We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent three nights at the hotel, for a workshop and the experience was so relaxing! Our room was large and had a wood burning fireplace. The beds were a little hard but the pillows made up for that! The bathroom was spacious and had a large claw-foot soaking tub. The Wi-Fi worked efficiently but our cell service was spotty depending on where we were on the resort. The food provided was delicious and plentiful with lots of local options. The rooms and common areas were clean and fresh looking. The conference and meeting rooms have large windows and good air quality/tempurature. The hot tub was not working for the days we were there and there is no swimming pool on the premises.

I would return to this hotel and would love to be able to spend time there skiing in the Winter.

Room Tip: The 1100 & 1200's room blocks are large, newer and have easy parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    186
    74
    37
    22
See reviews for
96
287
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The good news first - The property is beautiful. The rooms are huge with rustic furniture, a fireplace and spacious sitting area and a bathroom with a claw foot tub and separate shower. Firewood, kindling and matches are provided. You would think after spending the money, time and effort to provided such beautifully appointed rooms the service would match - NOT!
First we arrived on the Rocky Mountaineer after dark. We were picking up a car the next day, but that night a driver took us to the Lodge and dropped us and our luggage off. After checking in, the clerk told us where to park our car. The property is very large and had we had a car that information would have been helpful. We told her we had no car, so the clerk told us we could walk - with our three pieces of luggage to the room. She made no offer to have someone help us. PS I am 65 and my husband is 80 and we could have used help. We had to walk up multiple sets of stairs and a very long distance to finally get to our second floor room.
After we finally got to the room, we needed to eat since we had not had dinner. We called room service and were informed the dining room was closed but the bar could deliver food. My husband wanted a burger and I wanted a sandwich. I was told they could send the burger, but sandwiches were not on the bar menu so I couldn't have that.
There was no safe in the room, no water glasses in the bathroom, the soap dish at the tub and shower we caked with soap.. The coffee maker was difficult to plug in and use.
Once we got a car we asked where to park. We were told we could park on the street right behind the building where our room was. The clerk failed to mention there was no way to get on to the Lodge property from there.
This should have been a great experience, but it was not

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We would like to apologize for your experience with the the Front Desk as that is certainly not the standard we strive to provide. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada/Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge, as I was the maid of honor at my friends wedding there. The hotel is beautiful, the scenery is amazing. My husband and I booked at a bed and breakfast for the night before the wedding (to save a little money) and then booked at the Lodge for the night of the wedding. At the last minute, we decided to change our reservation to the Lodge for both nights. We called the lodge, but they told us they had no rooms available for that night, which was fine, our mistake for changing our minds at the last minute! But then we went to meet the bride there to get ready for the rehearsal dinner, and another guest of the wedding, who was sharing a room, decided that she wanted her own room. She went to the front desk and right away got her own room! How is that possible if there were no rooms left, when we called 20 minutes prior? Anyways, here's a tip, the basic rooms, are alright, but for a $20 upgrade, you can get a room with a much nicer view and a waaay nicer bathroom. The standard rooms have a crappy old tub... the upgraded rooms have heated floors, a claw foot tub, and separate shower. It is defiantly worth the extra $20.00. The staff did an amazing job on the wedding, and really catered to us the rest of the time we were there. The king bed in our room was the most comfortable bed in a hotel I have ever slept in. I would stay at this hotel again. Great place.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Positives - Premium rooms were very nice. Soaker tub, balcony, all very nice.

But, the very expensive room was charged to the wrong person after the trip despite being told it wouldn't. For the amount of money the rooms cost, not having a fridge was pretty sad.

Here's the great part: The front desk failed to book the proper number of nights so we were evicted and hastily put into a room with my wife, my toddler, my brother in law, my father in law, my mother in law, and I in a room with 2 beds. SEVEN people in ONE room was their response to our predicament!!

It was for a wedding. The wedding dinner was one of WORST catering failures I've seen in ANY event, corporate, wedding, or otherwise. Appetizers that were OK at best, dinners that were an hour late, and quality that I expect from a budget buffet restaurant on the shady end of town, not a luxury resort.

Our stay here won the prize for the WORST EVER hotel experience. Paying a brutal premium was just the salt on the wound. To say it fell below our expectations would be the stupidest understatement uttered in a very long time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a hotel that costs less and offers at least the very basics; meaning not this "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Manager bmlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of our holiday to Canada/Alaska - just what I expected it to be and look like, very traditional away from the town centre nice and quiet and serene, breakfast very good and plentiful, customer service excellent. evening meal also very good service and quality. only let down is that we arrived there at approximately 7pm and the restaurant was already fully booked, and they could only offer us meals in our room which would have been fine, but it was only from the dinner menu so no light snacks etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good well maintained accommodation in a pretty part of Banff although it is a 2 km uphill walk from downtown Banff so a car or a taxi ride is preferable. The log fire made the cabin very attractive and homely; we only ate breakfast at Buffalo Mountain which was excellent and served by helpful knowledgeable staff. I will use this resort again when next in Banff. One downside however is lack of parking space, each block contains 8 rooms with space for 4 cars, on 2 out of 3 nights we were unable to park by our cabin, also the furniture made of branches is a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great first hotel in Canada. Exactly as expected in the wilds of Alberta, a real wooden lodge surrounded by pine trees and hills and silence, but with all mod cons as required for a very comfortable stay. The rooms were large, the bed even larger and it was really comfortable to sleep off the long plane journey from the UK. The staff were very helpful and attentive to 2 very jet lagged tourists, and the breakfasts good quality and big enough to set you up for the day (try the buffet). The location is great for touring the surrounding areas by car, but it's a long trek uphill if you wanted to walk from the centre of Banff (our only slight negative).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.