We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had the opportunity to spend a weekend away for a family birthday. We were able to book units all together, which was wonderful. They accept pets - and the suites were beautiful!!! The beds are incredibly soft and comfortable and the fireplace was a beautiful touch. Walking around the premises you saw all sorts of wildlife including young mule deer grazing. Just a very neat experience.
We spent our evenings in the lounge and the staff was very accomodating and friendly.
We booked a private room for the birthday party - and the staff went above and beyond their call of duty -- and THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!!!

Needless to say we will definitely be going back.
Thank you all for our wonderful weekend away. :)

E. Dean
Calgary, AB

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    167
    66
    36
    19
See reviews for
86
248
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed on a weeknight in March. Their rooms were great with heated floors in bathroom/main hall, wood burning fire place, balcony and comfortable queen sized bed.
The service was great and felt really welcomed. Breakfast was good yet a little expensive.
You definitely pay for the price, however, and the hot tub was not working, either.
What a view! Overall, will come back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains. Get one as far away from the lodge if you do not want to hear the part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We apologize the hot tub was not available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so you are able to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We recently spent the weekend at Buffalo Mountain Lodge for a family event. The entire weekend was wonderful! The restaurant offers the most delicious menu, something for everyone! I enjoyed the feature fish for dinner and my boyfriend had the beef. The crab cake appetizers are to die for. The staff was courteous and the room we stayed in was clean with the very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was enamored by the pics of this lodge when planning our annual trip..this time to Banff. I also know that the pictures are a marketing tool and can be deceiving. We were deceived all right...this lodge was 10 times more beautiful that the photos. Snuggled right up against Tunnel Mountain, inside Banff National Park, is this jewel. My usual travel companions, my sister, my husband, and I had plenty of room sharing the 2 queen bed room with HUGE fireplace with a continuos supply of paper birch firewood seasoned perfectly and jaw dropping views of the natural beauty that surrounds this place. We ordered room service twice which was delivered promptly, hot, and exacting and was hand carried up at least 30 stairs by friendly young lads. The staff was genuinely warm and welcoming. Added bonus of a claw foot tub, a splendid snow surrounded hot tub, and a 5 star restaurant serving everything from caribou to wild boar pate..(see my review of the lodge's restaurant) and this was truly a luxury stay on a modest budget. I cannot find one negative thing to post except that 3 nights was just not long enough..next time a week's stay for sure.

Room Tip: From what I could see..you cannot choose a bad room here...go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had family stay over at the hotel for a special birthday supper, and it was fantastic! We were served in a private room, and the staff were all exceptionally accommodating and professional. The food was brilliant ( I had the Albacore tuna to start followed by the Ranch Bison Duo which I would go back for any time!). The buffet breakfast was also a big hit with the children and grandchildren. It was a bitterly cold weekend which made it an ideal time for some of the family to enjoy the fireplaces in the room. We were a party of 11 and all agreed it was a great birthday weekend . Thanks to the staff at Buffalo Mountain Lodge for making it such a special time for us!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so happy to hear that the birthday celebrations were a success and that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for one night in minus 30 temps this winter! our room was warm and cozy with a corner fireplace and wicker chairs. we really enjoyed having the fire, though all of our clothes did smell like campfire the next day so keep that in mind if you are going to an event etc. and have fancy clothes with you. The heater ran along the wall where the heads of our bed was, it was sooooo wonderful to crawl into bed and slide your hands under the pillow to find the sheets were warm and cozy.
Bathroom is a little dated but very clean. Room is a bit crowded with the fireplace furniture, but for 2 people we didn't need anymore space. There is not a lot of parking available so you may have to park a ways from your room. We've stayed in a lot of rooms in Banff/ Canmore and I think this was one of the first places we felt our money was not wasted. would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding you recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the in-room fire place. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday this year and it was amazing! We were a tad nervous when we pulled up because the surrounding hotels are not as nice but that is minor! I lived our room! The bear claw tub and the fire place made it very homey! I would recommend this place to any one!!!!!!! I would have loved to of seen a room with a kitchenette but that's okay. We were thinking of holding our wedding here but I read that it's not ideal unless you reserve the entire place! What is that going to cost me as I know my family can get loud and I am NOT paying for someone else's room! ;) thank you in advance and thanks for the amazing stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for posting your wonderful comments regarding you recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge! For any clarification regarding weddings please contact info@crmr.com. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.