call of duty -- and THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!!!

Needless to say we will definitely be going back.
Thank you all for our wonderful weekend away. :)

E. Dean
Calgary, AB

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed on a weeknight in March. Their rooms were great with heated floors in bathroom/main hall, wood burning fire place, balcony and comfortable queen sized bed.
The service was great and felt really welcomed. Breakfast was good yet a little expensive.
You definitely pay for the price, however, and the hot tub was not working, either.
What a view! Overall, will come back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains. Get one as far away from the lodge if you do not want to hear the part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We apologize the hot tub was not available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so you are able to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.