We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PHENOMENAL SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“PHENOMENAL SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We hosted 9 of our friends at Buffalo Mountain Lodge for our 25th Wedding Anniversary on New Year's Eve. Jolene, the front desk manager, was so easy to work and planning the event was fun and easy. We were all thrilled with our accommodation and the service, including the complimentary cookies and souvenir books provided to our group . The New Year's Eve Dinner was tasty and the dining room service was excellent, as usual. The New Year's Day Brunch was delicious and the service was professional. Also, the Christmas decorating was beautiful. The hot tub is large and stainless steel so it really was clean. Our group of professionals who all travel alot, including many trips to Banff, were very pleased with all aspects of this resort. Thanks to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge team for creating nothing but amazing memories of this trip.

Room Tip: We had all different room categories and all exceeded expectations. The only noise you'll hear u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge! We are so pleased to hear you and your group enjoyed your time with us. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Jolene, and ensure she receives the recognition she deserves! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    261
    122
    61
    30
See reviews for
157
410
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I will start by saying that the restaurant (had a breakfast, brunch and a birthday dinner here) is great and serves very good food. Definitely try it out even if you're not staying at the hotel. Or actually, just eat at the restaurant and forget the hotel. The rooms are old, outdated and not cozy (even if there is a fireplace in your living room). The hot tub/workout area is not inviting and looked unkempt. A large group of people was drinking beer and smoking right in the hot tub when we came to check the area out, so this together with the general state of the facility made us not want to return.

We just stayed in another CRMR property, Emerald Lake Lodge, and that was a much better experience. Although that property would also benefit from some upgrades, it was a much nicer experience than Buffalo Mountain Lodge, at pretty much the same price. In part this may be due to a more remote and romantic location of Emerald Lake Lodge, but overall I felt that it was a better deal for the money. I'd return to stay at the Emerald Lake Lodge, but not here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas after skiing all day in Lake Louis area. Ground floor cottage style room was excellent, open fire place, large balcony and clean & comfortable bathroom. Outdoor hot tub is a great extra! Service is excellent and reception is extremely helpful with any queries you might have.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband I spent a weekend here in December 2013. The cabin was awesome... Large, clean and cozy. Front desk staff were great and even though it was -40 we used the outdoor hot tub. We had planned to eat all of our meals at Buffalo Lodge but after the first morning breakfast we didn't. We stood in line for a half hour for breakfast and when we were finally seated we waited a further 15 minutes for coffee. My husband was going to order off the menu instead of the buffet but since we didn't have a server come back to us after menus were given we both decided buffet. The breakfast was not worth the price. we would definitely stay again but wouldn't be back for a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologize for your experience with breakfast in the Sleeping Buffalo Dining Room as that is certainly not the food and beverage standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future where we can offer you the dining experience we are known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had a wonderful vacation over 2 weeks at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Nestled on the mountain if was quiet, peaceful with wonderful views and lots of activities. My room had a magnificent cathedral ceiling of timbers with wonderful heated floors and a fieldstone fireplace that was used regularly with an endless supply of firewood nearby. The location is great - not far from bustling downtown Banff (an easy walk or bus ride) and only 15 minutes from Canmore.

Room Tip: I was in what they refer to as the 1100 block of rooms and would recommend these rooms to anyone alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here at the end of December for girls night away which we do 4 times a year at different hotels and resorts. Our first impression pulling up was a good one, checking in we were pleased with the beauty of the lobby and prompt check in. We had asked for a top floor room but unfortunately they did not have any which we thought no big deal, until we got to our room. There was a small entry way under the rooms above to get into our room and the 2 other rooms beside us. It felt like we were checking into someone's basement. The room was nice 2 double beds and the fireplace which we used for the aw of it and the room was a little chilly.
The hot tub was great, and not too busy at all being the night before New Years. After the hot tub we headed to our room to get ready to go to town for dinner only to find someone parked right behind us. We tried calling the front desk but they were overly busy so we walked to there instead, told the lady at the front desk about our truck being blocked in and her response was would you like to take a taxi. They take License plate #'s as you check in so I don't know why they couldn't look it up. After telling her I did not want to pay for a taxi when I have my own vehicle they said to give them a few minutes and they would get the other vehicle to move. We went back to our room and waited 40 minutes to no avail. Tried calling the desk again but no answer as they were busy so we walked back to the lobby waited for 10 minutes then were told the bell boy had dealt with the situation. Back to our room we go only to see the vehicle still there. Fortunately the vehicle parked beside me had left so we quickly jumped in our vehicle and after a 10 point turn were off to dinner.
Over all our stay wasn't bad we made the best of it and always enjoy our girls nights away but if you don't want to be interrupted by people walking up and down stairs all night and the sound of their washroom activities for $280 minimum a night, I would pass on this one.

Room Tip: Upgrade or atleast make sure you book a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had while staying with us, the level of service you describe certainly does not meet the standards we strive for. I have passed your comments onto our front desk department; we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of these issues.
If you would like to speak to someone further regarding your stay, you can contact bmlalm@crmr.com
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights and it was so relaxing. We had a lodge with a real log fire and this kept my partner entertained most nights keeping it going. It was clean and functional and the location was so peaceful. We woke up to elks feeding off the trees outside our lodge door on more than one occasion and the staff here were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the main lodge house was fantastic too. Book this - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and was able to see some wildlife during your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.