We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, beautiful views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Canada/Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, beautiful views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge, as I was the maid of honor at my friends wedding there. The hotel is beautiful, the scenery is amazing. My husband and I booked at a bed and breakfast for the night before the wedding (to save a little money) and then booked at the Lodge for the night of the wedding. At the last minute, we decided to change our reservation to the Lodge for both nights. We called the lodge, but they told us they had no rooms available for that night, which was fine, our mistake for changing our minds at the last minute! But then we went to meet the bride there to get ready for the rehearsal dinner, and another guest of the wedding, who was sharing a room, decided that she wanted her own room. She went to the front desk and right away got her own room! How is that possible if there were no rooms left, when we called 20 minutes prior? Anyways, here's a tip, the basic rooms, are alright, but for a $20 upgrade, you can get a room with a much nicer view and a waaay nicer bathroom. The standard rooms have a crappy old tub... the upgraded rooms have heated floors, a claw foot tub, and separate shower. It is defiantly worth the extra $20.00. The staff did an amazing job on the wedding, and really catered to us the rest of the time we were there. The king bed in our room was the most comfortable bed in a hotel I have ever slept in. I would stay at this hotel again. Great place.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    221
    97
    48
    26
See reviews for
123
359
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Positives - Premium rooms were very nice. Soaker tub, balcony, all very nice.

But, the very expensive room was charged to the wrong person after the trip despite being told it wouldn't. For the amount of money the rooms cost, not having a fridge was pretty sad.

Here's the great part: The front desk failed to book the proper number of nights so we were evicted and hastily put into a room with my wife, my toddler, my brother in law, my father in law, my mother in law, and I in a room with 2 beds. SEVEN people in ONE room was their response to our predicament!!

It was for a wedding. The wedding dinner was one of WORST catering failures I've seen in ANY event, corporate, wedding, or otherwise. Appetizers that were OK at best, dinners that were an hour late, and quality that I expect from a budget buffet restaurant on the shady end of town, not a luxury resort.

Our stay here won the prize for the WORST EVER hotel experience. Paying a brutal premium was just the salt on the wound. To say it fell below our expectations would be the stupidest understatement uttered in a very long time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a hotel that costs less and offers at least the very basics; meaning not this "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Manager bmlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of our holiday to Canada/Alaska - just what I expected it to be and look like, very traditional away from the town centre nice and quiet and serene, breakfast very good and plentiful, customer service excellent. evening meal also very good service and quality. only let down is that we arrived there at approximately 7pm and the restaurant was already fully booked, and they could only offer us meals in our room which would have been fine, but it was only from the dinner menu so no light snacks etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good well maintained accommodation in a pretty part of Banff although it is a 2 km uphill walk from downtown Banff so a car or a taxi ride is preferable. The log fire made the cabin very attractive and homely; we only ate breakfast at Buffalo Mountain which was excellent and served by helpful knowledgeable staff. I will use this resort again when next in Banff. One downside however is lack of parking space, each block contains 8 rooms with space for 4 cars, on 2 out of 3 nights we were unable to park by our cabin, also the furniture made of branches is a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great first hotel in Canada. Exactly as expected in the wilds of Alberta, a real wooden lodge surrounded by pine trees and hills and silence, but with all mod cons as required for a very comfortable stay. The rooms were large, the bed even larger and it was really comfortable to sleep off the long plane journey from the UK. The staff were very helpful and attentive to 2 very jet lagged tourists, and the breakfasts good quality and big enough to set you up for the day (try the buffet). The location is great for touring the surrounding areas by car, but it's a long trek uphill if you wanted to walk from the centre of Banff (our only slight negative).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First, the great aspects: good service, nice main lodge, outdoor hot tub, located up on Tunnel mountain so you can hike from your front door, nice, big rooms, and the biggest plus - the in-room fireplaces. The not-so-great: the walls were paper thin (at least in the room that I had, I was shocked), and the hotel was full the weekend I stayed and parking was a bit of a pain as there don't appear to be as many parking spaces as rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just got back from the final 3 nights of our tour around the Rockies. The BML was a great way to finish our stay. We stayed in room 811, which was cozy with a queen bed and an open log fire which we used on 2 of our 3 nights (more for entertainment than heat). Our room was well looked after, with plenty of space, I agree with previous reviewers that you could hear next doors shower running in the morning.
Walk into Banff is 15mins and it is up hill on the way back, but there are street lights and it feels safe.
We only had dinner at the lodge on our final night but it was excellent. Both service and food were great, especially the ribeye steak! A little pricey but definitely worth it.
We hope to be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in the restaurant. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.