We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love Buffalo Mtn Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Victoria, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love Love Love Buffalo Mtn Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Love this hotel in any season. The rustic log beams, wood burning fireplaces and local cuisine make this the best place to stay in Banff in my opinion. Love being up on Tunnel Mountain away from the hustle and bustle of the Banff main street. Staff at the desk are always so friendly and willing to take some time to give hiking suggestions or tips for the days plans.

If you go you must have the Rocky Mountain Game Platter. I learned they raise their own game meat at a ranch outside Calgary. Love the mustard melons that accompany the different meats. Great quick breakfast buffet if you want to get out to do something early but a la carte menu avail too. And if you love pizzas you must go to Cilantro's. They have a wood burning oven and you can watch your meal being prepared in their open kitchen. Its a cozy place and I've sat on the patio in summer or inside watching snowflakes fall. Cilantro's is more casual than the main dining room but you feel welcome in both in any attire which is nice when in the mountains.

I've stayed in different room types- this time I opted for the Premier rooms with the claw foot tubs and wood beams on the ceiling. Amazing! Upper floors are vaulted which is fun but first floor still has wooden ceiling so you won't miss out. Nice to sit on the balcony and often wildlife just wanders by. This is def. the room to pic for couples but there's a two bed option available as well. I've stayed in their suites that have the separate living room area. Nice to have a fridge and be able to pack up a lunch for a hike or when with kids can toss all their snacks in there. Also great to be able to put them to bed and still have space to sit up.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Rockies. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Upper floors in Premier room type have vaulted ceiling. Suites are nice when travelling with kids. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Assistant Lodge Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    152
    64
    35
    19
See reviews for
81
233
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Buffalo mountain lodge. It is a beautiful, quaint hotel that is off the main drag in Banff. We much preferred this- we felt like we were out in the woods rather than on a heavily trafficed street. The rooms were cozy with a fireplace, ready to be used. The deck faced the woods and was quite nice to have. The breakfast was included in the bill and it was fantastic. The restaurant is gorgeous and the selection and quality of the food was top notched. The help in the restaurant was also extremely friendly and helpful. We Wish we had longer to stay and enjoy the facilities more but this was a very lovely place and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading all the reviews about this lodge, I took my chances and stayed here back in July. The lodge offers a rustic beauty to it. The lodge its self is situated outside of Banff townsite, which makes for a quiet setting.

The room was very spacious which offered a queen bed, working fireplace and lovely views.

We dined in the Sleeping Buffalo Dining room one evening. We really enjoyed the game meat from their company ranch, our server was just amazing with wine pairing and helping us decide on which items to get. Breakfast the next morning was just as amazing, they offer a great buffet with lots of options. I really enjoyed the Eggs Benedict that they have.

Staff were really friendly and always said Good Morning when they walked by us. My one complaint would be that I couldn't stay longer!!

Don't believe the reviews, this place is a gem in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was nicely furnished in a rustic style. It had a lovely fireplace laid ready for us. The bed was huge and really comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was that when we went to relax in the hot tub at about 9pm it was full of kids playing - not the hotel's fault I guess! The location is about 3km out of town but we walked in and out following the signs and it was a nice walk. Nice quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of the fireplace in the room! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Assistant Lodge Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would firstly like to thank all the staff members for a warm welcome and friendly service, when myself and my girlfriend stayed for our four year anniversary they really made our stay extra special. This was our first time visiting canada and i was glad i chose to stay at the buffalo mountain lodge and would be more then willing to stay at the hotel when i'm visiting canada again. There are beautiful views and wonderful food from both restaurants the Sleeping Buffalo and Cilantro's. the rooms where spacious and had a fireplace which was a real treat we spent most of our evenings round it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cilantro's at Buffalo Mountain Lodge in Banff is AMAZING - the food is creative, delicious and the service 1st rate. Chef Jon outdid himself this summer - I dined there twice during my summer vacation June/July this year.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the main office have a small kitchen and separate bedroom. The rooms "on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently spent several days and nights at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and found it to be a wonderful experience. The room was perfect with a wood burning fireplace and a charming balcony deck overlooking the mountains - great for before and after dinner drinks. The location away from the business of Banff itself is quite peaceful, although only a short walk into town. The dining experience was also impressive - great menu, service and the food itself was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything - quite charming. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet getaway for a few days or longer - am looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.