We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Buffalo mountain lodge. It is a beautiful, quaint hotel that is off the main drag in Banff. We much preferred this- we felt like we were out in the woods rather than on a heavily trafficed street. The rooms were cozy with a fireplace, ready to be used. The deck faced the woods and was quite nice to have. The breakfast was included in the bill and it was fantastic. The restaurant is gorgeous and the selection and quality of the food was top notched. The help in the restaurant was also extremely friendly and helpful. We Wish we had longer to stay and enjoy the facilities more but this was a very lovely place and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    212
    93
    45
    26
See reviews for
116
346
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading all the reviews about this lodge, I took my chances and stayed here back in July. The lodge offers a rustic beauty to it. The lodge its self is situated outside of Banff townsite, which makes for a quiet setting.

The room was very spacious which offered a queen bed, working fireplace and lovely views.

We dined in the Sleeping Buffalo Dining room one evening. We really enjoyed the game meat from their company ranch, our server was just amazing with wine pairing and helping us decide on which items to get. Breakfast the next morning was just as amazing, they offer a great buffet with lots of options. I really enjoyed the Eggs Benedict that they have.

Staff were really friendly and always said Good Morning when they walked by us. My one complaint would be that I couldn't stay longer!!

Don't believe the reviews, this place is a gem in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was nicely furnished in a rustic style. It had a lovely fireplace laid ready for us. The bed was huge and really comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was that when we went to relax in the hot tub at about 9pm it was full of kids playing - not the hotel's fault I guess! The location is about 3km out of town but we walked in and out following the signs and it was a nice walk. Nice quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of the fireplace in the room! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Assistant Lodge Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would firstly like to thank all the staff members for a warm welcome and friendly service, when myself and my girlfriend stayed for our four year anniversary they really made our stay extra special. This was our first time visiting canada and i was glad i chose to stay at the buffalo mountain lodge and would be more then willing to stay at the hotel when i'm visiting canada again. There are beautiful views and wonderful food from both restaurants the Sleeping Buffalo and Cilantro's. the rooms where spacious and had a fireplace which was a real treat we spent most of our evenings round it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cilantro's at Buffalo Mountain Lodge in Banff is AMAZING - the food is creative, delicious and the service 1st rate. Chef Jon outdid himself this summer - I dined there twice during my summer vacation June/July this year.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the main office have a small kitchen and separate bedroom. The rooms "on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently spent several days and nights at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and found it to be a wonderful experience. The room was perfect with a wood burning fireplace and a charming balcony deck overlooking the mountains - great for before and after dinner drinks. The location away from the business of Banff itself is quite peaceful, although only a short walk into town. The dining experience was also impressive - great menu, service and the food itself was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything - quite charming. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet getaway for a few days or longer - am looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

while my wife and i were travaling Canada we stayed here a couple of nights .the rooms are large and clean the staff on the front desk were helpful with any request we had, the food in both restaurants is excellent.we would book again when were next in Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.