We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Glasgow,Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ok a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in sept...first night was very cold...we thought the only heating was the fireplace...discovered the thermostat on the second day after a rather chilly night. Would have been better if the heat had been on for our arrival.. Liked the fireplace....furniture a bit dated...20 min walk into town...wouldn`t walk it at night though...restaurant was closed for renovation, so dined once in the Lodge dining room....a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    187
    76
    37
    23
See reviews for
96
289
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The lodge is located a bit outside downtown Banff, but easy to find. The Check In went fine although it could have been more friendly. I had room 703, ground floor, with a little terrace and a fireplace. The room itself was very much "Lodge style" and I liked it. The only major downside is the fact whoever uses the bathroom around you, you'll wake up immediately too. Parking in front of the room is nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself my partner and my mother stayed in a buffalo room for 4 nights during our visit to the rockies. The cabin was a good size with one large bedroom with two queen size beds and a large television on the wall, the living room had a sofa bed and a small kitchinette with everything you needed to cook a meal and lovely open fire place. My mother stayed on the sofa bed which she found very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The only downside was the lack of clothes storage for 3 people there was only one wardrobe and a set of drawers so hanging clothes up was a little difficult for us all. The lodge is very in keeping with the style of the buidlings in Banff and had we had more time and colder weather we would have enjoyed making use of the fire place as i imagine it could have been a really cosy place, but as it was we were out most of the day anyway. The location is not great if you do not have a car as it is a good 5 minute drive in the car to the main Banff avenue. However we had a car so this was not a problem. The reception area is lovely and we ate breakfast in there on our last day. The service was excellent and the options were plenty however for a really nice but cheaper option we would recommend Melissa's Misteak house where we went twice, the food was great and the atmosphere was very welcoming. Over all a very enjoyable stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We, family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in late July. The location is great a short 5 minute drive from the centre of Banff. Staff were all friendly and lovely flower beds throughout the complex. We had 2 "lodges" each with 2 large beds, bathroom and sitting room with a log fire which we would have loved to have used if the temperature hadn't been in the mid 20's C.Parking is right outside each room which is great. Buffet breakfast was OK. We only ate at the cheaper on-site italian restaurant. The pasta was great, but the pizzas were to our view rather undercooked. Only problem was the mosquitoes!!.....they seemed to congregate in the bathroom...but were easy to see and splat against the white tiles!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in both the restaurants. We Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did have a pleasant stay at BML. While I was a little disappointed that our room didn't quite match up to the photos on the website, my wife was very pleased with the accomodations. Our room was on the very end of the complex, so there were no issues with noise. However, the parking was very limited in that area and because we usually came back to the room later in the evening, we had to park down close to the lobby and walk up to our room several times. Depending on your preference, the location of BML can be a either plus or a minus. It is a significant (approx 15 min) walk to get to the downtown area...and is pretty much uphill all of the way back (not a problem for us since we had a car). The plus side is that being on Tunnel Mountain Road gets you out of the "business" of downtown and closer to nearby hiking trails, etc. The lodge does normally offer bicycles, but they were out for repair during our stay. There is a small convenience / grocery store just across the road that saved us a few trips back in to town as well. We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast on our last morning. The food was very good but just a bit pricier than some similar places downtown. Although we didn't participate, the hot tub seemed to be a popular hangout in the evenings. All of these factors, along with a pleasant and helpful staff, made the BML an "above average" stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
813 helpful votes 813 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although we have dined at the fine dining restaurant at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge, this was our first stay in the Lodge. The entrance hall to the lodge is very elegant with a large fireplace in a large sitting area with a classy bar nearby and a mountain-elegant restaurant to the left as you enter. The front desk staff were very friendly, polite, and helpful. The bar staff and restaurant wait staff are energetic, friendly, and knowledgeable. Our room was huge with a great fireplace (and a great supply of good smelling wood), huge bathroom (with a big bear claw tub), and a large balcony. There was a moderate sized workout facility on the premises, and a huge hot tub.

We enjoyed staying here very much and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The daily breakfast is great and you will want a room near the main entrance building. The only ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here over a long weekend based upon a number of recommendations from friends. it turned out to be a very wonderful stay.

there were wedding receptions on two of the three evenings that we were there, however we got a room that was at the edge of the complex and higher up - it was far away from the reception room and therefore it was very quiet where we were. there was some noise for about 20 minutes as a number of wedding guests gathered in the deck below us, however they were mindful of the noise they were making and disappeared at about 11 pm. our room also had a bit of a view into the woods behind the hotel complex.

the room has a fireplace, and there is an ample supply of logs outside the rooms and more than enough kindling to get you started. the ice machine is located centrally in the complex (and there is only one), so its a bit of a walk to go and get ice from the room. i imagine that you can get room service to do this for you in a pinch. the bathroom is a very generous size, and having a separate clawfoot tub and a large shower is a nice touch. another nice touch is having a separate coat and shoe area from the general closet area. you get a lot of space here compared to other places in town.

check in time is a rather late 4 pm and they hold fast to this. also, while close to town, it is far enough that you really need to have a rental car. the hotel complex is also up a steep hill, and there is just the one restaurant on the premises, so having a car will be a must for most people. parking on the grounds is limited, very tight, and ingress and egress can be a challenge if you have a larger vehicle.

looking at the way the hotel is set up, how quiet your room is and what view you are going to get is completely dependent upon which room you are assigned. also, while rooms on the second floor of any of the buildings are nice, you need to remember that you are the one who is going to have to take your luggage up there (stairs only).

the hotel is an ideal spot for people who are in banff for an active vacation (hiking, skiing, biking)

Room Tip: see if you can get a room on the second floor at the upper edge of the complex away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.